We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Edorta

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in San Sebastian - Donostia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pension Edorta
Save
You added Pension Edorta to your Saves list
C/ Puerto , 15 - 1 y 2, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here two days while on a quick trip through Spain. Happened on it as we were walking through the old town. Were pleasantly surprised to find how clean our room was. We were able to get a room with ensuite bathroom, although the option exists for shared facilities. Checked in Sunday afternoon with someone who knew enough English to get us everything we wanted. Monday morning the desk person spoke excellent English and pointed us to a great lunch deal and to excellent pinxtos. We feel lucky that we found a great room in a great location for a great price so randomly.

Room Tip: Loved our ensuite room. It had a balcony overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    69
    24
    6
    0
See reviews for
7
91
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Price: San Sebastian is really expensive, and to find this in such a good location at this price is a good deal.

Location: Central, and great for exploring the city. This is in the old town. Everything is within walking distance.

Standard: As other reviewers have mentioned, you need to be prepared that this is a pension, and not a hotel. It is clean, with shared bathroom(s), and the rooms contain a bed, a TV and a place to put your clothes. It is basic, but really all we needed.

Noice: You can hear people in the other rooms and on the street, but I guess that is what you get in such old buildings and with small, narrow streets. Bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper.

Other: Helpful, English-speaking staff. You get a key, so you can come in as late as you wish.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is a pension style accommodation so you need to have expectations in line with this level of hotel. It is cheap for the location and the location cannot be questioned for a stay in this beautiful little city.

The issue of noise is legitimate - the walls are thin, you can hear people walking around etc - however it is very very clean, people are respectful of the noise issue and for the price it is worth overlooking this one concern which is common in this style of accommodation anywhere

Our room was actually very large, plenty of room and it was a comfortable space to relax after a long day. The people running the hotel were very reserved but helpful when asked for assistance, perhaps they are a little shy when using English. There is visitor information in the hotel and you can get assistance for the usual tourist needs 24 hours a day which is great for such a small place.

The location is a very short walk to the water and right in the mix of the old town - stunning!

There is a little convenience store down stairs which is handy for everyday items and you will not need to use a taxi or any transport unless leaving the place to explore elsewhere

This is a good option and will not disappoint unless you are looking for a full service hotel

There is a lift which is not always the case!

There is wifi available free of charge as well.

2 minutes walk to a taxi when required fort he airport etc

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We never thought we would ever risk a one star pension- but we took a chance based on a strong recommendation from well-travelled friends. Excellent position in the heart of the old town, spotlessly clean and spacious room and bathroom. 24hour reception and a manager (Oletz) who could not have been more helpful. WE had an early departure on the last day and the owner waited with us in the street to make sure the taxi arrived on time and we were safely on our way. How's that for service!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed 4 nights in a double room with shared bathroom facilities. I had reservations about a shared bathroom but the place is very well maintained & the entire premises are squeaky clean at all times. I'd requested a quiet room with a double bed - the room was compact compared to a room with twin beds; our room overlooked the street & it was above a popular pintxos bar. Sleep quality was poor Friday & Saturday nights due to revellers. A good small 'supermarket' a few doors down for self-catering. Bakeries & a fabulous pasteleria within walking distance. And of course, pintxos bars abound!
An enjoyable stay in Donostia-San Sebastian. I would thoroughly recommend Pension Edorta for accommodation.

Room Tip: If you want room to move around, request a room with twin beds. If you want sleep, request a room th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matvei007
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

The room was very clean. The shared bathroom also. It's not a luxury hotel but the quality of the service is very acceptable. But.... The big setback lies in the noise. Not necessarily in the street (if you have earplugs. Even if the windows are well isolated) but between the rooms themselves. The walls are very very thin. You hear everything in the conversations of the other room. And last but not least. People at the desk are a bit cold, not really welcoming and not really open to customer service. Still it's a good deal if you don't have too much money to spend in this very expensive city.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Ideally located in the old town for all the decent bars and restaurants and a short walk to the beach. Our room was very clean, nicely done out, with a good bed and excellent shower. This is not a really a hotel, but more of a set of secure rooms in an old building, which keeps the cost down nicely.

The building is very old and in the busiest part of the town, so expect some noise. People moan about it in reviews, but they clearly state this on their website and the room rate is a bargain compared to others we looked at. A no frills place to lay your head in a brilliant location at a very good price - I would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Take earplugs if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Edorta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Edorta

Address: C/ Puerto , 15 - 1 y 2, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pension Edorta Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Edorta Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Edorta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.