We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bed for the night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Terminus

Hotel Terminus
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Terminus to your Saves list
Hotel Terminus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Francia, 21, 20012 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
BritAbroad
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“A bed for the night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Passing late through Donostia-San Sebastian (Donostia is the Basque name for the city) by train, needed a bed for the night and Hotel Terminus did the job. Adjacent to mainline railway station so perfect location for me. Last person to check in, received friendly welcome and directed to top floor of three (stairs only), room at the front. Closed the double-glazed windows and curtains, put in my earplugs, didn't hear a car or train all night and slept reasonably well in the single bed.

The hotel is old and tired, along with its fixtures and fittings. Corridors are empty and echo. The room and en suite bathroom were adequate for my single night stopover. Breakfast, however, was a disappointment: I like a substantial breakfast while travelling but all that was on offer in the conjoined station café was just a coffee, orange juice and croissant. For those wanting something more, suggest a walk into the nearby city centre.

Having time to kill in the morning I strode across the nearby De Maria Cristina Zubia bridge and soon found myself in the city centre and before too long was looking out across the beautiful bay of La Concha with its immaculate beach. I quickly took a liking to the city and decided I would like to return and spend more time there ... but I wouldn't be staying at the Hotel Terminus.

Room Tip: Front equals road traffic; rear equals rail traffic - so take your pick ... or just use a decent pai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    9
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
22
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

travelling with backpacks we loved the location of the Terminus Hotel near the train station.
The reception desk people were very friendly and helpfull. The looked up the time schedules of the busses for us. The price includes the breakfast in the restaurant that is very lively with all train passengers hopping in for coffee.

Room Tip: rooms in the back side are noisy because of the train station, and there is no AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Terminus hotel is nothing remarkable, the rooms are comfortable but not luxurious, the service is acceptable but not fantastic, the facilities, including wifi, are adequate but not worth a specific mention.

The cafe/bar that is attached to this literally part of the main San Sebastion train station. The other station (Amara) which is the one you will use for local travel is only about a 15 minute walk away.

If you're travelling to San Sebastián by train, particularly if arriving very early or late in the morning, this hotel is worth considering.

Room Tip: Light sleepers may want to request the road side rather than the train station side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

A friend and I stayed here for two nights, very reasonable price. It backs onto the station so could work out very well if you travel to the city that way. Parking in the centre San Sebastian is a nightmare and although we didn't take up their offer, cheaper parking is available through the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend were traveling to San Sebastián by train, and arriving late, so booked to hotel for its location. It's is just near the station so no need for a long walk at night. Rooms are basic it adequate. However I have concerns about the security. We were asleep at 3 am in our locked room, however were woken by a group of very rowdy (drunk) guests in the hall, then heard rattling of the door handle, and someone managed to open our locked door and began to enter our room. As expected I was not happy and told them to get out, but they did not leave. It was only when I got up and came towards them that they seemed to size me up and then leave. Needless to say I didn't sleep much more that night. Firstly this concerns me because I w there with my girlfriend, and secondly this could have happened anytime during the day, so belongings would not be safe. We checked out the next morning and went to the kuursaal pension, same price, far better accomodation, location, and staff.
Tis place may be ok if your staying with a group of guys, but I would not stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone who values their own safety or that of their traveling companions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Arriving by train the hotel is two buildings from the station. Our room was very clean, modest in decor but large in size. Bathroom was clean but the hand held shower head kept falling down, just a small annoyance. The restaurant which was connected by a door was really quite good and inexpensive. Since it rained while we were there, this was a nice option. The people at the front desk spoke very good English and were very helpful and gave clear directions. This hotel is fine for a short stay.

Room Tip: No elevator so you might ask for a lower floor if hauling luggage is a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Although San Sebastián has a slew of "pensiones" in the old town that would no doubt have been cheaper to stay at, all of the streets there are pedestrian only, and parking in San Sebastian as a whole is a nightmare. The Terminus is located right next to the train station and I got a space practically right across the street in a little off street lot. You have to keep a paid receipt, purchased from a nearby machine, on your dash. It's free from 8PM to 9AM also for the two hour lunch break. If you want to leave it there, you have to keep your receipt current. That means dropping by every three hours to pay and get another. My room is very large with two twin beds, a writing desk and chair, a vinyl covered bench/luggage rack. Although there are no passenger trains arriving or departing after bedtime, I figured that freight trains or trains speeding by headed for other destinations might bother me, I didn't hear any at all until morning. My bed was comfortable and I slept well. The bathroom is fine and the shower was great. The bracket was located quite high on the end wall and it swiveled up and down for easy adjustment. The desk clerks were very friendly. Room cost was 43 euros, tax included.

Room Tip: My room was 104.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Terminus

Address: Avenida de Francia, 21, 20012 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 51 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Terminus 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HostelBookers and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Terminus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.