We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel that needs some changes” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Zaragoza Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Zaragoza Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Zaragoza Plaza
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Zaragoza 3, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Basic hotel that needs some changes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Very basic hotel in a good location. The room was smaller, which was fine, but the bed was uncomfortable and the A/C in our room did not work. The liquid soap in the bathroom (in place of the more standard bar) was kind of strange. The carpet in the room was dirty and needs replacing and the bathroom could have been cleaner. We wouldn't stay again - this was one of the few times that TA reviews have failed me.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    121
    50
    9
    6
See reviews for
28
142
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Excellent front desk service with Eva and Imanol: everything you need to know and how to get there. It seems expensive but don't forget you are in San Sebastian, one of the most expensive cities in Europe. At 6 euros/person, breakfast is small but cheap. I think is a vary smart choice for price, location, clean and service

Room Tip: choose rooms over Zaragoza square (less noisy at night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I was a bit nervous when my husband said he booked a 1-star hotel for the second leg of our honeymoon. This was going to be a first! Hotel Zaragoza Plaza is more of a 3-star hotel without a doubt!

The lobby, rooms, and dining room were modern and clean. The bedroom was simple, furnished with what was probably Ikea furniture, but it was clean and did the job. There was also free WiFi, which we were able to pick up on our smartphones, allowing us to (albeit slowly) browse through our wedding photographs that our photographer sent us. The location was wonderful -- we were in walking distance to the beach, pintxos bars, and shopping. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alicante, spain
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hotels in San Sebastian are expensive is you go high season, so you may well wind up here if you don't want to splash out. And you could do worse. As other reviewers have said, it is a basic hotel- the rooms aren't huge, the furniture is a bit cheap, but it is in a great location, the rooms which face the inner courtyard aren't noisy, and you have all of San Sebastian's tapas bars a beautiful fifteen-minute stroll away along the beach. The staff are helpful, there's parking nearby, and the breakfast, if it's included in the price is not bad (I wouldn't complain). Basic, but good.

Room Tip: The square in front of the hotel isn't noisy at night, but you may be best off getting an inner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

the location of the hotel is brilliant. it's not on the beachfront but ony a 5 minute walk away and very very close to all the local bars and restaurants. However it is a very very basic hotel. small room and very expensive breakfast( you're better off going to a little cafe nearby) they offer free Wifi but honestly the connection is very very poor , don't know why they bother..would def. go back to san sebastian but might consider a different hotel in the same area for the same price... the staff were friendly enough though:-)

Room Tip: try to avoid the rooms facing into the quad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The best thing about this hotel is it's location just steps from the beach. Other than that it's a basic generic hotel, so if you're looking for character this isn't for you. But I had absolutely no complaints and would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

There are only two things going for this 1-star rated hotel: budget price and location to the beach. Easy enough to find with GPS but the nearby parking costs 20 euros a night and closes between midnight and 8 am.

The rooms do not have peepholes in the doors, nor does the sliding glass door to the tiny balcony fully latch (this caused me some concern for safety). Street noise at night was typical of a downtown location. The room itself was very small with 2 twin beds. The shower unit's fixture was broken so the shower head sprayer wouldn't stay in place - I eventually just let it drop to the tub and used it from there. It appears they've tried to cover up a decaying or moldy grout job on the tub with rubber moulding. Only one towel in the room but we got more when requested at the front desk.

Internet is free but if you get a room away from the receiver, it won't work. We had to go to the second floor "lounge" (a small airless room) to connect - signal was strong there.

The staff were cordial and could speak English well enough. If your breakfast is not included in your rate, don't buy it. It consisted of a meager selection of breads, tea or coffee, muesli, yogurt and a limit of one ham slice and one cheese slice per person. There was fruit salad (canned) and a few apples.

Other reviews here have said the place was OK for what it is, but I guess my standards are higher. Next time, I will pay more and stay someplace else.

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Zaragoza Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zaragoza Plaza

Address: Plaza Zaragoza 3, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Zaragoza Plaza 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Zaragoza Plaza hotel is situated in the very center of the Romantic Area of San Sebastian, just few meters from the most beautiful beach of the town called La Concha.Enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Zaragoza Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaragoza Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Zaragoza Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.