We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, close to beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Orly

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp Orly to your Saves list
Tryp Orly
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Zaragoza 4, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL OFFER
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location, close to beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Tryp Orly is in a great location, close to the beach, promenade and a short walk to the old town. It was very good being able to park our car underneath the hotel in the car park. All rooms seemed to have a nice outlook, some with a better view than others. The hotel itself is looking a bit tired. To get to the (small and old) lift, you have to take your bags up a some stairs. This is an unusual set up and unfortunately no staff offered to help. This didn't give a very warm welcome on arrival. Wi-fi was frustratingly slow or non-existent.

Room Tip: Rooms at the beach end obviously have a much better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny_Sydney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp Orly, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello Jenny_Sydney5,

Every comment we receive is invaluable for us and I would like to tell you that all the reviews are considered and studyed by our Guest Experience and Operations department

Your cooperation is very important for us because our objective is to do it better each time.

Regads,

Luis Torrico
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Québec
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Pros:
- Well located. Near the beach (1 min walk) and the old town (10 min walk).
- Good service at the reception desk.
- Clean.
- Good sized rooms.
- Good breakfast buffet (eggs, meat, pastries, bread, fruits juices, coffee, etc.)
- Free WIFI with decent speed.

Cons:
- Rooms aren't soundproof. You can clearly hear your neighbours.
- Very small elevators.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YannLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp Orly, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello YannLC,

We love to hear you are happy with us.

We look forward to your next visit to San Sebastián, where we hope you will enjoy our breakfast, now expanded and with new products, really appetizing

Thanks!!!

Luis Torrico
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

the hotel is very well located, and because it occupies the last 4 or 5 floors the view is great. needs some renovation but in a great shape. we did not have the breakfast ( 19 Euro) it is a little expensive, many good places around to eat

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Helpful?
Thank Saadallah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp Orly, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello Saadallah,

Firstly we would like to thank you for having stayed at Tryp San Sebastian Orly.

We would also like to let you know that we sincerely appreciate your opinion in Tripadvisor.

Regards,

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were driving from The Pyrenees to Bilbao, and realized we had missed one day in our itinerary and had no booking for the night! We chose San Sebastian rather than Biarritz as it was on our "must-visit" list. After a few other hotel viewings, we stumbled upon the Tryp Orly.
The lobby was dismal and the desk clerk was frazzled, but we lucked out with a over-sized, ocean view room at what we considered to be a pretty good rate for a walk-in. The room was clean and well appointed like a chain hotel - no surprises. It is located 5-10 minutes from the old city, a few steps from the sea-wall promenade, across the street from the more expensive waterfront hotels. Parking was available (for a price) underground which was a bonus as many hotels in Spain do not have this to offer. Value was good and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible, facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzydVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp Orly, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello Lizzydvancouver,

My name is Luis Torrico and I am the hotel manager. It was a pleasure to hear from you.Thank you for your kind comments which I shall share with my colleagues.

It would be a pleasure to see you on your next visit.
Your sincerely

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spent two nights at Orly Hotel. The location is superb ... virtually on the sea front, but only 10 minute walk to the Old Town. Reception welcome was excellent, with clear ideas and advice as to what to do and where to go. Great mini suite with superb views, clean, comfortable and good facilities. Good range at breakfast in a bright, modern area. It was a bit 'cramped' on Sunday morning, but the hotel was fully booked. Car parking at the hotel was a bonus, but a bit pricey at €22 a day.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basil_peacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp Orly, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello Basil_peacock,

Many thanks for your comments!!!

We would like to let you know that we sincerely appreciate your opinion in Tripadvisor.

Your cooperation is very important for us because our objective is to do it better each time.

Regards,

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Had a lovely weekend in San Sabastian the hotel Tryp Orly was clean and tidy, a very well appointed room however the air conditioning unit was worse than useless. We had a corner mini suite which had an absolutely amazing view. Breakfast was in a very modern dinning room, the food was very nicely presented and tasty.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp Orly, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello Laurie R,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay in our hotel whilst visiting our city. I am grateful to you for your comments via Tripadvisor, as we wish very much to meet all of our customers’ expectations.
I bitterly regret the inconveniences we have caused. We wish to let you know that we will be doing everything we can to resolve these matters.
I would very much wish to see you once again in the hotel, and it would give me immense pleasure to welcome you personally.
Yours sincerely


Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Hotel was clean with a reasonably large room and the staff were very helpful, the location is great being very close to the beach and a nice but short walk to the Old town, breakfast was ok, I would stay again if I ever go back there

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sambo_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp Orly, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello Sambo 64,

Your words are music to our ears.

Thanks a lot Sambo 64! We love waking up with these comments

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
1.1 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#3 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury C...
#1 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#9 of 49 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Orly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Orly

Address: Plaza de Zaragoza 4, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Orly 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Tryp Orly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Orly Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Tryp San Sebastián Donostia
Tryp Hotel Orly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing