We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Villa and room and wonderful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Soro

Save Saved
You added Villa Soro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Soro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa and room and wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here for our wedding night and the staff was extremely helpful the entire time that my wedding party of 6 bridesmaids and I were getting ready and were able to provide anything we asked for. The villa itself is beautiful with a lush green driveway and an outdoor courtyard for breakfast and was a great spot to take pictures. There is a wonderfully old decorated old world sitting room/library for the guests to use inside as well. The room itself is simply decorated but uses the best materials (I could tell from the comfortable bed and sheets) and there was a gorgeous marble bathroom. Best of all, was the quick service for whatever we requested (drinks, sewing kits, iron, etc) would be brought up to us within minutes during the day. I would highly recommend this hotel to any visitor.

The only thing to watch out for is that the location is in the northern end of town, at the foot of Mont Ulia, so you would need to take a bus or cab to the city center, but should only take about 5 to 10 minutes in cab. The Zuriola beach is within a 10-15 minute walk though and that is a nice beach which is usually less crowded than la Concha.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the driveway, which is what we had. Great view! The rooms on the basem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    66
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
29
199
7
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Dates: 30/8-2/9 2012
Webb: www.villasoro.es
Wifi: Yes, free of charge
Style: Luxury boutique 19th-century mansion, Historical Heritage Building
Situation: Residential area surrounded by other stately homes close to centre of San Sebastian, within a ten minute walk of the Zurriola beach, the Kursaal Concert and Convention Centre and the old part of town.
Service: Familiar and friendly without lacking the perfection
Room: #205, double room in the carriage house (behind main the mansion)
Room description:. About 30 sq.m. (room sizes vary), mixture of contemporary and modern comfortable design, simple and proper with light warm colours and plush fabrics, working desk, armchair and table, flat screen TV, DVD, minibar with complimentary water, soft drinks and juices, safe. Ground floor rooms in the carriage house opens onto semi-private terraces. The rooms in the main building have more character, some with private terrace. Very quiet.
Bed: Large and very comfortable.
Bathroom: White tiles and large with bath and shower. Robes.
Bath and body products: Good
Restaurant: No restaurant but room service available (small menu but excellent food).
Breakfast: Included and very good. Partly á la carte. Served in the lovely conservatory.
Facilities: Bar, library, very small gym, complimentary bicycles and beach towels, free parking (garage or outdoor)
General: This is the type of hotel you instantly will fall in love with. Should have stayed 2 nights ended up with 4. It doesn’t have any ocean views but the location is perfect and calm with easy walk to the beach and the centre. With only 25 rooms the hotel is very discreet but also familiar. It has been extremely well renovated, maintaining its original traditional décor (marble hall, sweeping staircase, charming library and a bar with original oak wood panelling, beautiful hardwood floors). Yet it doesn’t lack of any comfort or modernity. The gardens are lovely. Sunny terrace. San Sebastian is a wonderful little town with very much charm and character. The food scene is something extra! To sum up, an excellent stay in a fantastic ambience, in a lovely city. A perfect match! Strongly recommend this ”secret” place.

Room Tip: Rooms in main building have more charm and character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELONA.SPAIN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here for three nights . I enjoyed the beautiful sitting room . The staff were friendly and helpful always wanting to please you
The breakfast was delicious and they cook you anything you may want and the price was not excesive for the quality of the hotel
The downside was the location in relation to the main area of town (about 15-20 minutes, but a lovely walk along the beach)
In spite of this I thought it was one of the nicest hotels in San Sebastian and would be pleased to return.This was winter so in Summer when days are longers it must be a great walk back to the hotel after dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valldemossa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This was our second stay at the Villa Soro. The second time we were celebrating my girlfriends fathers birthday. We knew he would love the city of San Sebastian as well as the hotel.
We were greatly surprised to see that staff remembered us from our visit two years ago and they were as friendly and helpful as the last time. At the reception you will get great tips fro restaurants, pintxo bars, sightseeing and anything that is happening in the area. The girls at the breakfast, which I recommend as it is a breakfast for everyone to enjoy, will spoil you and produce anything you want (within reason!!!). The cleaning of the room is the best I have experienced, and there are just so many little details that make your stay so much better. The almond cakes at night, for example. Wifi is all over the hotel, the access is free and there is no need for passwords, it simply works!
The Villa Soro is also only a 15 minute walk to the old part of San Sebastian, you are 10 minutes away from Pasajes de San Pedro and San Juan which are two beautiful villages to visit and eat at.

I can only recommend Villa Soro and we are really looking forward to our visit next year! Agur!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

A wonderful hotel with beautiful rooms, all are very large with big windows that open, lots of sunshine and well appointed bathrooms. I loved the big bath!
Staff were wonderful very helpful and went out of their way to make our stay special. There is a lift even though it is only a single storied building. I would like to in particular mention the groundsman who explained our room to us and made no mention of the weight we were carrying after eight weeks on the road and the señora who ran the breakfast room. She was wonderful with her smiles food and caring attitude. We felt at home and looked after.

Room Tip: Any but if you like dead quiet rear building and the end rooms have all the sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed four nights at Villa Soro in October 2012 with a group of friends. Our room at the annex villa was quiet comfortable and good size. The main building was elegantly decorated with antique pieces and comfortable couches.The breakfast room was at the main building, the buffet breakfast had a good selection, the service was very attentive. All the bottled water and non alcoholic beverages were complimentary in the minibar. We were very happy with our choice of
hotel and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We really enjoyed our two nights at Villa Soro. The 15 minute walk to town is easy and we especially liked being able to walk to and from our fantastic dinner at Arzak. The front desk staff was extremely helpful. The day we arrived they informed us that there was a general strike in San Sebastian and that we shouldn't walk around town. They promptly made reservations for us to visit the Guggenheim Museum, which worked out beautifully. They made a lot of suggestions of special things to see in San Sebastian. We couldn't have been happier with the quality of the room and the breakfast. A very comfortable place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Soro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Soro

Address: Avda de Ategorrieta 61, 20013 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Soro 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Soro occupies 2 classical buildings, one of which was built in 1898 and is a Historical Heritage Building of San Sebastian. Free Wi-Fi is available.All rooms offer free non-alcoholic drinks in the minibar and a DVD player. They each have a separate shower and bath. Rooms have luxury individual design, some including artwork from Jorge Oteiza. Room service is available, offering local dishes.There is free private parking on site. Villa Soro is surrounded by trees and stately homes.The hotel has a gym and offers free bicycles and beach towels. There are spacious lounges and a fireplace.Zurriola Beach, the Kursaal Concert and Convention Centre and the old town are within a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Villa Soro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Soro Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Soro Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Soro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.