We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True 5 star hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, E-20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
SPG EXCLUSIVE
Austin, Texas, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“True 5 star hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This place is so lovely. The lobby is gorgeous. The room was very spacious. Loved the bathroom, which had a shower and bath, as well as multiple finishing touches which made you feel like you were getting 5 star treatment. The bed was very comfortable. We had a great view of the courtyard and city. It was rainy when we were in San Sebastian, so we spent a great amount of time in the room but with absolutely no complaints!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    511
    123
    36
    18
    5
See reviews for
81
419
27
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Excellent food, excellent service, rooms are amazing. One of the nicest hotels stayed at in a long time. You will fall in love with this hotel and the city of San Sebastian. Upgraded our room because of SPG status. A true gem. Don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear sean s,

How rewarding it's to read such nice comments, we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the city, the hotel and the service you received. We are grateful for your support, and would like to thank you, once again, especially for sharing your recommendation of our unique property with the rest of the traveller’s community. The loyalty of our guests is a matter of pride for us.
Thank you for your time and hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you to The Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My husband and 7 year old son went during the Three Kings weekend and therefore not that busy. But as soon as we arrived and saw the view of the river and the sea from our window and balcomy...it was gorgeous. We fell in love with the city immediately. The staff at the hotel were helpful from the moment we arrived which was a holiday. The Concierge quickly made a reservation for us for dinner due to the festivities.
The room was gorgeous. We had booked a large room and got upgraded to the junior suite. If you go during warmer weather, OMG it is worth getting the suite on the top floor. YOu have a large terrace with a view with lounge chairs.
We had lunch at their one onsite Chinese restuarant which was very good. We live in theUS and we get good Chinese food here, not always the case in Europe, especially Spain. But this restaurant had excellent shu mai and their Peking duck was excellent.
The hotel is wonderfully located within 5 mins walk of the Old town or the down town shopping. If you want to go to the beach you are another 5 minutes from the Playa de Las Conchas.
Overall great experience from getting up in the morning and walking out on the terrace or walking to our beautiful appointed marble bathroom to the breakfast downstairs. My husband still talks about the poached eggs on the toast! And the king size bed was to die for.
Thank you for a wonderful and memorable stay.

Room Tip: Facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

what a wonderful experience we had at this beautiful hotel. If we were to come back to San Sebastian, this would be a sure pick again. Very convenient location, great, delicious breakfast, nice staff, spacious and comfy rooms. Can't wait to go back to San Sebastian with kids and stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were initially booked in another property but decided to change that at the last minute and so glad that we did! I especially appreciate the lady at the Concierge desk.. so sorry that I forgot her name! She was super helpful!! The hotel is the best we stayed at during our road trip in Northern Spain over Christmas and would not hesitate to stay here again when we return to San Seb.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear ToniaYVR,

We are very glad to know how much you have appreciated the attention and service provided to you by our associates. It is indeed rewarding to read that we fulfilled your expectation and that we've created good memories for you to bring back home.

We remain at your entire disposal at the Maria Cristina and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Sebastian.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We were thrilled with our choice of this hotel. The service was outstanding and the room was beyond our expectations. Our king size bed was 2.5m wide and the marbled bathroom was superbly appointed with a separate WC. There was a chaise lounge to relax on during the day and plenty of space to unwind. The amenities provided were excellent and the gym was well equipped. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to all the wonderful pintox bars. The breakfast buffet catered for all tastes and dietary requirements. Our car was parked nearby by a valet and returned to us promptly when we departed. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we look forward to returning in the near future.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed 3 nights on this amazing hotel and we were very pleased with the excellent service, great location, impeccable decoration and maintenance of the property. When I go back to San Sebastián I will be pleased to go back.

Only warning: parking is REALLY expensive.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian

Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, E-20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Starwood EMEA, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.