We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Leku Eder

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Leku Eder to your Saves list
Hotel Leku Eder
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Balenziaga 2 (Igeldo), 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Sadly we arrived later than we planned, so truly did not get to enjoy this wonderful hotel. We did have a few issues trying to find it in the dark, even w/map/GPS and iphone. :) But once we arrived, it was great. Free parking, large rooms, spotless, extremely nice staff.
We enjoyed the dining area for a late night bottle of wine and views over the ocean.
In the AM, the dining room was open for breakfast, plenty to eat and expansive views.
We were pleased to see several Camino Santiago walkers w/shells on their way The camino sign was just outside of the hotel. We found San Sebastian as beautiful as ever.
Hope to spend more time there at another visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    119
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
56
182
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This hotel is situated above the town of San Sebastian and a short bus ride into town from the front door. Parking is free.Its a small hotel with clean comfortable rooms and if you snag a room on the front great views.The staff a really friendly and cant do enough to make your visit to their community worthwhile. This a particularly good location, close enough to the center of things but away from the crowds and congested driving. the price is a steal as is the breakfast at 5 euros.

Room Tip: insist on a room with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was a great place to stay and I highly recommend it. It is quiet and sits atop Mount Igeldo, providing spectacular views of the Bay of Biscay from the rooms and the dining area. We stayed three nights. Each day we walked down the mountain to the promenade along the beach and into San Sebastian's old town. For anyone in reasonably good shape, this is not an issue. It took about 1 hour to get to old town, with a leisurely pace. The bus was an alternative and conveniently located right outside our door, but with all the pintxos and txokolina consumed, we thought it was a good idea to get some exercise! (We took a cab back each night!). We liked doing it this way, because while we thoroughly enjoyed the lively scene in San Sebastian, we appreciated the serenity of this location.

The staff at the desk were knowledgeable, kind and really very helpful! The rooms were clean and nicely decorated with antiques. The hallways were lined with beautiful photos and objets d'art. Breakfasts were good and included cheeses, jamon, tomatoes and croissants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
190 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We would have given it a 5 star review but being far away from the actual city was a slight hassle. There is a bus to the city center right outside the door but it doesn't run real late. Taxi cabs are dirt cheap for some reason. The breakfast was sufficient . The staff goes out of their way to be helpful. Bit shabby on the outside but the inside is very nice. The room was rather large and make sure to get one with a balcony high up and you will just stare at the view of the sea. I'm sure it would be more convenient in the city center but the view is worth the time it takes to get to the beautiful beach and the Pintxos :) San Sebastian is absolutely gorgeous and one of the cleanest places we have ever been. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: With a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a great location---away from the hustle and bustle of San Sebastian, but close enough to walk for a great experience. (Walk the trail down to the beaches of San Sebastian and ride the bus home. Perfect!)

Sits on top of the hill overlooking the ocean to one side and down to the town of San Sebastian on the other. The balcony overlooking the ocean is spectacular in morning and evening. Just beautiful views from almost every vantage point. Quiet, quiet at least until the rooster awakens you in the morning.

Just a great well run family hotel--- and worth the experience. The proprietors are perfectionist from the way they maintain the rooms to the presentation of breakfast. Could not ask for anything more.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean. Very, very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent two nights at the Leku Eder and found it to be a very friendly and comfortable place to stay. The views along the coast are great and there are panoramic views of Donostia from Mount Igeldo. The bus service is a cheap and convenient way of getting into and out of the town and avoiding the hassle of finding somewhere to park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bochum
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We had four nights at this hotel on Mount Igeldo just outside San Sebastian. The rooms were clean and attractively decorated; the breakfast was continental but with a variety of breads, cheese and cold meats. The pleasant walk down Mount Igeldo to San Sebastian takes about 30 minutes and there is also a regular bus service to the town centre. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 987 reviews
1.2 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 900 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,528 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#16 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Leku Eder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Leku Eder

Address: C/ Balenziaga 2 (Igeldo), 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Leku Eder 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leku Eder Hotel is a family style hotel overlooking the Ocean from the top of Igeldo hill. The hotel is situated less than 4 km. from the City Center of Donostia/San Sebastián and has a good bus connection to the Center and a free parking area for our guests.All the rooms are equiped with bathroom, telephone, tv, and free wifi connection. We have a sunny terrace where our guests can relax or read placidly.The breakfast room is panoramic and our customers can enjoy at any time, from the collection of teas and infusions available to them and make use of the dining room, which features one microwave, crockery and cutlery, if they bring their own food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Leku Eder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Leku Eder, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.