We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aita-Mari

Aita-Mari
Calle Puerto 23 | Esquina Mari (Junto a Portaletas), 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
+34 943433431
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“great food, great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The menu can not envy all the fancy restaurants in san sebastian. In general i would say good quality, great presentation and even better service. Cool place to visit

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    40
    34
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
226 helpful votes 226 helpful votes
“Absolutely NOT a tourist trap, a good place to eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Aita Mari's excellent location may paradoxically count against it - on the corner of the street in the old town that leads to the harbour and with a view from the first floor restaurant towards La Concha, you almost don't believe it's worth going in, because surely the food won't be any good, why should they bother, with that location? Luckily for us, it was blowing a gale and we were hungry, so we decided to take the risk of it being a tourist trap, and dived in. The first thing to strike us when we sat down was the ghastly, loud and intrusive music, but that was quickly turned down when we asked, and we could appreciate the view, and the food, in peace. Excellent value lunch menu of the day (with choices), 18 euros for nicely steamed vegetables in garlic-flavoured oil, stir-fried pork fillet and vegetables, and dark chocolate "soup" with raspberry icecream; house wine, bread and water included, but if you want to choose your own wine and pay for it on top, the list is good. Cheerful and efficient service, overall a good discovery.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hidden pearl of BasqueCuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

We visited several restaurants in the old town. AIta Mari food, service and ambiance was far superior to others that have been highly rated. It is at the end of Port Street close to la Concha and maybe because of its location many people don't get to it, unless you enter the old town through La Concha. We had lunch, we decided to go back for dinner two days later and same quality and service. Closes on Tuesdays and Wednesdays in winter. We are going to go once more before our week in San Senastian is over. I want to eat again the Squid either with rice or huge tomato filled with squid in its ink. Best ever. Also merluza is to die for. "Don't miss it"

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not sure why this place was empty when we visited”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

The restaurant is on the first floor, nicely decorated and overlooking La Concha beach if you get the right table. Good food, slightly more expensive than La Fabrica but better quality wine ( which was all good in both restaurants) and my wife says her main was better than La Fabrica. People walked away when they saw it was virtually empty, friendly staff all Spanish speaking only and no English version of the menu. More traditional than La Fabrica but another very good meal.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Nice place, non-smoker restaurant with wonderful sights. Nice service, good traditional food and a superb lunch-menu on...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

Nice place, non-smoker restaurant with wonderful sights. Nice service, good traditional food and a superb lunch-menu on Sundays!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aita-Mari also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 

Been to Aita-Mari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aita-Mari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.