We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When we go back we will stay here.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Kursaal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension Kursaal to your Saves list
Pension Kursaal
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Pena y Goni, 2-1, 20002 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“When we go back we will stay here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

San Sebastian is so amazing that I cannot wait to return. Pension Kursaal ticks all the boxes.
Clean, parking available, free, fast and working wifi. Across the road is the car park, beach and a 5 min walk to the old town. Our room was facing the street and was still very quiet. Cute little balcony, enough for some fresh air. The room was kept spotless and the shower was good with sufficient hot water and water pressure.
The girls at the front desk were extremely helpful and friendly, they even helped resolve a lost and found issue. We had the breakfast one morning, it was very basic but great for a little start to the day. The old Spanish colonial style building is quaint and complete with a cute antique elevator but the rooms and inside are quite modern.
Good value for money and I highly recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    121
    18
    5
    1
See reviews for
28
149
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tias
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was centrally situated opposite the Kursaal so was particularly convenient for the San Sebastián film festival screenings. The room was clean, and kept so, although the two single beds were pushed right together which, for two friends, was not ideal. The bedroom could have used a WPB as the small bathroom bin was insufficient. The shower base was slippery and a handrail is definitely needed. The staff were helpful and friendly. The breakfast was disappointing with white sliced bread, some brown would have been good but was not available. A few more clothes hangers would have been useful. The main criticism is that the keys are handed out on a piece of paper, not plastic, so putting it in the slot to get lighting is virtually impossible and definitely needs to be addressed

Room Tip: We paid an extra 5 €uros to have an external room with a balcony which we felt was worth it. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This lovely little pension on the first floor of an apartment block is minutes from the Kursaal - the main venue for the SS film festival, and perfect to get to the films and to star spot all of the celebs arriving for the galas and screening!
The rooms are spotlessly clean and have basic but good facilities. Plusses include the (simple) breakfast delivered to your room and the fab shower.
Staff are friendly and helpful and it's a good base for San Sebastian. It's just across the bridge from the Old Town which makes it a bit more peaceful in the night. There are a couple of excellent restaurant/bars in the same road.
Recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Good location with beach and car park (12 euro / 24 hrs) within a few minutes walk and 5 to 10 minutes walk to the culinary center. Simple, compact room overlooking a small courtyard (with plasic plants). Clean bathroom and good shower. Reception is friendly and helpful, free wifi. Room is on a hallway with wooden floors and can be quite noisy. Still good value for money .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed two nights at the end of Aug.
Room facing inside patio was very calm.Although space was not wide, no ploblem for having a good sleep. Had a plenty of hot water supply,so was able to have a pleasant shower.
Lady at the reception was very friendly,helpful and charming!
Accomodation fee was reasonable considering for the season of this touristing city and proximity to old town center.In total very good value.Recomendable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Our stay at the Pension Kursaal was perfect.
We stayed 3 nights, we just wish we had more time in beautiful San Sebastian, this hotel, is excellent, the location, our lovely quiet room with a balcony, always spotless, and the very helpful staff.
We certainly recommend this hotel ,and would love to return for another stay, in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
termoli
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Very clean, close to beach and centre, good staff and nice room
Consigliato!!!!
++++++++++++++++
Parkin is infront of the hotel and they have special price for that, staff is really good and helpfull
In the nearby there are lots of bar and restaurant and shops....we were there durin semana grande and we got all best places by walkin from the hotel
Even if lots of people were in the streets to make party we slept so well because of goodness of the rooms
If you want to book a nice hotel go there!!!!
But you have to book with some months in advance because hotel isn t so big and lots of tourists in the city

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Kursaal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Kursaal

Address: Pena y Goni, 2-1, 20002 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 72 Specialty Lodging in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pension Kursaal 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Kursaal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Kursaal Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Kursaal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.