We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and convenient, but not much more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Husa Europa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Husa Europa to your Saves list
Husa Europa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Martin 52, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice and convenient, but not much more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

There is not much to say about this hotel except that it is conveniently located in the centre of the city, with easy access on foot to the beach and the rest of the town.

If you drove in from somewhere, you can park in the building just a couple of minutes away, otherwise, you do not need a car here.

The room was clean and comfortable, but again, not much to brag about.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    65
    63
    29
    15
See reviews for
32
73
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mullumbimby, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Good Hotel. Good location. Walking distance to everything. We arrived by train and walked easily to it and we left the same way so were wrapt no bus or cab needed. It is just near main beach. Close to all restaurants. It was probably a 5 star hotel about 20 years ago and still has all the fittings that go along with that, however it was clean and big. We were upgraded so enjoyed a suite like room with full bathroom and separate entrance area with a king size bed. Even the old clothes line over the spa. Which we used as we were travelling for a few weeks. All in all I would highly recommend. Staff were helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

It is a three star hotel after all, still, the location is near to perfect. Can confirm the staff is friendly, breakfast is ok, not as poor as mentioned. But the rooms need urgent updating. Room 420 has cracks running from floor to ceiling on one wall, and wall-paper peeling off next to the bed. Rust on the metal tissue box in the bath-room, etc If my company hadn't paid for the room I would have been very dissapointed to stay here. Unfortunately there is not that much hotel-space in San Sebastian, so prices are above normal here, which accounts for the price-cualitiy ratio. Maybe if rooms are updated things might change.

Room Tip: Insist on street facing rooms at least, try to avoid inner court-yard facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful in this extremely well positioned location (basically cross the road and you are at the beach). But for the price I paid, I would expect a lot more amentiy. Five star price, 3 star room. Oh and a bedbug that kept me awake all night. Didn't complain as was only staying for one night.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedad P, Gerente at Husa Europa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, thank you for giving your opinion about our hotel.
We apologize for not having met your expectations. All the opinions allow us to improve and we work to the satisfaction of our guests.
Look forward to your presence at an upcoming occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Excellent staff, they were helpful and considerate they made calls for us to help as we don't speak Spanish and gave us great recommendations of things to do and see. The hotel is tired and beds are rock hard, after 5nights we all are complaining of back ache, it's Really close to the beach. Breakfast and dinning seem very expensive. Lots of little cafés around to eat and drink at. Not bad value for money.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was the second most expensive hotel we stayed in during two months in Europe (second only to the Moscow Hilton) but was one of our least satisfactory experiences. The hotel is in a good location near the old town and the beach. The major issues were the musty smell pervading through the hotel and hotel room and the unsatisfactory air-conditioner. The air-conditioner, even when set to full, couldn't bring the room temperature below 27 degrees meaning it was almost impossible to sleep as I kept waking up sweating. I approached the staff who said they would get someone to fix it the next day. I was checking out that morning and had an early morning train to catch so this was no solution. The volume of street noise meant the windows couldn't be opened as it very loud even with windows closed and air-conditioner rattling. I even considered trying to sleep in the lobby. Given the price of this dated hotel it is terrible value to leave feeling exhausted. Strangely double beds a single very long pillow. Look for better value at another hotel or hostel with a working air-conditioning, helpful staff and fresh smell.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielJEFERECEP, jefe recepción at Husa Europa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, thank you for giving your opinion about our hotel.
We apologize for not having met your expectations. All the opinions allow us to improve and we work to the satisfaction of our guests.
Look forward to your presence at an upcoming occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Not much to say regarding the location... it is in the old town and is close to everything including the wonderful beach "la Concha".
However when I look at the price for a regular room I can not accept the faded walls, outdated furniture and bathroom.
If you must stay in the old part I'd check for alternatives before booking this hotel.
One good thing was that the WiFi worked very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielJEFERECEP, jefe recepción at Husa Europa, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all, thank you for giving your opinion about our hotel.
We apologize for not having met your expectations. All the opinions allow us to improve and we work to the satisfaction of our guests.
Look forward to your presence at an upcoming occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Husa Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Husa Europa

Address: San Martin 52, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Husa Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Husa Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Europa Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Husa Europa San Sebastián Donostia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husa Europa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.