We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only flaw” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leku Eder

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Leku Eder to your Saves list
Hotel Leku Eder
C/ Balenziaga 2 (Igeldo), 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“The only flaw”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was our last 2-nights stop in our Portugal + Spain trip of 8 nights. Donostia is quite a nice spot. Having a nice beach and an attractive downtown, in the neighbourhood of more expensive cross the border French resorts, must be the reason for it being so popular. But ... that smell from the gutter! I can not image the place in summer. It smelled even on 28&29th of October, at 8 degrees wheather. What a pity.

Fortunately, Leku Eder is far away from the smell, over the top of mount Igeldo, looking down to the next small bay on the west of Donostia, and the Faro. You witness an unbeleivable view of the ocean, the mountain and the bay from your balcony if you have one, or from the balcony of the breakfast room, if you don't. Let me remind you that the rooms having balcony look north towards the ocean, which means wind, rain, and cold whenever available! Our period of stay was at the borderline before winter, so it did not matter that much. But, we did look (and ask) for additional heating, because there was a peculiar problem with the radiator, but they soon fixed it.

The rooms seem to be individually decorated, with nice pictures on the walls reminding old movies and times when color pictures did not exist. A nice touch. The furniture is neo-classic, not new, but well-kept and perfectly clean. Some might consider the rooms somewhat small. Do not worry, not small as you would feel uncomfortable, definitely larger than an Ibis for example. Besides, the wardrobe is almost as large as you would have at home. Regarding the almost room-large balcony, which gave me the opportunity to smoke as much as I want, plus that wonderful view, I can not complain in any way. Besides, they treated us as they promised. I appreciate that. This is an advantage of family-run hotels, and they value relations more than you can imagine. We felt home indeed.

This was our first stay in a family hotel with two stars. We were worried about the services, cleanliness, breakfast, almost everything. Well, we shouldn't have worried. Toileteries were not impressive, but there was no problem with any other thing, except one, I must admit.

Beds were 2 singles put together as double. This is something we are used to, no problem. But the interesting point was my wife's bed had a nylon underneath the sheet. It kept making an uncomfortable noise through the night, which brought several uncomfortable images to our imagination. The next morning, we learned that both beds in our friends room were the same. They had even tried to pull it off, but couldn't, as they were knitted to the mattress.

Well, if it were a precaution, all beds should be that way. Else, it means only beds that have been in some way spoiled have been treated this way. Either way, it is unacceptable. Whether it is starless, or 5 stars, a hotel has to have enough extra mattresses to temporarily replace the ones that are effected. You wash them, dry them under the sun, air them, and store them as backup for future casualties. You do not knit nylon on them!

We are all human, and we all know that several unfortunate things may happen. And we also understand that a hotel is not expected to throw away a mattress everytime such things happen. But it can be handled by just keeping 1 or 2 extra mattresses.

Besides this, we were more than content. The rooms were nice and clean, balconies were unbeatable, the breakfast was better than we expected though missing eggs, and the staff were very, very gentle and unbeleivably helpful. The sympathetic, a bit overweighed guy with red cheeks, trumbling into the breakfast hall every few minutes, did not miss anything. The staff always kept smiling, and did what is necessary.

Would I stay there again - yes. Would I recommend - yes, with all my heart. But, if I want to swim or surf everyday, no, because although there is a quite frequent bus which stops right in front of the hotel and takes you to the beach or into the heart of the city in less than 10min, it would become a burden after a few days. On the other hand, the place is perfect for a stay during which you explore the neighbourhood. Do not hesitate to stay there, because I'm sure they will find a proper solution to the mattresses after they have read this review, because they seem to be proud of their Tripadvisor badge of perfection! Congragulations, they deserve it. I would like to thank for their hospitality publicly, here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    87
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
42
138
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Sadly we arrived later than we planned, so truly did not get to enjoy this wonderful hotel. We did have a few issues trying to find it in the dark, even w/map/GPS and iphone. :) But once we arrived, it was great. Free parking, large rooms, spotless, extremely nice staff.
We enjoyed the dining area for a late night bottle of wine and views over the ocean.
In the AM, the dining room was open for breakfast, plenty to eat and expansive views.
We were pleased to see several Camino Santiago walkers w/shells on their way The camino sign was just outside of the hotel. We found San Sebastian as beautiful as ever.
Hope to spend more time there at another visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is situated above the town of San Sebastian and a short bus ride into town from the front door. Parking is free.Its a small hotel with clean comfortable rooms and if you snag a room on the front great views.The staff a really friendly and cant do enough to make your visit to their community worthwhile. This a particularly good location, close enough to the center of things but away from the crowds and congested driving. the price is a steal as is the breakfast at 5 euros.

Room Tip: insist on a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was a great place to stay and I highly recommend it. It is quiet and sits atop Mount Igeldo, providing spectacular views of the Bay of Biscay from the rooms and the dining area. We stayed three nights. Each day we walked down the mountain to the promenade along the beach and into San Sebastian's old town. For anyone in reasonably good shape, this is not an issue. It took about 1 hour to get to old town, with a leisurely pace. The bus was an alternative and conveniently located right outside our door, but with all the pintxos and txokolina consumed, we thought it was a good idea to get some exercise! (We took a cab back each night!). We liked doing it this way, because while we thoroughly enjoyed the lively scene in San Sebastian, we appreciated the serenity of this location.

The staff at the desk were knowledgeable, kind and really very helpful! The rooms were clean and nicely decorated with antiques. The hallways were lined with beautiful photos and objets d'art. Breakfasts were good and included cheeses, jamon, tomatoes and croissants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We would have given it a 5 star review but being far away from the actual city was a slight hassle. There is a bus to the city center right outside the door but it doesn't run real late. Taxi cabs are dirt cheap for some reason. The breakfast was sufficient . The staff goes out of their way to be helpful. Bit shabby on the outside but the inside is very nice. The room was rather large and make sure to get one with a balcony high up and you will just stare at the view of the sea. I'm sure it would be more convenient in the city center but the view is worth the time it takes to get to the beautiful beach and the Pintxos :) San Sebastian is absolutely gorgeous and one of the cleanest places we have ever been. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: With a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a great location---away from the hustle and bustle of San Sebastian, but close enough to walk for a great experience. (Walk the trail down to the beaches of San Sebastian and ride the bus home. Perfect!)

Sits on top of the hill overlooking the ocean to one side and down to the town of San Sebastian on the other. The balcony overlooking the ocean is spectacular in morning and evening. Just beautiful views from almost every vantage point. Quiet, quiet at least until the rooster awakens you in the morning.

Just a great well run family hotel--- and worth the experience. The proprietors are perfectionist from the way they maintain the rooms to the presentation of breakfast. Could not ask for anything more.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. Very, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent two nights at the Leku Eder and found it to be a very friendly and comfortable place to stay. The views along the coast are great and there are panoramic views of Donostia from Mount Igeldo. The bus service is a cheap and convenient way of getting into and out of the town and avoiding the hassle of finding somewhere to park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Leku Eder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leku Eder

Address: C/ Balenziaga 2 (Igeldo), 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leku Eder Hotel is a family style hotel overlooking the Ocean from the top of Igeldo hill. The hotel is situated less than 4 km. from the City Center of Donostia/San Sebastián and has a good bus connection to the Center and a free parking area for our guests.All the rooms are equiped with bathroom, telephone, tv, and free wifi connection. We have a sunny terrace where our guests can relax or read placidly.The breakfast room is panoramic and our customers can enjoy at any time, from the collection of teas and infusions available to them and make use of the dining room, which features one microwave, crockery and cutlery, if they bring their own food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Leku Eder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leku Eder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.