We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian to your Saves list
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, E-20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay at this beautiful hotel. We arrived after 10pm on Saturday night after getting the bus from Bilbao airport (very easy and even got the earlier bus as the flight was half an hour early!). The late hour didn't impact the warm welcome and easy checkin. Our room was very spacious, great storage, and well appointed with a big bed and very large bathroom. There was also a welcome treat of half a bottle of Rioja and some cheese. When we couldn't get the cork out of the bottle I popped down to reception and they took me to the bar where the main bar tender happily demonstrated the right technique and gave me a stronger opener for next time. All very friendly and no trouble. This continued to be our experience of the staff especially in the bar throughout our stay.
We tried the buffet breakfast on the first morning and the room was lovely with a huge choice ( I especially liked the custard tart). They didn't offer the menu for the cooked breakfast options but happily delivered the requested items when we picked it up. It was a relaxing start to the day but too much food for every day, especially with so much good food in San Sebastian.
Hotel is in a great spot next to the river with sea views and just a step to the beach, old and newer towns.
Wonderful - we hope to return soon!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    137
    38
    18
    6
See reviews for
105
517
27
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We loved the Maria Cristina and we really enjoyed San Sebastian! The hotel is beautiful, with lots of old world charm. We were fortunate enough to be there during a town celebration, with hundreds of gigante dancing down the streets - it was such a fantastic treat! Overall, this was a great hotel in a very good location - easy walking to the beach and to old town yet far enough away to be nice and quiet. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This place is so lovely. The lobby is gorgeous. The room was very spacious. Loved the bathroom, which had a shower and bath, as well as multiple finishing touches which made you feel like you were getting 5 star treatment. The bed was very comfortable. We had a great view of the courtyard and city. It was rainy when we were in San Sebastian, so we spent a great amount of time in the room but with absolutely no complaints!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Excellent food, excellent service, rooms are amazing. One of the nicest hotels stayed at in a long time. You will fall in love with this hotel and the city of San Sebastian. Upgraded our room because of SPG status. A true gem. Don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear sean s,

How rewarding it's to read such nice comments, we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the city, the hotel and the service you received. We are grateful for your support, and would like to thank you, once again, especially for sharing your recommendation of our unique property with the rest of the traveller’s community. The loyalty of our guests is a matter of pride for us.
Thank you for your time and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and 7 year old son went during the Three Kings weekend and therefore not that busy. But as soon as we arrived and saw the view of the river and the sea from our window and balcomy...it was gorgeous. We fell in love with the city immediately. The staff at the hotel were helpful from the moment we arrived which was a holiday. The Concierge quickly made a reservation for us for dinner due to the festivities.
The room was gorgeous. We had booked a large room and got upgraded to the junior suite. If you go during warmer weather, OMG it is worth getting the suite on the top floor. YOu have a large terrace with a view with lounge chairs.
We had lunch at their one onsite Chinese restuarant which was very good. We live in theUS and we get good Chinese food here, not always the case in Europe, especially Spain. But this restaurant had excellent shu mai and their Peking duck was excellent.
The hotel is wonderfully located within 5 mins walk of the Old town or the down town shopping. If you want to go to the beach you are another 5 minutes from the Playa de Las Conchas.
Overall great experience from getting up in the morning and walking out on the terrace or walking to our beautiful appointed marble bathroom to the breakfast downstairs. My husband still talks about the poached eggs on the toast! And the king size bed was to die for.
Thank you for a wonderful and memorable stay.

Room Tip: Facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

what a wonderful experience we had at this beautiful hotel. If we were to come back to San Sebastian, this would be a sure pick again. Very convenient location, great, delicious breakfast, nice staff, spacious and comfy rooms. Can't wait to go back to San Sebastian with kids and stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were initially booked in another property but decided to change that at the last minute and so glad that we did! I especially appreciate the lady at the Concierge desk.. so sorry that I forgot her name! She was super helpful!! The hotel is the best we stayed at during our road trip in Northern Spain over Christmas and would not hesitate to stay here again when we return to San Seb.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear ToniaYVR,

We are very glad to know how much you have appreciated the attention and service provided to you by our associates. It is indeed rewarding to read that we fulfilled your expectation and that we've created good memories for you to bring back home.

We remain at your entire disposal at the Maria Cristina and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Sebastian.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, E-20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.