We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just about perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Soro

Save Saved
You added Villa Soro to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Soro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Brenchley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Just about perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is a lovely and welcoming hotel just outside the city. Our deluxe room overlooking the front garden was an absolute delight with its king sized bed, and spacious bathroom with an invigorating shower (and bath if preferred).
It's nice too that soft drinks in the room are complimentary.
Above all the staff are magnificent and could not do more for their guests.
Breakfast is worth getting out of bed for too.
For us the walk into the Old Town was a welcome opportunity to burn off some of those calories consumed visiting so many of those temples of gastronomic excellence which San Sebastián offers in abundance.
We will visit San Sebastián again and, when we do, we will return to Villa Soro.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    69
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
30
204
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed in this lovely,warm hotel for 4 days, during Tanborrada.Our room was villa deluxe,overlooking the front garden,it was a very pretty,cosy room with high ceilings and a big bathroom.After wining and dining-endlessly- in this wonderful city,we always had a nice walk to the hotel(needed it for exercise),and had a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding night and the staff was extremely helpful the entire time that my wedding party of 6 bridesmaids and I were getting ready and were able to provide anything we asked for. The villa itself is beautiful with a lush green driveway and an outdoor courtyard for breakfast and was a great spot to take pictures. There is a wonderfully old decorated old world sitting room/library for the guests to use inside as well. The room itself is simply decorated but uses the best materials (I could tell from the comfortable bed and sheets) and there was a gorgeous marble bathroom. Best of all, was the quick service for whatever we requested (drinks, sewing kits, iron, etc) would be brought up to us within minutes during the day. I would highly recommend this hotel to any visitor.

The only thing to watch out for is that the location is in the northern end of town, at the foot of Mont Ulia, so you would need to take a bus or cab to the city center, but should only take about 5 to 10 minutes in cab. The Zuriola beach is within a 10-15 minute walk though and that is a nice beach which is usually less crowded than la Concha.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the driveway, which is what we had. Great view! The rooms on the basem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Dates: 30/8-2/9 2012
Webb: www.villasoro.es
Wifi: Yes, free of charge
Style: Luxury boutique 19th-century mansion, Historical Heritage Building
Situation: Residential area surrounded by other stately homes close to centre of San Sebastian, within a ten minute walk of the Zurriola beach, the Kursaal Concert and Convention Centre and the old part of town.
Service: Familiar and friendly without lacking the perfection
Room: #205, double room in the carriage house (behind main the mansion)
Room description:. About 30 sq.m. (room sizes vary), mixture of contemporary and modern comfortable design, simple and proper with light warm colours and plush fabrics, working desk, armchair and table, flat screen TV, DVD, minibar with complimentary water, soft drinks and juices, safe. Ground floor rooms in the carriage house opens onto semi-private terraces. The rooms in the main building have more character, some with private terrace. Very quiet.
Bed: Large and very comfortable.
Bathroom: White tiles and large with bath and shower. Robes.
Bath and body products: Good
Restaurant: No restaurant but room service available (small menu but excellent food).
Breakfast: Included and very good. Partly á la carte. Served in the lovely conservatory.
Facilities: Bar, library, very small gym, complimentary bicycles and beach towels, free parking (garage or outdoor)
General: This is the type of hotel you instantly will fall in love with. Should have stayed 2 nights ended up with 4. It doesn’t have any ocean views but the location is perfect and calm with easy walk to the beach and the centre. With only 25 rooms the hotel is very discreet but also familiar. It has been extremely well renovated, maintaining its original traditional décor (marble hall, sweeping staircase, charming library and a bar with original oak wood panelling, beautiful hardwood floors). Yet it doesn’t lack of any comfort or modernity. The gardens are lovely. Sunny terrace. San Sebastian is a wonderful little town with very much charm and character. The food scene is something extra! To sum up, an excellent stay in a fantastic ambience, in a lovely city. A perfect match! Strongly recommend this ”secret” place.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building have more charm and character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELONA.SPAIN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here for three nights . I enjoyed the beautiful sitting room . The staff were friendly and helpful always wanting to please you
The breakfast was delicious and they cook you anything you may want and the price was not excesive for the quality of the hotel
The downside was the location in relation to the main area of town (about 15-20 minutes, but a lovely walk along the beach)
In spite of this I thought it was one of the nicest hotels in San Sebastian and would be pleased to return.This was winter so in Summer when days are longers it must be a great walk back to the hotel after dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esporles, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our second stay at the Villa Soro. The second time we were celebrating my girlfriends fathers birthday. We knew he would love the city of San Sebastian as well as the hotel.
We were greatly surprised to see that staff remembered us from our visit two years ago and they were as friendly and helpful as the last time. At the reception you will get great tips fro restaurants, pintxo bars, sightseeing and anything that is happening in the area. The girls at the breakfast, which I recommend as it is a breakfast for everyone to enjoy, will spoil you and produce anything you want (within reason!!!). The cleaning of the room is the best I have experienced, and there are just so many little details that make your stay so much better. The almond cakes at night, for example. Wifi is all over the hotel, the access is free and there is no need for passwords, it simply works!
The Villa Soro is also only a 15 minute walk to the old part of San Sebastian, you are 10 minutes away from Pasajes de San Pedro and San Juan which are two beautiful villages to visit and eat at.

I can only recommend Villa Soro and we are really looking forward to our visit next year! Agur!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A wonderful hotel with beautiful rooms, all are very large with big windows that open, lots of sunshine and well appointed bathrooms. I loved the big bath!
Staff were wonderful very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay special. There is a lift even though it is only a single storied building. I would like to in particular mention the groundsman who explained our room to us and made no mention of the weight we were carrying after eight weeks on the road and the señora who ran the breakfast room. She was wonderful with her smiles food and caring attitude. We felt at home and looked after.

Room Tip: Any but if you like dead quiet rear building and the end rooms have all the sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Soro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Soro

Address: Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Soro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Soro ocupa 2 edificios de estilo clasico, uno de los cuales fue construido en 1898 y ha sido declarado Patrimonio Historico de San Sebastian. Se proporciona conexion Wi-Fi gratuita.Todas las habitaciones disponen de minibar con bebidas sin alcohol, reproductor de DVD y ducha y banera independientes. Presentan un diseno individual de lujo, y algunas estan decoradas con obras de arte de Jorge Oteiza. Se ofrece un servicio de habitaciones con platos locales.El Villa Soro tiene aparcamiento privado gratuito y esta rodeado de arboles y de casas senoriales.El hotel cuenta con gimnasio y ofrece bicicletas y toallas de playa gratuitas. Ademas, dispone de salones amplios y una chimenea.La playa de la Zurriola, el palacio de congresos y auditorio Kursaal y el casco antiguo se encuentran a pocos pasos ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Villa Soro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soro Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Soro Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Soro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;