We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant for casual fine dining. Do not to be confused with Astelena's for Pinxos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Astelena 1997 Restaurante

Astelena 1997 Restaurante
Euskal Herria 3, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
+34 943 42 58 67
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $41 - $54
Cuisines: Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night
Tacoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for casual fine dining. Do not to be confused with Astelena's for Pinxos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Let me first state - there are TWO restaurants in San Sebastian named Astelena. One serves Pintxos (plaza de la constitution) and the other is casual fine dining (located on Euskal Herria). I can see by the reviews that the comments here on trip advisor are based on guests reviews for both restaurants. I made reservations for the casual fine dining restaurant. It's confusing because the phone number on trip advisor is for the casual fine dining Restaurant, but the address is for the Astelena for Pinxtos.

We had reservations for 5. We arrived about 10 minutes early - which seemed to bother the owner a bit. He did seat us, with some hesitation. Two menus were provided - one ala carte and the other a fixed menu (three courses which included wine). Our table had to choose either all ala carte or the fixed price menu. Since the fixed price menu seemed well priced (24 euros pp) and each guest could select from about 3 to 4 choices per course, we opted for the fixed price menu. We were not disappointed. The owner started with a shot of gazpacho (excellent) and the fish cake (very much like a light fish mousse to spread on bread). Both were not part of our menu - so this was an added surprise. We then moved on to our starters - puff pastry filled with some sort of creamy crab mixture. For our next main course some of us selected fish - bacalao and hake. They were both excellent. The beef cheeks were great, more like the texture of beef short ribs, but very good. For dessert we all chose the French toast with ice cream.

The food presentation was picture worthy and I would rate the quality it excellent. The total cost for five - included a bottle of white AND red wine, was 135 euros. This was an excellent value. Our only complaint was the sevice could have been a bit more friendly. It did get a bit better as the dinner went on. I would highly recommend this restaurant -and would definitely go back. Just be sure you go to the correct Astelena.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    61
    34
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noblesville, Indiana
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Pinchos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We tried this place based on a recommendation from our guide Jon from Basque Tour. This was great place with great food. We had the sirloin steak and the tuna and both were perfect. I wish we had tried more samples.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Failing to understand....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Astelena is a very small place tucked in a corner of the Constitution square. For seating and eating, it is small and very uncomfortable. If the food was out of this world, it would be no problem but we found it to be really average.
Staff was ok, polite and efficient. Clients were mostly americans who probably read critics on this site; so for a truly local experience, forget about it.
As regards the food, we found it to be average or bellow average. Lots or fried and grilled things simpy to please the foreign clients in my view.
Overall, nice spot and ok food but there are many much better local experiences. This is certainly not the second best place to eat in San Sebastian.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best pinxtos in SanSe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Just returned from eating our way through Spain and must say that the pinxtos at Astelena were really a standout. Loved the prawns wrapped in angel hair, solomillo, and pretty much everything else! Nice service and very reasonable prices considering the quality of the food. They also have tables that you can sit at in the lovely plaza outside.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Really great bar for pinxtos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

One of the bar staff has really good English and he was very helpful in explaining how to order. The solomilla lo pobre is well worth trying. Excellent food and well worth dropping in to.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Astelena 1997 Restaurante also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 

Been to Astelena 1997 Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Astelena 1997 Restaurante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.