We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good pintxos: various anchovies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Txepetxa

Txepetxa
Calle Pescaderia 5, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
+34 943422227
Improve this listing
Price range: $12 - $18
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“good pintxos: various anchovies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The third stop with San Sebastian Pintxos Tours, Bar Txepetxa is best know for various forms of anchovy pintxos. We had a good variety along with some beers. The anchovy eaters among us enjoyed the food ... the anchovy-averse maybe not so much.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    51
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good sardine pintxos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

They have different kind of sardine pintxos which they cook after order was taken. So it was very fresh and very delicious. If you know the sardine very well, here is a place where you can eat best sardine pintxos. Do not confuse that the anchovy is mostly preserved in salt and oil. They do not display them on the counter instead of they show the waxed ample( very fun). This place was so busy and packed the people, even we have not chance to take our photo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fresh, tasty pinxtos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great pinxtos, bar was very busy. I liked that it was made fresh, not standing around on the counter for who knows how long. We tried the calamari which was delicious.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Very Traditional, but Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

This seems to be a place for those who do not have the strength to muscle their way to the bar of a more popular place. I should have known when I was able to walk in and find a table with no effort. The bar staff was friendly, and the food was good...but not inventive or creative. Traditional. The best pintxos here that I tried was the grilled shrimp with a olive oil/vinegar and herb salsa on top. Really tasty. The other two, grilled octopus and something with iberico was good but not special. I had much more interesting food elsewhere in SS. With all of the competition, good just does not make the grade.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“If you want to enjoy some Pintxos in the Old Town of San Sebastian, this is one of the bars you must visit and taste their ancho”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Excellent anchovis Pintxos
One of the Pintxos you have to taste in San Sebastian is the anchovy pintxo in the Txepetxa.
I've gone there with diferent friends and collegues visiting San Sebastian and it's been always an exit
I specially love the 'jardinera' anchovy pintxo
Very recomendable

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Txepetxa also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 

Been to Txepetxa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Txepetxa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.