We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parma Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Parma Hotel to your Saves list
Parma Hotel
Paseo de Salamanca, 10, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Amberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This hotel is in a fantastic location if you want to be close to the old town, the beaches and all the tapas bars and restaurants. Staff are really friendly, good buffet breakfast and they arrange secure underground parking in nearby parking if you come by car.
We had a seafront room,only downside is that room fairly small but very comfortable bed.
Second time we have stayed here and we will definitely be back. Also a favourite of some friends of ours.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iazurza, Director General at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Madame:

Many thanks for your nice review, we really appreciate your opinion.

It would be very nice to mmet you in your next visit, so do not hesitate in asking for me when you come back.

Thanks again and best regards.

Iñaki Azurza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    76
    34
    14
    3
See reviews for
21
103
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We spent 4 nights in the hotel.The location was great in the edge on old town but still on a quiet street. Staff was nice and helpful. The breakfast buffet was ok, worth its price. Would stay in the hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iazurza, Director General at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Many thanks for your nice review and the nice words about our Hotel. We really appreciate it.
We really hope to see you again in your next visit.
Best regards.

Iñaki Azurza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location and reasonably priced. Our room had a fabulous view of the sea but the furnishings were very basic. Hotel staff was extremely helpful in giving directions to parking facility and marking maps with other locations.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iazurza, Director General at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Sir:

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review and specially for your nice words. I agree that our location is excellent and I always insist to our staff that hospitality is our business. I´m glad to hear that we did a good job with you.

Many thanks and best regards.

Iñaki Azurza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is my first review and travel a fair amount. 1 the staff at Parma Hotel are smart, nice and go out of their way to be helpful, 2 the location is excellent for sightseeing and eating,...our room looked out on the water and 3. It was quiet!


There is no elevator and the rooms are simple and very clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iazurza, Director General at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Sir:

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I´m very glad you liked our Hotel. The review allways help on the way to improvement.
Thanks again and best regards.


Iñaki Azurza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We originally booked for two nights but stayed a third which says something - maybe that is worth another half a star. The location on the edge of the old town and looking across the river entrance is very good if you don't want to be right on the beach; you can easily walk everywhere. Our room, which looked onto a side street, was a reasonable size and pleasant enough without being grand in anyway. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the hotel has dedicated parking spots in a parking station down the road. In a town known for its high prices, this hotel represents really good value.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iazurza, Director General at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Madame:

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. I´m very glad you liked our Hotel. The reviews allways help on the way to improvement.
Thanks again and best regards.


Iñaki Azurza.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, OR
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Great location on the edge of Old Town. Our room had a view of the sea if you stood up and looked out, no balcony or the like. Very basic, clean room. Nothing fancy, great WiFi. The reason I gave this hotel 4 stars rather than 3 was for the super-friendly staff. They made us feel so welcome, answered all our questions with a smile and went out of their way to help us and make our stay comfortable. This is a great place to stay if you don't have a car as it is an easy walk to all the restaurants, bars and attractions in Old Town and the beach. Parma is a good choice if you don't mind a basic room due to its great locale and wonderful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iazurza, Director General at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Sir:

Many thanks for your nice words about the staff. I always insist that hospitality is our business, and reading your words I see with pirde that we are on the correct way.
I would only add one thing to your review: that people with car can also come to our Hotel because we do have parking service.
Thanks again and best regards.

Iñaki Azurza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Well located at the edge of Old Town, easy to find, reserved and street paid parking available. There is no lift, staff helpful in lugging stuff to room. There is parking right in front of the hotel for unloading luggage. Free wifi works well. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel.
Our room is small but efficient, beds are comfortable, no idea about heat or ac as neither was needed during our stay. Our room which faced an interior courtyard, is quiet. The women manning the reception desk are very pleasant and helpful.
Hotels and B and Bs in old town San Sebastián may be hard to find and get to because the streets are mostly pedestrian only but not around Hotel Parma. Calle 31st Agosto, where some of the top pintxo bars are located is a few minutes walk away; same for the seaside promenade. The street blocks are not long so it's short walking distance to get to places. From the autoroute, the signage to find Old Town is not clear but they are clear for leaving Old Town. We based ourselves in SS and drove to Bilbao for the Guggenheim. I'd recommend this for those with cars as SS old town is more festive, compact, generally much nicer than its Bilbao counterpart. Parma is a good budget hotel choice for Old Town San Sebastián.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iazurza, Director General at Parma Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Sir or Madame:

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review. We really appreciate your nice words about the hotel and specially about the staff. In my opinion your review describes very well the Hotel and its surroundings. I would only add one thing to it: since finiding a parking place on the street is quite diffficult, we offer 24 hour guarded parking service. We have 19 parking places located at the nearest public parking lot, which is three blocks away from the Hotel (three minutes walking distance).

Many thanks again and best regards.


Iñaki Azurza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parma Hotel

Address: Paseo de Salamanca, 10, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#10 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#10 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Parma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parma Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parma Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.