We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra to your Saves list
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Bridgeport, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I can not praise this hotel enough! We checked in at 1pm and our room was ready. We ordered a bottle of Cava for the room and it was brought up immediately. Our room was on the fourth floor and the sea view was fantastic. It's definitely worth paying a little more for. The moment we got to our room, we knew we would want to stay more than one night. The room was bright and clean and the bathroom was marble and beautiful. The front desk staff were very helpful and friendly. The bar served me the biggest gin and tonic I've ever had! The underground parking is public and reasonably close by. I can't wait to go back.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hadley311, we can’t wait to welcome you back! Thank you so much for you great feedback.

Best Regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    432
    91
    23
    9
See reviews for
186
626
29
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is a top notch hotel in the perfect location, right on the beach in San Sebastian. We had a suite overlooking the beach and harbor, and the views by day though great, were trumped by the magnificent sunsets over the water come evening. The staff was attentive for the most part and professional. It was not cheap, but you can argue that you do get what you pay for. I would stay there again for sure.

Room Tip: Face the water if at all possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear sbcbonds,

Thank you so much for such great feedback. I’m happy to read that you would not doubt about staying at our hotel again. Look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is wonderful! Our memories of a lifetime of San Sebastián started the minute we stepped into the door of this fabulous hotel! Our plush, large, ocean view room was simply breathtaking as we opened the door to our oven view with balcony doors that opened right up to the bay and surrounding vistas! We kept our balcony doors open all night to enjoy the sea breeze and drifted asleep to the sound of the waves lapping against the shore! The entire staff were wonderfully accommodating especially the lovely concierge, Leire who helped us set up a walking food tour in old town. What was most impressive to me and my Husband who is particular about service was the cocktail bottle service at the outdoor patio! Elegance! Pure luxury and perfection. This is a cocktail worth the wait! The server brings the entire bottle, pours a generous goblet with the ingredients and gently stirs with a long spoon! We will miss that kind of luxury and service here in the states. This hotel is located close to Old Town, City Center (shopping!!), and the surfer's beach is just a nice 15 min walk away! We would return tomorrow if we could!!

Room Tip: An ocean view room is pure heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear CzechMate2010,

Such a great title: “Luxury, elegance, exceptional service in a perfect location!”!! Can not hope a better feedback.

Look forward to welcome you back in San Sebastian.

Best regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansbach, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This is a wonderful hotel. It is in the absolute best location. The beach is right out the door and the downtown area is a lovely walk away. The hotel is charming and the rooms are big and very comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. They provided great restaurant recommendations too. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Annet443,

Thank you so much for your enthusiastic feedback and for recommending our hotel!

Hope to see you again soon at our hotel.

Best regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located at the beach, yet near to all the restaurants and night life in the old town. The room I had was comfortable, clean, and quiet, even though it faced the city. All of the employees of the hotel were friendly, warm, helpful, and knowledgeable. I would not consider staying anywhere else in San Sebastián.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear SJCSantaMonica_CA,
Your last sentence makes me feel so proud! We are very happy to read that hotel de Londres is you n1 choice in San Sebastian.

Look forward to welcome you back soon then!

Best Regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The location is the best thing about this hotel. The service was good, wifi functioned well. The hotel is also child-friendly. The views from the sea side rooms are great. I would recommend it to someone traveling to San Sebastián.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElenaEstomba, General Manager at Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear kdrNewYork

Thank you so much for recommending our hotel to the tripadvisor community!

Look forward to welcome you back in San Sebastian.

Kind regards,

Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Hotel Londres etc etc is a really nice hotel in San Sebastian. It is probably one of the best and is certainly in the best position of any hotel round the bay.... hotels round the main bay are few and far between so unless you can find a unit/flat etc then there is none better than Hotel Londres if you want a 4 or 5 star hotel.

We booked for two days in a room with a view (203 but not sure). The room is great and the view is as good as it gets. Price was good at 203 euros for one night and 177 euros for the other. We booked directly through the hotel as (being former hotel owners) we hate having to pay 10% commission to the agents.

Unfortunately on the first day my wife had problems which ended up with hospitalisation for two days... Hotel Londres was excellent as they called the taxi which took my wife to the hospital so no problems there.

Obviously we had to extend our stay and as Hotel Londres is pretty damn good I asked if there were rooms for us. Yes they said but we will have to change rooms. Absolutely no problem there as this is a popular hotel and we were delighted they still had a room for us.

The room? Same floor, opposite side. I think it is room 2011. There is a huge balcony looking over the back which was really nice (beware incidentally of the morons who chuck cigarettes from higher levels which lands on your balcony.... they're probably French.... heh heh heh.

The room is a disabled room with electronic buttons everywhere.

Here you go: Open the front door and enter into the alcove. The door is closed. Notice that there are buttons. Press one and the door to the main bedroom opens. Go in... the door immediately closes behind you.... aaargh... notice there is another button and press it. Door opens and you go back into the alcove..... the door then immediately closes and you are stuck in a 3 metre square area with all doors closed. Press all buttons in sight. Toilet door then opens. In you go and sit down to work out what buttons do what. Press button and toilet door opens and bedroom door opens for a few seconds then closes.... too late you b..s..t....r...ds. Try again you diddies.

Over 24 hours we never did work out which buttons did what.... I think we are reasonably intelligent but neither of us ever worked out which button did what..... gods help what a disabled person would do.

I do accept that the hotel was full. The room iself was still of a high standard. It did after all include an iPad, free bottled water and various other extras including the balcony but....

The staff did know that my wife was in hospital with heart problems and I honestly cannot understand why they put us into this room rather than telling us that it may not be suitable for someone who had just returned from hospital and could be a tad stressed.

Mind you... it is highly possible that no one else has complained about the room and Hotel Londres just doesn't know about it.

Room Tip: The hotel is as close as you could get to the beachfront. Pay extra if you want a view but it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.