We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take the Time to Visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Telmo Museoa

San Telmo Museoa
Zuloaga Plaza, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
(00 34) 943 48 15 80
Website
Improve this listing
Visit San Telmo Museoa like an insider
$343*
and up
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Take the Time to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was raining when we ventured out to the museum so we chose a good time to go, its well worth the time and money to see this beautiful museum and its treasures.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    58
    18
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
453 reviews 453 reviews
159 attraction reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Great museum for such a mid-sized city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are museum buffs. Try to visit as many as we can while traveling. This one is wonderfully curated with a blend of historical and current. Did not know much about Basque art, but this museum provided great primer for uneducated like myself. Museum nominated for European Museum of the year for 2013. Not hard to see why!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Rainy day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We spent a good 4 hours in here and it is well worth visiting, we had a break half way through and went to the cafe opposite, lovely tortilla and te rejo and coffee. I found the stone lifting very interesting.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed this museum with its blend of old convent, new additions, old artifacts and interactive displays.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We went to see the farm utensils and cultural artifacts, but learned a lot about early Basque trade, seafaring and exploration from the museum's up-to-the minute interactive displays. (Luckily, there was a 10-year-old next to us, who showed us how to navigate the Apple-like touch screens!).. At the end there is a lovely short film which shows the same Basque family farm over 4 generations. There is also a small collection of Medieval paintings , and an interesting , quite beautiful collection of headstones (stele) , and a wing of Basque artists.
I also loved how the exhibits are integrated into the convent and church space.
Plan to spend several hours , and you will be richly rewarded.!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flensburg, Germany
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Paul R”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Good museum in an old convent giving an overview of the city's and the Basque's history and culture. 2-3 hours are enough.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Telmo Museoa also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 

Been to San Telmo Museoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Telmo Museoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.