We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Alemana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostal Alemana to your Saves list
Hostal Alemana
San Martin, 53 - 10, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Lliber, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Really smart hostal, very clean and modern rooms, even had a trouser press! Maybe overpriced for a hostal though. We were with friends and both the bedrooms were affected by outside street noise. It was perfectly placed for the beach and the old town and shopping. We had breakfast at the place which was adequate. We also used their garage facilities as our car was loaded up after returning from the UK after Christmas so we wanted to keep our car and belongings safe. The garage was just a block away under another hotel but cost us 20€. We loved San Sebastian and would certainly recommend the hotel as the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask if possible for a room not overlooking the road if you want a good nights sleep or bring earplug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    58
    18
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
56
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Really nice hostal with large very clean and modern rooms. Excellent location near the beach and a short walk to the old town. We had an internal room which had frosted windows as there was no view, it was facing an internal roofed area. This made the room a bit stuffy however there was air conditioning and the room was quiet with no street noise. Not cheap but then San Sebastian is the most expensive city in Spain but still my favourite city in Europe.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room choose an internal one but there will be no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Really liked this hotel, which was excellently located for the beach, and was a short walk to the shops/old town.
The decor in the bedrooms is contemporary which I loved. We got a corner room which was very spacious (lovely high ceilings) but unfortunately the downside of it was the street-noise. Additionally there was a lot of overhead noise from what sounded like a family living upstairs.
We ate breakfast on one morning and it was very good.
There was always someone working on the front-desk and we found the staff here very helpful.
Added bonus - free wifi, definitely a requirement for researching how to pass rainy days in San Sebastian!!

Room Tip: Presumably the benefit of a corner room is the size but avoid if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrenpoint
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hostel is in an excellent location close to the beach. The main issue was the price - hotel prices for what is really just a hostel. The hotel was clean and felt safe. The beach is less than 2 mins away and the old town is a nice 10 min walk along the sea front. It can be noisy in the mornings, the windows didn't seem to close properly. If you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I agree with another comment that San Sebastian is expensive - yes for accommodation this seems to be the case. This place is called hostal because it does not offer all the things that hotels typically offer and yet of the 11 hotels we stayed in during our long-ish trip in Spain, it was by far the most expensive. Nevertheless, the location is top, even has a tiny bit of beach view, the rooms are large and the bed - was a dream. Best bed I ever slept in. Service was absolutely correct, if one remembers that it is a hostal. Try not to have a car because the parking will cost your more than copious amounts of pinxos. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very good rooms, at a good price, near to the town center and beach. Good Breakfast.
Very interesting buildings and historic area in the older part of town, lovely views everywhere and the very best tapas ever!

Room Tip: Some rooms open onto interior shaft so no outside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Walking distance to everything, a minute from the beach, clean, comfortable and well-managed. What else to say? The only negative side it that it was a bit hot, and we had to open the windows. Unfortunately, there's an Irish pub next door and that got noisy when it closed. Someone else wrote that they should think about putting in fans. Maybe not a bad idea. I think there are rooms that don't give on to the pub, and maybe these are quieter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hostal Alemana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Alemana

Address: San Martin, 53 - 10, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Alemana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Alemana Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Hostal Alemana San Sebastián Donostia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Alemana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.