We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely even in the rain!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra to your Saves list
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely even in the rain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We had booked this lovely room with deck-chairs and we dreamed about laying in them in the sun. Unfortunately, it rained during the stay. However, the hotel is so nice and comforting, with this charming bar so we survived. We'll be back when the weather is better!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    430
    91
    23
    9
See reviews for
185
623
29
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We had 2 nights at Hotel Londres. First night in a city view, second in a sea view. Both rooms equally comfortable, but worth the extra for sea view. We stayed in 4 hotels during our trip by car to the Basque and Castilla y Leon regions and this was the best. Staff were polite, helpful and efficient, both front of house and the restaurant and bar. The rooms - with 2 easy chairs, lacked nothing and we like classical elegance. Breakfast and dinner were excellent and the bar prices competitive. In all, a really well run hotel.
As we use WiFi mainly for our email when travelling, we had no problem with it and signal everywhere was excellent.
The view over the bay was beautiful and the hotel within easy walking distance of the delights of the old town. I would recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Hotel is brilliantly located. We took a room with a sea view which was spectacular. The hotel is very well maintained. Its a bit pricy but definitely worth every penny. The front desk were most helpful in organizing our tour to Rioja and recommending Pintxo bars in the old town. We highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Higher floor and sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicheno, Tas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful. Location is unbeatable being right in town, on the promenade and the beach. It's only a short stroll to anywhere. We are a party of 5 with 3 rooms. I've seen a double room, a single and a suite, they're all high standard and spacious. The hotel is well maintained and I'd highly recommend it on a trip to this wonderful city.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollerau, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The best location anywhere on the Promenade, quiet, spectacular view of the bay. Of course, this hotel is pricy but worth it with one exception. WIFI did only work for Spanish sites; international sites could not be accessed whereas at the Café on the promenade it worked perfectly well. For this kind of a price I would definitely expect a full functioning WIFI in room and reception area!

Room Tip: worth paying extra money for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

First thing travelers should be aware of is that it could smell in the room (because of the old infrastructure or whatever else). We had to overnight with the balcony door open because of the odor. I can't call it sleeping since we could here everything happening outside. Secondly, the value for money we paid for the room is poor. Furniture is outdated, generally, it is not very well cleaned. What stroke me is also the personnel. One girl at the reception was an intern and did not know how to help. Other members of staff were not that welcoming as I would expect them to be in a 4star hotel. However, the location of the hotel is great.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel de Londres in late April 2014 and were very pleased with our spacious room, which faced the bay and had a small balcony. If we had noisy neighbors, we didn't notice them, having had such active days that we slept soundly--and quite comfortably-- once we called it a day. Fortunately, we didn't encounter any large tour groups. We ate two breakfasts at the hotel and because we had an early train to catch on the third morning, we asked for breakfast sacks to go. Those were waiting for us when we came downstairs to leave for the station. All three meals seemed somewhat overepriced by US standards, but the service both in the dining room and at the desk was prompt and courteous. I'm glad we chose to stay at the Londres.

Room Tip: A sea view room is well worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.