We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Costa Vasca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelo Costa Vasca to your Saves list
Barcelo Costa Vasca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Avenida Pio Baroja, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is very trendy, clean and nice. However it is expensive (like other hotels in San Sebastian) and it took about 30 minutes to walk to the downtown area. But walking by the shore was not bad at all, what a view! Furthermore, there are some restaurants and shops close to the hotel. The hotel room was very comfortable with a desk and a mini bar and also a balcony. There is a wellness center in the basement that I really recommend! What a relaxing place and great service.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms have a balcony, I really recommend a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    338
    146
    57
    21
See reviews for
111
418
15
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Grove, NJ
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My family and I stayed here in early July (3 rooms) for 3 nights. The hotel was perfect for our needs--yes, it is not right in town, but that was a good thing because the week we were there the city was very crowded with a lot of young people (which was fine unless you were staying on one of the noisy streets in the old city).

Beds were comfortable, rooms were a nice size and the shower was amazing! Rain showerhead and good water pressure. Bathroom as well as the bedroom were spotless. Air conditioner was not as cool as we are used to but luckily the weather was not terribly hot when we were there.

We were able to take advantage of the pool one afternoon, and it was a great break from sightseeing. Enjoyed delicious mojitos on our loungers and just relaxed for a few hours. We were there during the World Cup and joined a lot of other Americans (including a few youth soccer teams from the U.S. who were there for a local soccer tournament) in the lobby bar to watch the game one evening--that was fun despite the cable going out several times during the game!

Our breakfast was included in our room rate and we were very happy with the variety of food available and thought it was a good value--freshly made omelettes and eggs, cheeses and ham platters, lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, pastries and breads. Of course, if not included in your room rate, you would save by just stopping at a local cafe for a coffee and croissant.

We walked to the old city several times along the water and on the beach, and it was a lovely walk--not that far at all.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone spending a few days in San Sebastian. Comparable to a Holiday Inn or Hilton Garden Inn in the US.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies; ours overlooked the parking lot; not sure if any overlook the beach. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is a little lacking in character and a good 30 minute walk to the old town. That said it is handy for Miramar Palace & Gardens and a 10 min walk to Ondarreta Beach. The hotel is clean and the staff friendly and helpful. The beds are a good size, the showers good but not much storage space. There is a No.16 bus that stops opposite the hotel and will take you close to the old town. Don't expect much by way of views from your room!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Choose this because it had a pool which were really happy with but it's a bit of a trek to the main town (shops + bars etc). You are 5 mins walk to one end of la concha beach, it will take you about 30 mins to walk from one end to the other. Note the other end has the port, shops, bars etc. The main hotel was really nice and if you have a car or don't mind paying for taxi's then this is definitely the hotel because it has the pool that most hotels in donostia don't have.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

The rooms are small, but the furniture chosen makes use of the space so you feel as though you have a lot of room. It was clean and comfortable. Fresh eggs can be ordered at breakfast, but the coffee was not very good. The hotel is out of the way, but we walked into town and enjoyed walkibng along the promenade of a weekend and seeing what the locals were up to. You can also catch a bus quite easily if you are not up to the walk,

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Good modern hotel situated at far end of San Sebastian.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Restaurant is priced as high end but food far from satisfactory. Monk fish had to be returned as too tough to eat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Barceló Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tramore, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Nice Hotel with clean and comfortable rooms. Service was good but you did have to have some patients with the bar staff. They could only service one customer at a time.
The downstairs area is a little clinical and lacks atmosphere but the rooms were excellent although the integrated shower / wardrobe arrangement was a little off putting.
Bed was excellent, but storage was at a premium which meant we couldn't unpacked properly for a 12 day stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one on the front with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.6 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 933 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#9 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 938 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#12 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barcelo Costa Vasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Costa Vasca

Address: 15 Avenida Pio Baroja, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#3 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#8 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Costa Vasca 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Costa Vasca**** hotel is a landmark in San Sebastian, it is located 7 minutes by foot to Ondarreta Beach and 15 mins from the famous creation by the sculptor Eduardo Chillida "El Peine del Viento". Discover the city's historical and traditional side by enjoying a few tapas in the old Basque quarter or enjoy all the glamour of our city, taking a pleasant stroll, with magnificent views of the La Concha Bay. For the summer season (1 July to 31 August) we offer you 2500 m² of garden area to enjoy, where you can relax with a cocktail in our Swim Bar or cool yourself down in our semi-Olympic sized swimming pool. We also offer guests a convenient car park situated at the hotel entrance. Furthermore, during your stay you can enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Barcelo Costa Vasca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Vasca Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Barcelo San Sebastián Donostia
Barcelo Hotel Costa Vasca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Costa Vasca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.