We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really messy hostel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Goiko

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Goiko to your Saves list
Pension Goiko
Calle del puerto, 6, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Salamanca, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A really messy hostel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

When we arrive they received us in the kitchen with a lot dirty clothes on the table. There was no reception desk at all. Actually, it was impossible to figure it out who were the people working there. They don't use credit cards not even debit cards. The towels they rent had an awful smell. And it was really expensive for such a dreadful place and impossible to sleep because of the noise. At least the room was clean.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    9
    9
    7
See reviews for
5
20
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hello !
This place is well situated, right in the center of San Sebastian but it's the only good stuff about it.
Otherwise it's very noisy (inside and outside) and very much unorganised. And please check your account ! I was charged without notice what I had already paid.
Anyway, have a nice trip in San Sebastian !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

I might be bias because we LOVED San Sebastian. But this place was great! Location perfect. People who work there were lovely. Very chill but could have been a little more clean. Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Great location in the Old Town but the service is non existant!!! They purposely over book the rooms and then refer you to their other hostel in which you have to pay more. Bathrooms are dirty and you have to supply your own toilet paper because they rarely clean/restock the bathrooms. The kitchen, reception, laundry & common room is all 1 room there is no where you can just chill out unless you decide to lock yourself in your room. I had to sleep on a camping bed with extremely thin matress. I won't be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

The place is nice and clean, great location. If your room is anywhere near the street you will be exposed to loud noise from foot traffic and garbage trucks during the night. There isn't any other services like a common room. But for the price and location you can't really expect anything more.

Room Tip: Try and get one away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

The best thing about Goiko is the location right in the heart of the old town. The room itself was basic but comfortable with a very basic breakfast included downstairs in the hostel section. Overall it was a comfortable stay for budget travellers

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

After waiting for almost 45 mins on the street waiting to be let into the hostel reception had to end up phoning so we could be let in. We were then informed that we would not be staying at Pension Goiko in the old town (as we had booked) but we were to be staying in another building owned by the same management about 10 minutes away. It ended up being a room downstairs of an old Spanish lady's house (this lady was very lovely). However, we had no kitchen facilities and no internet for two days which was unacceptable. The room was fine and we did have our own ensuite in another room, however it felt like we were being intrusive and couldnt make any noise and we got in trouble when we had a friend come over for a few moments before we went down to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Goiko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Goiko

Address: Calle del puerto, 6, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Pension Goiko esta en el casco antiguo de San Sebastian, a 2 minutos a pie del puerto y la playa de La Concha. Ofrece conexion Wi-Fi gratuita y habitaciones sencillas. Algunas tienen bano privado y otras, bano compartido. Todas las habitaciones disponen de calefaccion y la mayoria incluye TV. Pueden dar a la calle o al interior. Los banos compartidos estan equipados con ducha. La pension Goiko esta en el centro, a pocos pasos de muchas tiendas, bares y restaurantes. Hay guardaequipaje y mostrador de informacion turistica, donde se pueden alquilar bicicletas. Se ofrece servicio de enlace con el aeropuerto por un suplemento. La estacion de tren de San Sebastian se encuentra a 15 minutos a pie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Goiko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Goiko, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.