We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay in San Sebastian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Codina

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Codina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Zumalacarregui 21, 20008 Donostia-San Sebastian, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“A good stay in San Sebastian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Hotel Codina was a good option for a hotel in the city. It is not located in the thick of things but on the other side of the beach, which keeps it much quieter. You can either walk to the main area or take a bus ride.

The rooms were of a decent side and well appointed, including the bathrooms.

There is a small cafe and bar on the ground floor and 1-2 small cafes on the street behind the hotel. But the best restaurants are in the main part of town.

To get a good view of the city, the access to the top of the mountain by the funicular is very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    99
    37
    7
    3
See reviews for
31
92
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This hotel is situated on the west side of San Sebastien. We found the rooms to be very comfortable with good beds and a decent sized bathroom. The staff are friendly.

Our only complaint would be that this is all about the rooms with a very small public space for eating or drinking.

In the morning the 2 lifts were jam packed and I saw an elderly couple give up and take the stairs from the 4th floor.

No complaints, a good hotel at a reasonable price in over-priced San Sebastien.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and paid extra for a room with a balcony - which I would recommend - room was very clean and comfortable with a good shower room. Hotel in a good location 5 minute walk to the beach - it is a lovely walk into the centre of San Sebastian, especially if you walk along the beach. Staff v helpful, the 24 bus goes outside the door to the central bus station and they got me the times. Inside room with doors wide open very comfortable, however when sitting on balcony even though on the 7th floor, traffic noise intrusive. Cafe on ground floor great - good coffee, wine and service.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes,
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Whilst staing in France with family my husband and I took a 2 night trip to SS and chose the Codina. We had a very friendly welcome, the desk chap conversing in Spanish, French and English with us. I would recommend booking a parking spot around the corner in the undercover car park - Euro18 a day from memory.
The room was fine - little noisy overlooking the street but nothing a pair of earplugs couldn't fix. All the amenities were fine, big spacious bathroom.
The hotel is about a 25 min walk to the old town but it is a beautiful walk along the bay. There is also a bus stop right outside and for 1.45E you can get the bus to the doorstep of the old town on the number 5 or 25.....considerably cheaper than a cab although they don't run that late.
Overall perfect for our trip, clean and friendly. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the road are a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Huge rooms & baths - includes bidet; shower over tub. Exterior shutters + thick windows that can be vented or fully opened + drapes make for a very quiet room at night. Lots of outlets to plug in all the stuff we have come to HAVE TO HAVE. And huge in room safe that fit my big laptop & more plus it was easy to operate. You can order pizza & cheese sticks & the pizza people deliver to your room & charge your room which was nice the first night it was drizzly outside. There is a wonderful little bar just down the block + 2 supermarkets close by. About a half mile to the surf shop if you want to take lessons. Breakfast was expensive & looked crappy - canned fruit cocktail? We opted for going down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for 6th floor & seaview - worth the extra 20 Euro.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here and really liked it. We couldn't decide between the area this hotel was in and the old downtown but we were really glad we picked this as it was only a few blocks from the beach.

The staff was great and really made the experience a lot better. They may seem very reserved but if you ask them anything they will go out of their way to accommodate. We used public transportation the whole time and they were very knowledgeable about bus routes and how to get places. Pedro in the bar/cafe area was excellent and was patient in showing us regional cuisine and drinks that we didn't know about.

I would add that at first this area of Spain seemed very reserved and not very outgoing so it took a little while to adjust to after coming from Barcelona. After understanding that this was just a regional difference and nothing personal we had a great time!

I would highly recommend a side trip to Bilbao and/or Biarritz, France since they are so close. The Amara bus station is about 7-8 euros by taxi or 2 euros by bus and easy to get to.

Room Tip: All of the rooms seemed to have about the same view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel when we visited San Sebastian for a wedding. It was great value (we booked it through Discount Hotel Reservations (DHR) and perfect for the 3 night stay we had planned. The rooms were clean and very modern and the bathroom was stocked with lots of toiletries if you needed them. One of the added extras was FREE Wi-fi which I found useful. It's a relatively small hotel with a small cafe/bar on one side and the reception on the other. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had hired a car so used the hotel's garage which cost 15 Euros plus tax per day. This was well worth it because parking is at a premium in the area. A buffet breakfast is available for 10 euros and it was perfectly adequate - cereals, pastries, meats, yogurts, cooked ham & eggs etc. The area the hotel is situated in was lovely - lots of shops, cafe's and bars within a short distance. A large supermarket was literally just along the road. We had pinchos at a local bar/restaurant just a few doors up from the hotel and also at a bar called Pepe's which was just along the road the opposite way. San Sebastian centre was approximately a mile from the hotel and is a very pleasant walk along the promenade just by the beach. It's good to join the locals as they stroll along! The Onderetta beach is practically opposite - a 5/10 minute walk. We would defintely stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Codina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Codina

Also Known As:
Codina Hotel San Sebastián Donostia
Address: Avenida Zumalacarregui 21, 20008 Donostia-San Sebastian, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > Donostia-San Sebastian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Donostia-San Sebastian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Codina 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Codina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Codina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Codina to your Saves list