We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and friendly owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Alameda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension Alameda to your Saves list
Pension Alameda
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Alameda del Boulevar 16, 2nd fl, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent value and friendly owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Spotlessly clean, nice powerful shower and right by the old town/port. Very quiet room and lovely hosts who speak excellent English.

There are all the basics, tv, toiletries etc and even a small fridge.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, they will carry out this request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    34
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
52
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend in DSS. Absolutely delighted with the location, amenities, cleanliness and standard of this hotel. The owners are friendly, helpful and very considerate.. We were right in the centre of everything in the town but in a room that gave us absolute peace and quiet at night. . The hotel was perfect for needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Location of the pension is perfect, next to the old quarter and at the boulevard. Clean and quiet rooms and very friendly and helpful hosts. Our room (nr 8) was relatively small with a window on the patio, the bed was alright. Dehumidifier.
Only minor is that the nearby public parking is very costly (€24/day), so loose your car if you plan to stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I've stayed at the Pension Alameda many times - in fact I never think of staying anywhere else in San Sebastian. As the other reviews say, it really is the best location you could get, in a pretty, lively square in front of the seafront promenade and right in the old town. This does mean it can get noisy on weekend evenings, but the double-glazed windows shut out most of the noise. The lovely couple who run the pension couldn't be more friendly or helpful, so it feels like your 'home from home'. The rooms are perfect for the price - a good size, very clean, with bathrooms and comfortable beds. No frills or extras but when you're in San Sebastian you won't be spending much time in your room - you'll want to be out exploring!

Room Tip: Splash out on room number 4 for a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a week on holiday and I have to say that the location for the price couldn't have been better.
We were a 5 minute walk from the beach, right on the main street, with the old town outside the window.
Obviously, it gets noisy at night but once the window is closed it was ok and we slept soundly.
The rooms are impeccably clean and very comfortable and while the Pensione doesn't offer breakfast, there are coffeeshops and bars a stones throw away that do.

The owners are really lovely and accomodating and I have no reservations in recommending this to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The Pension Alameda is in the most perfect location you could ask for in San Sebastian! It is on the street that would be considered the dividing line between the old town and the new town, so its right in the middle of everything! The place was very clean and the beds were quite comfortable. The people who owned the pension were very friendly and spoke minimal english, but enough to get by. If I am able to return to San Sebastian in the future, I will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Confluence, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Pension Alameda is in a fantastic location, situated in the Old Town of San Sebastian, in the middle of all the bustle in the city. We stayed in the hotel Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday night. It is nothing fancy but it was perfect for what we needed. We had our own private bathroom and a "King Sized" bed, which was actually two single beds fused together with a connector, but it really wasn't that much of an inconvenience. Teresa, the owner, could not have been more helpful. She was incredibly accommodating, more than willing to explain some unwritten cultural rules that we were not aware of, she made reservations at two different restaurants for us, and was so friendly. This place is spotless and clean and has everything that you could need for the value and location. We will definitely be back and will recommend Pension Alameda to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Alameda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Alameda

Address: Alameda del Boulevar 16, 2nd fl, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Alameda 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Alameda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Alameda Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Alameda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.