We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delusions of grandeur.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra to your Saves list
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Delusions of grandeur.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Don't get me wrong, it's a perfectly good hotel. But its just marketed wrong, as it's just not a boutique hotel. It's a place that 30years ago would have been 5*. But now it's all just a bit tired and dated. Having said that the location is second to none and it's in an amazing city, so who knows, perhaps they can get away with it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    503
    97
    27
    10
See reviews for
213
728
34
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This hotel really is in the most perfect location. The rooms are huge and have wonderful views of the beach. The front desk staff are very helpful considering how busy they are. We felt really at home and would definately return.

Room Tip: Corner or front rooms, splurge on a suite, they are inexpensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We enjoyed the very beautiful view of this very nice hotel in a nice town for a reasonable price. The hotel is situated at the bay of La Concha directly at the promenade. The breakfast was very good. For parking you have to give your carkeys to the very helpfull personell and they will park your car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akershus, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Perfect location
Nice room with an excellent view to the sea.
Short distances to everything.
We didn't try the restaurant, but the ba was ok.
The staff were friendly.
The WiFi worked fine.
I we ever visit San Sebastian again, we will stay at Londres.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a nice room with balcony over the plaza. Good value for your money. What's really special though is the location. Just a few meters from the fantastic beach and within walking distance to the Old Town and the best pintxos bars.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

You can't beat the location. Get the room facing the beach if you want good views and breeze at night. The room is small but comfortable. The concierge is helpful but totally understaffed. It will take half an hr to get your car ready. I will not take the breakfast - decent but expensive. There are wonderful cafes around the corner.

Room Tip: Third floor is better than second or third.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The rooms facing the street are ok - but next time I would pay more for a sea view - in saying that - the rooms are lovely.

The best part about the hotel is the lobby bar - it is just stunning - overlooking the ocean - and the drink waiters are very genourous with the vodka - you just say when - not good for my hangover - but brilliant value for money and quite funny.

It is on the beach, it is a 5 min walk to Old Town, it is close to everything - I just loved it.

San Sebastian is a brilliant place.

The staff were quite nice, nothing special - but pleasant.

I wish I was there now - a terrific hotel

One warning - we booke a driver from Birraritz to San Sebatian on line from Australia - there was 4 of us travelling - he was ok picking us up - but forgot to get us back to the airport - it was SO stressful - we caught a cab - it was $100 Euro - which was not much more than the driver - and he drove us there at 120 KM an hour so we JUST made our flight - lesson learned - catch a cab...

GREAT fun - and make sure you book Muggaritz - wow - best dining ever!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra

Address: Calle de Zubieta, 2, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Abba Hotels - Londres y de Inglaterra)
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Londres y de Ingleterra is a luxury 4 star boutique hotel located right in front of the beach of the La Concha bay of San Sebastian - Donostia. Our beautiful location on the Basque Country coast and comfortable hotel rooms with stunning sea view makes the hotel perfect for a romantic weekend escape or relaxing summer vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Escapio, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.