We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, OK location, great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Costa Vasca

Save Saved
You added Barcelo Costa Vasca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Barcelo Costa Vasca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Avenida Pio Baroja, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice hotel, OK location, great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Fairly modern looking hotel with decent rooms and fantastic showers. We had a few problems that were quickly and happily resolved. The hotel is about a 20min walk from the old town where most of the food places are. It's a nice walk for the most part but uphill on the way back. The Spanish breakfast was really good! It's kind of a business hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    184
    239
    110
    45
    16
See reviews for
67
289
9
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Good hotel with all the basics in order. The rooms are quite spaciouss and were clean. The staff was very friendly, the breakfast was rather good, and also the food in the restaurant was proven to be good and reasonably priced. The pool was great for children, but other than that there was really nothing for kids.

The location was quiet with some 10 minutes walk from the beach front.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
189 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is of a good standard. I liked his general ambience. The staff were nice and friendly in all departaments. They speak English quite good. The check-in/-out process was fast. Good breakfast. The room was nice and spacious with comfy bed and modern bathroom. The only problem was the water pressure in the shower. Sometimes it was close to nothing and it was hard to do antything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our travel agent selected this hotel for our first trip to San Sabastian. It is a nice hotel. The staff was very helpful and the room was comfortably large. Breakfast was included and it was outstanding. The hotel is in what appeared to be a area of condominiums and homes. The draw back for us was the locaton, which is quite a distance from the downtown and the old town. Too far to walk and I found that Taxis are not cheap in Spain. Also, it is such a bargain that tour busses were constantly dropping off large groups people which could make it crowded in the lobby and restaurant. This is a nice property and a good bargain. However, if we go back to San Sebastian, we will stay closer to the town area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Whenever a client insists on booking a hotel on my behalf a cold sweat develops on my brow! In the case of the booking made for me at the Barcelo Costa Vasca I really had nothing to worry about. Check-in in the modern lobby was quick and efficient (although it's been a while since a hotel in Europe has asked to see my passport). My room, located on the fourth floor, was extremely bright, spacious and perfect for my stay. The beds were exceptionally large and comfortable, the bathroom (bath & shower) excellent. I particularly liked the distinctly separate desk area (with lots of electrical wall sockets) as I had work to do on my laptop during the stay.
The buffet breakfast was superb (particularly the selection of fresh fruit for the healthy and waffles and caramel syrup for the likes of me). The evening menu, while a little limited in choice, is superb value at just €14 for three courses plus a complementary digestif. Coffee and snacks at the bar are also good quality and value.
Location wise the hotel is well placed being just 250m from the seafront and the beach. The geography of San Sebastian means that nothing is too far away with the downtown shops, bars and restaurants being no more than fifteen or twenty minutes walk.
If there was any criticism to be had whatsoever it is the charging for the car park - €20 per day to stay in the open over-ground car park or €25 to park underground. If the actual room prices were not such good value this could almost be a deal breaker but, that said, the charges didn't taint my stay whatsoever.

Room Tip: you can't go wrong even with a standard room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

All facilities included here, good location, great service and lovely rooms. This hotel was very easy to find and staff at reception are very helpful speaking several languages. The spa facilities were fantastic and the rooms even had balconies. Excellent sized rooms as well with plenty of space to move around and store belongings.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Although we only stayed one night, this hotel is worthy of mention. It is near the "new beach" area of San Sebastian- about a 5 minute walk. The hotel is very modern and has a very open feeling to the lobby. The staff was very friendly and spoke good english. We did not use any of the hotel facilities other than our room but they looked nice and inviting. The room was very spacious and had a good view with a large window to create as much light as you would like. However, we needed sleep so the black out curtains were a nice touch. I would consider it a large room by european standards with plenty of room for the two of us to move around. The bed was very comfortable with crisp new bedding wrapped around it. The bathroom was very nice with a great waterfall type shower head. The included blow dryer already plugged in was nice for my wife. Hardwood floors throughout the room and great climate control. What more could you want for slightly over 100 euro!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelo Costa Vasca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelo Costa Vasca

Address: 15 Avenida Pio Baroja, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#5 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelo Costa Vasca 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barcelo Costa Vasca**** hotel is a landmark in San Sebastian, it is located 7 minutes by foot to Ondarreta Beach and 15 mins from the famous creation by the sculptor Eduardo Chillida "El Peine del Viento". Discover the city's historical and traditional side by enjoying a few tapas in the old Basque quarter or enjoy all the glamour of our city, taking a pleasant stroll, with magnificent views of the La Concha Bay. What better way to end the day than by relaxing in our Urban Wellness Centre with its wide range of treatments (managed by the Sasoibide group), or over a drink in front of the fireplace in our B-lounge Bar. For the summer season (1 July to 31 August) we offer you 2500 m² of garden area to enjoy, where you can relax with a cocktail in our Swim Bar or cool yourself down in our semi-Olympic sized swimming pool. We also offer guests a convenient car park situated at the hotel entrance. Furthermore, during your stay you can enjoy free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Barcelo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Barcelo Costa Vasca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Costa Vasca Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Barcelo San Sebastián Donostia
Barcelo Hotel Costa Vasca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Costa Vasca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.