We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value in an excellent location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Orly

Save Saved
You added Tryp Orly to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Tryp Orly
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Zaragoza 4, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value in an excellent location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

San Sebastián is a grand and popular place and thus prices can be high. However, the Tryp Orly represents excellent value for money; it's a proper, four star hotel with three star prices and the location is fabulous, just a stone's throw from the seafront. The bedroom was well-appointed, though the walls were a bit scuffed in places, and had a lovely sea view. The bathroom, while small, was good quality. There were free afternoon soft drinks and coffee in the foyer - a very nice touch - and the breakfast was generous and stylishly presented. This is an excellent hotel for the price and we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp Orly, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hello Courtly,

My name is Luis Torrico. I'm general manager at Tryp San Sebastián Orly.

Thank you very much Courtly! There is no better way to start the day reading these comments.

We look forward to your next visit to San Sebastián. Don´t forget to contact us in advance and we will try to give you one of our junior suites, at the top of the hotel so you can try them

Thanks!!!!

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    97
    74
    32
    13
See reviews for
38
120
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Spain
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel is really close to the beach, and therefore is located in an excellent place to discover the old part of San Sebastian or simply walk by the seaside. Although it has been refurbished, there are still some elements which remind you that the hotel is not new (elevators); even facing the beach and by a road, rooms are quiet...except for the noise coming from other rooms, I could hear my neighbour's shower really close.
The personnel was really friendly, there is free wifi and the breakfast buffet was very excellent, one of the best I have recently seen. All this at a reasonable cost, which is always important.
On the con's side: the hotel doesn't have any kind fitness facility (just in case you can't enjoy a run by the beach because of weather) and the parking was really expensive

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high as possible, and facing the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp Orly, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Andy_iq:

Another pleasant comment!!!!!.

It is very important to us this gift to our daily effort.

Thank you again! You are our dream come true.

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Picked this hotel due to location, reviews and availability. We were very happy with our stay from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. When we arrived the check in desk was a little overwhelmed with a number of demanding groups, but the young man at the desk was never phased and very helpful. Our room was a superior suite at the front of the hotel with great views over the beach and the old town. Room was clean and quiet. Never had a problem with anything. Had the breakfast buffet, great selection and lovely, attentive staff. Finally a big thank-you to the young man on the front desk who would always find us a glass of milk for tea in our room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first level are smoking , all other levels are non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp Orly, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello Iamslowee,

I would like to introduce myself. My name is Luis Torrico. I'm am General Manager at Tryp San Sebastián Orly.

What a lovely message!!!!!

We love you so much that there are no words to describe it, just actions to prove it. We look forward to see you again.

Thanks!!!!!!

Luis Torrico
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Staff was friendly, and a great location about a block from the beach, however room had mold and was outdated. They also don't explain not to use the stairs or you will be stuck in a hallway between floors. This happened to my husband and I when we decided to walk outside for a late dinner around 10:30pm. We went down a flight of around 6 floors only to find no doors opened on the ground floor for the lobby nor to the other hotel floors! Finally found a single door that was open to the street- but first we had to figure out how to open a huge complicated gate. It was a bit scary. We later found out that some of floors are condos and that this is done for safety. They should tell their guests not to use the stairs to avoid what happened to us!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view if available. Don't use the stairs! (See above)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp Orly, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Gina 1559,

Thanks for your comments, which help us to improve every day.
We are glad that the staff were to your liking. Will let you know my colleges.
As you say it is better to use the elevators to the stairs, as the hotel starts from the 8th floor.
So we have the best views of San Sebastian!.
I regret any inconvenience this may have cause you. We will be more vigilant in reception.
Best regards and hope to see you again here.
Thank you!

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel is in a great central location, a short walk to everywhere. The staff are friendly & helpful. The breakfasts have a great variety of choices.
We had booked a Premium Sea View Room 8 months ago via a travel agent, Totally Spain, and had paid in full 3 months ago. The room advertised and pictured on the internet is a spacious room with 2 double windows facing a fabulous view of the Playa de la Concha. On arrival we asked about the possibility of upgrading to a Junior Suite and were told the hotel was fully booked and that we had a lovely room. What we got was not my idea of a lovely room, we had a very pokey corner room with one window overlooking part of the sea, nothing like the internet advertised "Premium Sea View Room". We could take turns looking at the view and once our bags were in the room it was a very cramped space. This was our last stop in Spain and by this time we had realised that most of the rooms booked by Totally Spain were usually the least impressive hotel room in the price bracket we had paid, even though we had upgraded to better quality rooms and booked and paid months in advance.
On checkout I was asked to pay for my upgrade - that was quickly sorted out as already being paid. But after that I did inform the reception that I thought our room was falsely classified and charged as a Premium Sea View room as it was too cramped and had only limited views and in my opinion therefore falsely advertised. He said it was all that was available at the time of booking. This was rubbish - we booked 8 months prior & paid in full 3 months prior & a number of similar rooms were still available on the internet right up until our stay.
The corner rooms are numbers 01; 06; 09 & 15 - avoid at all costs!!!!
Looking forward to your reply Luis

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp Orly, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Hello Holidaybell,
It is a real pleasure to answer your comments and also your customers´comments
We cannot forget we exist because of you. We are glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and service.
We would like to know anything else about the bedroom you stayed, because all our Premium Vista´s room have a beautiful view of the Concha´s beach. We apologize if we made some mistake.
If it happens that you come again, we will offer you one better bedroom and we will serve you as you deserve.
We regret any inconvenience caused and we are here to help you.
All the best,

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Location is great! Middle of the beach is basically across the street (though other side of buildings), very short walk to old town, the river, and other sites.

They provide beach towels at the front desk, don't worry about sneaking a room towel out. :)

After those positives it goes down hill. Reception was very slow when we checked in and appeared to be when I saw others checking in. Also got short one word answers which were not helping our questions.

Bathroom had what look like mold or mildew above the shower that tried to be cleaned up very half assed.

Vinyl or some other type of flooring covered the rest of the room, which after a couple days there just felt uncomfortable. Yeah, a little picky, but spend a few days in a place at their rates and you'll see.

They also have a known issue with room keys demagnetizing. Had to get ours reprogrammed 3 times in as many days.

All in all, the mold/mildew in the bathroom really was unacceptable, the other issues were minor but worth noting. Location is great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp Orly, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello Abe s,

Thank you for your comments.

Every comment we receive is invaluable for us and I would like to tell you that all the reviews are considered and studyed by our Guest Experience and Operations department.

I bitterly regret the inconveniences we have caused. We wish to let you know that we will be doing everything we can to resolve these matters.
I would very much wish to see you once again in the hotel, and it would give me immense pleasure to welcome you personally.

Regards,

Luis Torrico
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The hotel is very well located. Our room was well sized, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast buffet was especially good and included smoked salmon, which we found at no other hotel that we stayed at during this trip to Spain. Staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisTorrico, Director General at Tryp Orly, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello TWalls_11,

My name is Luis Torrico. I'm general manager at Tryp San Sebastian Orly.

These comments encourage us to continue carrying out our daily work and provide our passionate travelers visiting the city, unforgettable experiences.

Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tryp Orly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Orly

Address: Plaza de Zaragoza 4, 20007 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Orly 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Melia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Tryp Orly reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Orly Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Tryp San Sebastián Donostia
Tryp Hotel Orly

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Orly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.