We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Niza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Niza to your Saves list
Hotel Niza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zubieta, 56, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London U.K.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Small but charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just past the major Hotels on the Concha Beach this place exudes old fashioned charm
and modest rates. My room did not have a seaview. I did not want one. Quiet and well
furnished with an adequate breakfast and Bar. Prices are also modest and well down
on those places near the old part of town. Only 10 mins. walk to the buzzy part of
San Sebastian. Will come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    173
    42
    17
    14
See reviews for
39
187
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kansas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We booked Hotel Niza for our July family trip. The hotel is small and has a distinct charm, from the antiques in the lobby to the 100 year old elevator. The rooms are clean but small and not outstanding. The bed was a bit hard for my taste. The hotel has a bar which opens out to La Concha beach. It is a great place to have coffee in the morning or tapas in the afternoon. The breakfast buffet is okay but not really worth the price. There is underground parking available if you drive there. The old town area which is a blast for partying is an easy 15 minute walk and there is lots of shopping in the area as well. Just a great location!

Room Tip: Good luck getting a ocean view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We loved the two nights we spent here recently. The view from the room was spectacular and the beds oh so comfortable. We opted for the breakfast in the downstairs restaurant and were pleased with that as well. I think the breakfast was an additional 10 euros per person.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Full of character, smells history, small, cosy, modest, very clean and cute rooms, luminous, breathtaking ocean view which you can see as soon as you open your eyes in the morning. Very good location just on the beach , also close to the shopping and bar district. Breakfast is also delicious.
Wishing to go back as soon as possible!

Room Tip: I recommend the rooms with sea view
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and had a room with two big windows overlooking the famous La Concha beach. The hotel itself is a bit of an institution in San Sebastián and has been in the same family for a very long time.

The room was smallish but adequate and as it was right in the middle of the hotel facing the beach, it had wonderful 180 degree views over the whole of the beach. But, on the downside, it was very bright and very warm. With no air conditioning, and on hot days, the brightness and the warmth made the room very uncomfortable if you are a light sleeper like me. Note, the side facing rooms do have air conditioning. Also, as San Sebastián is a party town, opening the windows at night was very noisy.

The hotel itself is a bit rickety and could do with a refurbishment. But, then again, given the location and its popularity, this does not seem to be turning customers away! The restaurant at the bottom of the hotel is adequate and serves simple tapas, breakfasts and other meals.

I would recommend this hotel but would next time would probably request a side room with AC next time to avoid the glare, the heat and the noise.

Room Tip: Light sleepers who also like cool rooms on hot days, choose the side rooms. Those that do not mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I stayed here in March 2014 with my friends. The location of the hotel is perfect and it has a great view. We stayed in a triple room and it was big enough for three of us. The breakfast was perfect and everything was clean. Staff was kind. Highly recommended to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in June 2014. This is an amazing hotel right on the beach at Concha Bay. I had a large room, the large windows opened for a view of the beach letting in the wonderful sea breeze. The hotel is just a short walk on the beach or on the paseo from the old town and all the sites. The hotel has a fabulous old elevator. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The area safe. The staff were helpful but reserved. This stay was a wonderful experience and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Niza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niza

Address: Zubieta, 56, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#9 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#11 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Niza 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An everlasting style, remaining throughout time. Its privileged location, right at the La Concha bay, turns the Hotel into an incomparable site. Its decoration creates a warm and cozy atmosphere. Lamps, furniture, pictures. Everything is designed to supply comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Niza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niza Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Niza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.