We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arrizul Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arrizul Center to your Saves list
Hotel Arrizul Center
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Pena y Goni, n 1, 20002 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Tourouzelle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simple but comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

A convenient location and a simple hotel.
Not high on facilities or luxuries in the room but clean, tidy and sufficient.
Staff were very welcoming and helpful when needed - spoke excellent English.
Self service breakfast was again simple but adequate.

Room Tip: I had an inside room - with a lot of foot traffic on metal stairs from the next door building ( I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
25
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We traveled for over two weeks in Spain and this was our biggest disappointment. The location is fine because it is near the Oldtown San Sebastian. Parking was not too difficult because we parked in the municipal parking garage essentially across the street. However the value of this hotel was just not there. It was overpriced. Our room was noisy And very small. It was a basic room and nothing more. The bed lamp broken. No soap in the bathroom. I would not recommend this hotel. I do not believe that we got a fair value for our money.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia Washington
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This is an expensive town! Stumbled (literally) across this hotel after attempting several others that were completely full.

Very nice front desk folks. Basic room, no amenities. Construction right outside our window. Good location, fine for a night. Charged us 100 euro for a double early September.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in July. Small modern hotel in the Spanish San Sebastian, a total of 12 rooms.
This hotel is located in the center of San Sebastian, near the beautiful beach Zurriola and Kursaal.
The hotel is walking distance over the bridge to the old town with many famous tapas bars.
Our room was in a simple style but it was very clean and comfortable. There were double and single beds, TV, telephone and the bathroom in our room.
Free Wi-Fi was available in our room.
The staff is very friendly, all spoke good English.
The hotel provides free bottled water in the fridge on the second floor.
The hotel offers a discount at a nearby parking garage.
I would highly recommend this hotel to all my friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on business.
Good location. 10 minute walk to main old town with its tapas!; close to the surfing beach. On a main road and above a bar but no noise inside, with windows closed.
Reception is simple: all the reception staff were friendly, spoke English, most spoke French as well. Very helpful.
12 rooms on the first floor. Lift.
Room was simple. Clean, new, small.. two single beds and a bench table. Bright. Apple, kiwi and small bottle water as complementary. Bed was comfortable; new mattress on the firm side. No minibar or fridge. Bathroom was compact but as long as only one person it it at a time then OK!. One shampoo, one gel, one small soap. Towels rather thin.
Nice touch was a yoghurt and fruit instead of the end of day small chocolate.
Wi-fi was both free and fast.
Breakfast in the basement room was very limited and simple. Toaster for standard sliced loaf; one salami, one cheese. Sticky croissant. Coffee machine. limited selection yoghurt. Tinned and fresh fruit. Fresh juice. Best was a very good tortilla espanol.
Overall a clean simple friendly hotel.. but as other reviewers have said expensive by European standards for a one star hotel. However recent report has put Donostia San Sebastian hotels as the third most expensive cty in Spain after Barcelona and Palma de Mallorca.

Room Tip: Rooms on on the first floor with a lift. Some are interior so may be quieter when the windows are op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

It seems that hotels in San Sebastian are expensive - this one certainly was. It was perfectly adequate, even if the room was small and basic. Decor is modern and clean, and altough it's not in a particularly pretty area, it was quiet, so we had a good night's sleep. We di8dn't bother with breakfast which also seemed basic and over-priced. There's no parking (though you can drop off and pick up by the door), so the nearest car park costs 17.60 for a day. One night and parking cost 146 euros, which in my book is a LOT! The young man on reception was very helpful and welcoming, and spoke excellent English. It wasn't easy to find. It's worth knowing that the 'Gros' part of the name is the district of San Sebastian where the hotel is located.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back, so not facing the road, and therefore was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

This one star hotel is very clean and modern and ideally situated for the old town and beaches. The rooms are small and basic but are modern and the bathrooms are fine. Parking is across the road in an underground car park, and you can get reduced rates at the hotel by prebooking (still 54 euros for 3 nights). Staff at reception are very friendly and the breakfast is only 7 euros and has a reasonable selection. BUT....the price. We booked last minute and had little choice of hotels with availability but 150-169 euros a night is double the cost which we would have expected for this hotel. If we had paid £70 a night it would have seemd good value and we would have been quite satisfied, but maybe thats just San Sebastian in July-August!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arrizul Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arrizul Center

Address: c/ Pena y Goni, n 1, 20002 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Arrizul Center 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arrizul Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arrizul Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.