We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian to your Saves list
Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, E-20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Very impressed. Great decor and great service. Beautiful property. The concierge was very attentive and have delivered our demanding requests. Located in the heart of San Sebastien, I think nothing will beat this hotel if you do not mind staying at 5 stars hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    135
    38
    18
    6
See reviews for
103
504
27
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Seriously GREAT EXPERIENCE♡ Best hotel we have EVER experienced & San Sebastian is a Treasure☆☆!! Our Room With A View was beyond luxurious....this magnificent property is on the river with easy access to the historical city center & pintxos bars:) WOW!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I just enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Maria Cristina.

Our luxuriously-appointed suite (with an amazing terrace) was impeccable.

The service in the hotel is top notch. The concierge team was especially great, with special thanks in particular to Ane and Joana.

We also very much enjoyed drinks at "Dry" - their terrific bar. With a bartender straight out of central casting.




Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We loved our stay at the Maria Cristina! It is truly one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. This hotel is in the perfect location to everything in San Sebastian. The staff was so friendly and accomodating. The bed was so comforatable and the room was huge. The free WIFi was always fast and reliable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed at the hotel just for one night following a short tour along the coast from Bilbao through to San Sebastian . The style is elegant , the hotel was built in 1912 but was totally enhanced in the last 2 years . Total class , from the moment you walk into the impressive lobby .

Great location , just a few minutes walk to two spectacular beaches , the main shopping areas and the atmospheric old town .

Also have to add a comment on San Sebastian . What a fantastic city . Think of Cannes or Nice , but then add more glamour and modern relevance . Plus of course the food , sensational , so many top class options .

Room Tip: Go for the slightly more expensive deluxe rooms as they are larger and generally better positioned t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went to San Sebastian to check out one of Spain's culinary centers - Hotel Maria Cristina is the ideal base for food trekkers - it is, at the most 15 minutes away by cab from the renowned Michelin restaurants in the area - Arzak (which is closed in November), Akelarre, Mario Berasategui and Mugaritz. There are more Michelin stars scattered in the area and they are pretty close by as well. Maria Christina is located right by the the Old Town (a 10 minute walk), the San Sebastian Film Center is just across the bridge and everything else of interest is a short pleasant walk away.
The concierege staff Joana and Gloria (?) are a wealth of information. They know that a lot of people go there for food and they were prepared. They provided us with a map of old town with the "go to" tapas bars already numbered. With the map is a list of about 24 tapas bars paired with the "must haves" and must go. We had an aggressive plan to visit 7 tapas plLa aces the first night but were very satisfied with Bernardo Etxea, Taberna Gandarias, a fuego Negro and Cuchara de San Telmo. Al these were made possible by the list provided by the concierge! It saved us tons of time.
The hotel brings you back to ages gone by architecturally, but with all the convenience of modern technology.
The room is big and comfortable, we did have a view of the river, the beach and the Film Center.
We did have free breakfast and free reliable internet. The breakfast includes prepared food as well as options to request other dishes to order (poached eggs, etc). The spread is impressive in it's balance and restraint - you have iberian ham, eggs, vegetables, a lot of dairy products and quality cheeses and wonderful desserts - creme catalan, creme brulee, flan, and that's for breakfast! the dining room is exquisitely classic in design, white and gold - the servers attentive and professional. A perfect way to start your day to explore the town.
We observed that the hallways had good lighting - not very bright and not dark - just right. They save energy by using motion activated lighting and if i am not mistaken - they use LED lights- so they don't emit heat - just light and that works perfectly.
They gym located in the basement has treadmills, free weights and some machines - sufficient for cardio and basic weight training - but then again - we were on vacation and did not intend to really us the gym - but they do have it and its functional, clean and well lit.
I can only imagine how busy this hotel is during the summer - being a short walk away from La Concha and the surf beaches. We will definitely come back to Maria Christina on our next visit to San Sebastian.
Thank you very much for making our first visit to San Sebastian an exceptionally enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Very comfortable with great concierge service. Concierge had wonderful restaurant suggestions. Rooms and bathrooms very clean, big and comfortable. Our room had nice water view (not sure if all of the rooms have similar views). We would go back to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maria-cristina-hotel, Director General at Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Zaitz,

It was a pleasure to note how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for letting us know how impressed you were with the service provided by our Concierge team. We have brought your comments to the attention of those concerned.

Thank you for taking the time to write. We are looking forward to welcoming you at the Maria Cristina in the future.

Best regards,


Stijn Oyen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian

Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, E-20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian 5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Century of Elegance in San Sebastian - Since opening in 1912 the restored Hotel Maria Cristina has been closely linked to the history and cultural life of San Sebastian. The lavish Belle Epoque interior is filled with soaring columns, 19th-century portraits, rich silk brocades and glorious chandeliers making for a truly opulent experience.Experience gracious hospitality on a grand scale in the hotel's rooms and suites. Decorated in a sophisticated palette of greys and white, the rooms are a quiet haven of luxury. Style, technology and a dazzling range of services which combined make for an unforgettable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, getaroom.com, Splendia, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maria Cristina, a Luxury Collection Hotel, San Sebastian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.