We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donastia/San Sebastian Value in a Nice Neighborhood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu to your Saves list
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vitoria-Gasteiz, 1, 20018 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly NH Aranzazu)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Donastia/San Sebastian Value in a Nice Neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

NH is a solid business travelers hotel chain that we have used whenever possible and have been pleased. This Donastia location is particularly good because it is in an upscale residential neighborhood with good restaurants across the street--and walking distance to the old town and all the tourist activities. Again, walking three miles a day really helps keeping up with the calories involved in a serious study of the pinxcho culture in Basque country. Why need more restaurants? Inexpensive cafe con leche and tortilla for breakfast instead of the hotel buffet and after a big afternoon of studying in the old town and a nap, it's good to wake up about 9 PM and go across the street for a snack or light dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    351
    92
    24
    10
See reviews for
162
332
30
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here for three nights while attending the San Sebastian Film Festival. I checked-in extremely early but the receptionist was happy to let me have my room which is always welcome. The room was excellent, very comfortable, all amenities and a great bathroom. Air conditioning worked well too. The breakfasts were great with decent times well into the morning to eat. The Hotel is about a 30-40 minute walk to the Old Town but there's plenty of buses and it is a great walk along the beachfront. Nothing seemed too much trouble during my stay here and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

After having stayed in a NH hotel in Frankfurt it was a great surprise to find that this one was really nice and the rooms were not so much like a travel-lodge offering. Staff were really helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The hotel has secure parking and is a 5 minute walk to the beach. We had dinner there which was excellent value. Although the brochure in the room said wi-fi was chargeable if you speak to reception they will give you logon details for free.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This hotelis a bit of a way out of the centre of San Sebastian but it is a short walk to the bus stop which takes you directly into town and all the buses we took stopped near the Old Town. It is a 10 minute walk to the beach and about 15 minutes to the cable car for a trip up to a spectacular viewing point. There are two bars immediately opposite the hotel which we used for breakfast each morning - we prefer a simple spanish breakfast to hotel meals. We parked in the hotel basement for an additional 16Euro per night.

The hotel rooms are basic but clean and comfortable and double glazing means they are quiet. This is a good hotel to sleep and shower in, but not a destination in itself.

We can't comment on the hotel food as we did not eat there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Perfect hotel for us....easy close walk to the beach, 2 blocks to the local bus direct to Old Town, and 2 great little restaurants opposite the front door! Cheap safe and much less expensice parking was just around the corner.....As to the hotel the renovated and updated rooms were colorful, efficient, with great showers. Everything was clean and very comfortable. Front desk staff really knew the town and had excellent suggestions from jazz, food and shopping to next town to visit.... Leketio. This hotel worked and after several evenings of "cute, quaint boutique hotels" with poor beds, noisey rooms,and lousey airconditioning (for the same price) we were thrilled to be in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were visiting San Sebastian (Donostia) on business for a couple of days. We booked into the Aranzazu which is based in a quiet neighbourhood only a short walk from the beach and the bay. The Hotel is both very clean and comfortable and the staff were very helpful on the occasions that we needed to ask for, or about anything. We took breakfast in the spacious dining room which offered a good choice for starting the day. There were only a few staff on duty but this did not prevent them from offering a good quality service. Most of the staff in the Hotel spoke English and Spanish but reacted warmly when I tried out my basic Basque, the official language. The Hotel offered basic business facilities and Internet access at a moderate rate. The area is well served by small cafes' and restaurants and for those with time and energy can walk to the old City in about 45 minutes. So money well spent on this pleasant Hotel in a safe and attractive area. A definite for my next visit.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The renewed rooms are very nice !
Bright colors, modern equipement. The renewed bathroom is great and the rainshower is wonderful.
Perfect location, close to the beach and at there is a bus stop very closeby. You can easily walk to the city centre as well.
We particularly enjoyed the renewed junior suite.
Wifi was very expensive and slow but we learned today that it will be for free in all NH hotels as from today.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu

Address: Vitoria-Gasteiz, 1, 20018 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly NH Aranzazu)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#2 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#4 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu is a four-star establishment in San Sebastian, Spain, located in the calm Antiguo residential neighborhood just outside the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Aranzazu Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Nh Hotels San Sebastián Donostia
Nh Aranzazu San Sebastián Donostia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.