We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't book until Spring of 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra to your Saves list
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Don't book until Spring of 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed one night in December 2012. Hotel undergoing renovations and ocean view, although more expensive, was essential. City view rooms were draped for the construction but our room was beautiful, overlooking the beach, with spectacular views in the morning. Very convenient to the shopping district and interior is well appointed. Hotel will be closed in January but when it reopens, it is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Pay for the ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    465
    95
    24
    9
See reviews for
203
669
33
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have stayed here twice and it is great. Beautiful late 19th century decor similar to the famous grand hotels of the era, with old fashioned lifts and mahogany panelling, the hotel is straight out of an old hollywood movie. The rooms are thoroughly modern with great bathrooms and the views are either looking out over the bay, a view similar to Rio da Janeiro. The views out the back look inwards on the town centre. If you are staying un July book a sea view room well in advance as there is a wonderful fireworks festival on for a week. The brasserie is also excellent and the old world bar is the perfect place to wind down.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our second time in the Londres (the first was in September). They have started work on the outside (noted on their website) which means that rooms overlooking the town have obscured views until around March 2013. This time we therefore chose a sea-view room, overlooking La Concha beach, and were not disappointed. The view is truly magnificent over the bay to the islands and well worth the extra cost. These rooms are airy and bright and with large, comfortable beds. The other good reason for being here is the position - five minutes walk from the old town with its range of tapas bars although there are very good ones just a few steps from the hotel (La Espiga for example). Another top recommendation is La Perla restaurant, only two minutes walk along the promenade from the hotel - check out the fixed lunch. Good shopping is to be had nearby as well. Parking is convenient in a well-lit underground public car park, a minute's walk from the hotel entrance. Staff are helpful and pleasant, organising restaurant bookings and advising on the nearest banks, shopping etc. We will be definitely be returning in late January on our annual Winter migration to Portugal.

Room Tip: Go for a sea-view room - it's worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I chose to pay a little extra for a room that would overlook the bay. We are experienced travellers. Even though we received what we had paid, for it still took my breath away when we arrived. The room was small but beautifully decorated. We had two lounge chairs (unlike most hotels) and a little table at a full length glass door with a balcony. The view was gorgeous and well worth the money. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice. My only complaint was not the hotel, but there was an event on the Saturday night on the ground floor and the smokers congregated outside the door of the hotel. Going in and out we had to push through the smoking area which was both unpleasant and unhealthy. It would be nice if the hotel asked people to stand further away when smoking to allow the hotel guests the chance to enter and exit the hotel without hassle.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room overlooking the bay. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We loved both San Sebastian and the Hotel de Londres. We had a European-small room on a high floor with a small juliet balcony and a fantastic view of the beach & bay. The room was very functional, comfortable bedding; could use a sprucing up. The staff in the hotel was great, almost everyone (except one atypically surly front desk fellow) very friendly & helpful. So great to just grab a beach towel and walk across the pedestrian road to the beautiful swimming beach any time of day. If you are driving, be sure to reserve a hotel parking space. We had not been asked if we wanted this, and didn't know we needed it, but the staff nevertheless immediately took care of the car for us. Hotel is in a perfect location on the beach and a maximum 10 minute walk to the Parte Vieja. San Sebasitan itself is a dream in the summertime -- the restaurants are astonishing. Don't miss it.

Room Tip: Must face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We booked the hotel using Tripadviser and we were very happy with the choice particularly as it is sited right on the beach in Donista. It's quaint 1930-40's style is still very appealing.
Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean and had a good sized bathroom. The restaurant for breakfast was very good and the bar area is a relaxing place to spend some time!
The people on reception were friendly and helpful, especially Juan!
The only issue we had was that our room, which was sited on the town end of the hotel, was completely covered by scaffolding and cloth hording - the hotel is obviously doing some renovation and our view from three balconies was completed blocked! There was no mention of this on the website when we booked [but I believe it is mentioned now], nor were we advised when we booked in. At book-out, I requested a discount as we were being charged the same room rate as our travelling friends who had a complete beach view from their suite.Our room rated was discounted but [still to be resolved], our travelling friends were charged a higher rate than that quoted at the time of making the booking!
This was an unfortunate end to our 5 days stay, which we otherwise, really enjoyed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with extremely attentive and polite staff. We enjoyed every minute of our stay.

Exceptional view of the beach from our room. The room itself was very spacious not only for European standards, but also for US. We travel quite a bit and this hotel has met and exceeded all our expectations. Little touches like complimentary beach towels at the front desk and plenty of of toiletries in the bathroom definitely set this hotel apart from others.

We made online reservations for three rooms and had absolutely no problems checking in.

Weil ldefinitely stay there again when we return to the area!

Room Tip: The shower setup is not well throught-through. The water leaks out to the bathroom floor. Easy fix...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Escapio so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.