We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple the best in San Seb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian to your Saves list
Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, E-20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Simple the best in San Seb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were initially booked in another property but decided to change that at the last minute and so glad that we did! I especially appreciate the lady at the Concierge desk.. so sorry that I forgot her name! She was super helpful!! The hotel is the best we stayed at during our road trip in Northern Spain over Christmas and would not hesitate to stay here again when we return to San Seb.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear ToniaYVR,

We are very glad to know how much you have appreciated the attention and service provided to you by our associates. It is indeed rewarding to read that we fulfilled your expectation and that we've created good memories for you to bring back home.

We remain at your entire disposal at the Maria Cristina and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to San Sebastian.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    127
    36
    18
    5
See reviews for
87
439
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We were thrilled with our choice of this hotel. The service was outstanding and the room was beyond our expectations. Our king size bed was 2.5m wide and the marbled bathroom was superbly appointed with a separate WC. There was a chaise lounge to relax on during the day and plenty of space to unwind. The amenities provided were excellent and the gym was well equipped. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance to all the wonderful pintox bars. The breakfast buffet catered for all tastes and dietary requirements. Our car was parked nearby by a valet and returned to us promptly when we departed. We would definitely recommend this hotel and we look forward to returning in the near future.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed 3 nights on this amazing hotel and we were very pleased with the excellent service, great location, impeccable decoration and maintenance of the property. When I go back to San Sebastián I will be pleased to go back.

Only warning: parking is REALLY expensive.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had the good fortune to stay at this hotel with some Starwood points and were very pleased with our choice. It is a grand old hotel, updated to modern standards. The room was beautiful and spacious (much larger than the usual European hotel room). The hotel is so conveniently located that we walked everywhere for two days and,eft our car parked in the garage (a bit pricey, but most hotel garages are).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We spent 3 days in family at the hotel.
First of all, we had 4 rooms, 2 junior suites and 2 deluxes, and the book were made together, but the rooms were in different floor all of they!!!
After talk in the reception, they changed the 2 deluxes rooms to rooms beside the junior suite so we had 2 rooms on the 2rh floor and 2 rooms in the 4th floor - we had a 85yrs woman in one delux room by herself, what made the changes necessary.
Apart of that, they were very nice the whole time and all the experience was awesome!!!
The rooms are very big and clean, and the bedrooms were just huge!!
The breakfast was one of the best that I had ever seen - they had even caviar!!!!!
The only thing that let us disappointed was that the spa doesn't work anymore and now they just have a fitness center.
The bars at the reception are great and the teas are just unbelievable delicious!!!!6

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Don't bother with the afternoon tea. For almost €20 they had no idea what teas they had, did not seem to know if it came with food or not and let the first pot of tea sit so long it was cold and bitter. We did not even bother waiting for food after the 20 minutes of confusion and simply cancled the order.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Colin W,

Thank you for having taken the time to write your comments about your stay at our hotel. We were sorry to learn of your concerns regarding the afternoon tea. We want to apologize that our service let you down on this occasion. Please be assured, the issues raised have been addressed and appropriate action taken to prevent any guest being similarly inconvenienced in the future.

In closing, may I thank you, once again, for taking the time to write. We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again and we are confident that your next stay will be pleasurable in every respect.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ios
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Five stars in all categories with personalized service and attention to detail. HMC is like San Sebastian: beautiful, welcoming with great quality and value for money. I look forward to visiting HMC again in the future and i totally recommend it with or without children

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian

Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, E-20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood EMEA, Venere, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.