We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in a great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Codina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Codina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Codina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Zumalacarregui 21, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Wales
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel in a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We recently stayed in this hotel when we visited San Sebastian for a wedding. It was great value (we booked it through Discount Hotel Reservations (DHR) and perfect for the 3 night stay we had planned. The rooms were clean and very modern and the bathroom was stocked with lots of toiletries if you needed them. One of the added extras was FREE Wi-fi which I found useful. It's a relatively small hotel with a small cafe/bar on one side and the reception on the other. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had hired a car so used the hotel's garage which cost 15 Euros plus tax per day. This was well worth it because parking is at a premium in the area. A buffet breakfast is available for 10 euros and it was perfectly adequate - cereals, pastries, meats, yogurts, cooked ham & eggs etc. The area the hotel is situated in was lovely - lots of shops, cafe's and bars within a short distance. A large supermarket was literally just along the road. We had pinchos at a local bar/restaurant just a few doors up from the hotel and also at a bar called Pepe's which was just along the road the opposite way. San Sebastian centre was approximately a mile from the hotel and is a very pleasant walk along the promenade just by the beach. It's good to join the locals as they stroll along! The Onderetta beach is practically opposite - a 5/10 minute walk. We would defintely stay here again. Recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    103
    40
    8
    3
See reviews for
32
103
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in Hotel Codina for a total of 5 nights over the course of a two week stay in Northern Spain.

Upon our arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist whom was more than willing to deal with our many initial queries. We made our way to our room which had everything you'd need and was immaculately clean. We were located on the top floor, Room 701, which has a spacious balcony with a lovely view of the sea and the surrounding area. Great spot to sit out in the evening with a cold beer. The bathroom had no bath but a good shower, bidet and plenty of towels which were promptly changed every morning. The room had a flat screen t.v and a fridge, which is handy for keeping your own water etc. The double bed was in fact a double bed and not two singles imaginatively tied together, which made for a comfortable nights sleep. The air conditioning also worked perfectly, which is a nice change. The wi-fi was fast and consistent.

Overall it was an excellent experience. There are no leisure facilities but the hotel is excellently positioned in San Sebastian. The buffet breakfast was fresh and for its size had good variety for those who might enjoy a greasy spoon or the healthy option.

Hotel Codina have got the simple things very right and their staff, at all levels, are professional and friendly!

Room Tip: Great balcony in room 701 with a lovely view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Location- slightly out of town (20-30 min walk) but there are frequent buses. Service- quite friendly but lacking basic things (like an iron in each room- there is only one iron in the whole hotel so you need to get it before someone else does!!). Rooms- clean, average size. Value for money- fairly priced- probably what you'd expect for the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you're a non smoker ask not to be on the smoker's floor. Also if you are a couple, specif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

While the room felt like a dorm room, the hotel was perfect. With being only a few blocks from the beach, the location was great. The room was white with no art, but was very clean. The bathroom was large and modern. The bar served wine for $1.10 Euro a glass, which was great after a day on the beach.

I really liked the staff of the hotel. They did a great job helping me with directions and suggestions

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

No surprises at this hotel; it's described well in other comments. We appreciated the space in front to load and unload our luggage in this car-unfriendly city and were happy we reserved a parking space. The staff willingly explained in detail how to take the bus, which stops right in front of the hotel and ends in the old town. The only room for improvement was those little plastic bottles of soap, lotion, etc. that you can shake and cannot squeeze, making getting the contents out next to impossible. Who invented those things??

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cazu247@Hotmail.com
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

It was a good hotel with a friendly staff. But the rooms are small and the bed a bit uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was very reasonably priced for an expensive town. It isnt waterfront but a very short walk to San Sebastian's famous beaches. We checked into a smiling staff, when brought to our room it was small but very clean, but we were dissappointed with the view and we said it out loud. Before the staff put our bags down he said wait let me call down and see if we can improve this- as we were staring out into a dark alley. Within 5 min after being offered a beverage we were moved into a street front room with a large. Balcony and a small view of the beach down the road. Again the rooms are small but very clean and modern. The breakfast was complimentary which is nice and it wasnt fancy but there was definate variety. If I was going to go back I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Codina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Codina

Address: Avenida Zumalacarregui 21, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Codina 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Codina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Codina Hotel San Sebastián Donostia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Codina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.