We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian

Save Saved
You added Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, E-20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This hotel is a home away from home. We stayed in the Grand Suite which was absolutely amazing - spacious, clean, comfortable and beautiful furniture.

All staff were friendly, helpful, cheerful and knowledgeable. One of our baggages was delayed and we told staff at check-in and they called the airline constantly to follow-up. They also recommended outstanding local restaurants. The concierge even came to say goodbye to us whilst we were in the lobby when she found out from her colleagues that we'd be leaving later in the afternoon because she'd be in a meeting when we check-out.

It's also in a great location, near the beach and within walking distance to most attractions.

In a nutshell, this hotel is the place to stay in when in San Sebastian. Truly outstanding.

Room Tip: Get a Grand Suite or Terrace Suite. :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    483
    115
    34
    18
    5
See reviews for
73
396
27
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Arriving from Bilbao and an overnight from our cruise ship, we drove to San Sebastien. Thankfully this old world Hotel has "signs" throughout town guiding you right to the front door. Don't worry about just driving up on the sidewalk to the front door....my husband was guided up by Michael the doorman (against his better judgement). We were greeted warmly and were eventually upgraded to a top floor suite which had views to the river and ocean off the wrap around balcony. The entire Hotel was spotless even though the city had just witnessed a marathon of 30,000 runners the previous 2 days. We are Starwood members as well as paying with American Express Platinum which I think might have contributed to this awesome perk. At any rate, the Manager/Assistant were 2 of the most gracious people and I truly think they wanted my husband to have a nice Birthday celebration. They were kind enough to gift us a bottle of champagne delivered to the room that evening. The bartender in the bar poured us several "tastings" of Spanish wines before we selected a bottle, which was very kind. He also recommended a wonderful Tapas Bar/Restaurant in Old Town where we ate the catch of the day. This is truly a DESTINATION town and the Maria Cristina is a real gem!!!

Room Tip: The web site is a good representation of the rooms available. The higher floors would have nicer vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veria, Greece
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

A Great hotel in a historical building, a palace! I had the opportunity to enjoy one more time the Westin's comforts! Situated in the center of San Sebastian, perfect place for the Jazzaldia, the jazz festival of July and also near the famous beaches of Donostia!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

you never go wrong with starwood luxury collection, Really amazing hotel in heart of San Sebestian some room has amazing view , its like 2-3 mins to the old town amazing stuff highly recommend it!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This grand old hotel has been recently renovated and the designers did a great job. Our room was very comfortable, spacious, with a great mattress and plenty of hot water/good water pressure. The renovations in the lobby & through to our room are very well done: grandma would recognize the furniture and be comfortable, while people who usually stay at the W will appreciate the boutique feel, muted but fun colors, library wall, etc.

The customer-facing staff, from check-in to concierge to breakfast room crew, were uniformly warm, gracious, and helpful. We felt well cared for, and appreciated it.

The upstairs staff, however, are less reliable. Over four nights our room was not quite made up the same any two nights. Some nights we had complimentary drinking water, others not. Somehow the towels in the bathroom were never in the same place twice, and washcloths and various soaps, etc., were restocked irregularly. A broken closet light was fixed so that it was even more broken--it wouldn't turn off and shined all night. In addition, a large wheeled supply cart (made up to look like a vintage traveling trunk) was permanently parked in the hallway, and usually left 20 or more cm out from the wall so that it obstructed the beautiful hallway. The cart never failed to feel out of place. By day 3 we were making a joke of it to ourselves, asking what we would or would not find when we returned from touring. For us, quirky is fun, but I don't know if other travelers would feel the same.

The hotel's location on the river and ocean is excellent for a few days stay, five minutes or so easy walk from the old town and shopping district. I suspect it is a quieter neighborhood than the more numerous hotels by Playa Concha.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be fine as it is on the edge of the neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel is perfectly suited for Donostia. It has an elegance and charm that matches the city. It is not the pompous, in your face kind of elegance, but a more refined and almost restrained elegance. The hotel is perfectly situated in the city - easy walking distance to the old town and near both beaches.

The rooms are large and ours had a massive bed. It was made of two double beds together, much larger than our california king at home. The bathroom was modern and clean. The staff was attentive, but not all over you.

It was the perfect stop for two nights on our road trip through the Basque country.

Room Tip: Ask for any room ending in 22.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel has an amazing location, central to all the key sights of San Sebastian. Our premium river view room was comfortably appointed and the staff were kind enough to arrange free chocolates and bubbly as it was our honeymoon. However a few things could be improved, namely hotel facilities (day spa or a pool would have been nice but understandably, these things are limited by space constraints), and telecommunications. In-room wifi isn't cheap, and was patchy in our room (on the 4th floor). The connectivity situation really needs to be rectified. Available TV channels are relatively sparse for English speakers (no entertainment channels but a few news options) and in-room movies are sorely lacking and overpriced. I know no one goes to San Sebastian to sit in their room and watch TV, but I would have expected better from a grand five-star hotel with the Maria Cristina's reception. We found the staff were extremely helpful, especially so when we had a problem with our parking ticket, and at checkout when there was a minor problem with the bill which they quickly rectified.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian

Address: Paseo Republica Argentina, 4, E-20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#1 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the recently renovated Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian, perfectly located in the heart of the city and a few meters away from the city center and the beach. With 136 comfortable rooms and suites, start a memorable morning at Easo restaurant with a delicious breakfast buffet, try the asiatic delights of Tse Yang restaurant and have a break in Dry Bar San Sebastian. Hotel Maria Cristina is the ideal place to live an unforgettable stay in a charming environment in San Sebastian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood EMEA, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Cristina Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maria Cristina San Sebastian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.