We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mussel with "Shell"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Akelare

Restaurante Akelare
Po Padre Orcolaga 56, E-20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
+ 34 943 31 12 09
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $120
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bilbao, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mussel with "Shell"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This mussel with "Shell", one of the appetizers blew my mind. That was worth enough visiting, spending whole afternoon with a beautiful view. The rest of the menus were also good, but the tiny little shell made my day and let me write this review :)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    75
    36
    18
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Impressive Hilltop Restaurant......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

After not being able to get a reservation at Arzak within our time restriction, we managed to secure a booking at Akelare.
You cannot fail to be impressed by the views and location on arrival and even though the welcome was impressive, we found the layout and atmosphere of the restaurant slightly dated and stuffy. The tasting menu, we're sorry to say, is not the best we've experienced. Even though some of the courses were delicious, they didn't seem to flow naturally to one another as we've previously experienced from other tasting menus in the region i.e. Martin Bersategui (which is a must).
The waiting staff tried their best to accommodate their diners and should be applauded. Overall we had an enjoyable evening but didn't leave feeling we had to return.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siena
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BEST RESTAURANT OF MY LIFE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This is simply the best restaurant I have experience in my life.
great food, expectional presentation ,superb wine.
I want to come and visit again.
thank you so much!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

Had a superb meal at Akelare on a Sunday for lunch. My partner & I had one of the tasting menus each. Before the meal began we were presented with a menu with detailed descriptions of each dish which made for interesting reading. Some of the highlights were the prawns cooked at the table & the strawberry dessert. Beautiful views along the coast. Definitely worth a visit.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berck-sur-mer
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Creative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Spectacular sea panoramic view. Very interesting creative food. Some of the courses, as the sea garden and the evolution of cheese and grape, are post modern art masterpieces. The prices are about 180 Euro per person.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Akelare also viewed

Lasarte, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 

Been to Restaurante Akelare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Akelare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.