We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in a great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Codina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Codina to your Saves list
Hotel Codina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Zumalacarregui 21, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel when we visited San Sebastian for a wedding. It was great value (we booked it through Discount Hotel Reservations (DHR) and perfect for the 3 night stay we had planned. The rooms were clean and very modern and the bathroom was stocked with lots of toiletries if you needed them. One of the added extras was FREE Wi-fi which I found useful. It's a relatively small hotel with a small cafe/bar on one side and the reception on the other. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had hired a car so used the hotel's garage which cost 15 Euros plus tax per day. This was well worth it because parking is at a premium in the area. A buffet breakfast is available for 10 euros and it was perfectly adequate - cereals, pastries, meats, yogurts, cooked ham & eggs etc. The area the hotel is situated in was lovely - lots of shops, cafe's and bars within a short distance. A large supermarket was literally just along the road. We had pinchos at a local bar/restaurant just a few doors up from the hotel and also at a bar called Pepe's which was just along the road the opposite way. San Sebastian centre was approximately a mile from the hotel and is a very pleasant walk along the promenade just by the beach. It's good to join the locals as they stroll along! The Onderetta beach is practically opposite - a 5/10 minute walk. We would defintely stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in Hotel Codina for a total of 5 nights over the course of a two week stay in Northern Spain.

Upon our arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist whom was more than willing to deal with our many initial queries. We made our way to our room which had everything you'd need and was immaculately clean. We were located on the top floor, Room 701, which has a spacious balcony with a lovely view of the sea and the surrounding area. Great spot to sit out in the evening with a cold beer. The bathroom had no bath but a good shower, bidet and plenty of towels which were promptly changed every morning. The room had a flat screen t.v and a fridge, which is handy for keeping your own water etc. The double bed was in fact a double bed and not two singles imaginatively tied together, which made for a comfortable nights sleep. The air conditioning also worked perfectly, which is a nice change. The wi-fi was fast and consistent.

Overall it was an excellent experience. There are no leisure facilities but the hotel is excellently positioned in San Sebastian. The buffet breakfast was fresh and for its size had good variety for those who might enjoy a greasy spoon or the healthy option.

Hotel Codina have got the simple things very right and their staff, at all levels, are professional and friendly!

Room Tip: Great balcony in room 701 with a lovely view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wally2340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Location- slightly out of town (20-30 min walk) but there are frequent buses. Service- quite friendly but lacking basic things (like an iron in each room- there is only one iron in the whole hotel so you need to get it before someone else does!!). Rooms- clean, average size. Value for money- fairly priced- probably what you'd expect for the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you're a non smoker ask not to be on the smoker's floor. Also if you are a couple, specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanburger999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

While the room felt like a dorm room, the hotel was perfect. With being only a few blocks from the beach, the location was great. The room was white with no art, but was very clean. The bathroom was large and modern. The bar served wine for $1.10 Euro a glass, which was great after a day on the beach.

I really liked the staff of the hotel. They did a great job helping me with directions and suggestions

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnollett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Level Contributor
186 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

No surprises at this hotel; it's described well in other comments. We appreciated the space in front to load and unload our luggage in this car-unfriendly city and were happy we reserved a parking space. The staff willingly explained in detail how to take the bus, which stops right in front of the hotel and ends in the old town. The only room for improvement was those little plastic bottles of soap, lotion, etc. that you can shake and cannot squeeze, making getting the contents out next to impossible. Who invented those things??

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kehoedds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazu247@Hotmail.com
Level Contributor
456 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

It was a good hotel with a friendly staff. But the rooms are small and the bed a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazu247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

This hotel was very reasonably priced for an expensive town. It isnt waterfront but a very short walk to San Sebastian's famous beaches. We checked into a smiling staff, when brought to our room it was small but very clean, but we were dissappointed with the view and we said it out loud. Before the staff put our bags down he said wait let me call down and see if we can improve this- as we were staring out into a dark alley. Within 5 min after being offered a beverage we were moved into a street front room with a large. Balcony and a small view of the beach down the road. Again the rooms are small but very clean and modern. The breakfast was complimentary which is nice and it wasnt fancy but there was definate variety. If I was going to go back I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jess81286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,259 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,033 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#9 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#11 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Codina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Codina

Address: Avenida Zumalacarregui 21, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Codina 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Codina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Codina Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing