We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo to your Saves list
Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Trueba, 1, 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
cheshire uk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Reasonable value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

pretty basic but very comfortable beds, and clean rooms. situated about 10 minutes walk from the old part of the city. the staff were adequate but not overly friendly, which was a shame, but overall, a good base if you arent expecting to spend much time in the actual hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    10
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
19
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The people working here are very friendly people, most of them fluent in English. Apparently newly renovated, this little hotel is top value for money. Clean, functionable with a good breakfast included. Rooms are small, but sufficient with a private bathroom and a tiny balcony. Trueba is a few hundred meters from the old town (Parte Vieja), and you will also find plenty of restaurants very close to the hotel.

This hotel must not be confused with the Pension Gran Bahia Bernardo, located in the old town, run by the same people (probably very good, too)

Room Tip: We had room 101 and 102. Very nice, both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My fiance and I spent four nights at this hotel in June-July and were very pleased with our decision. The location was great (Gros is a hip neighborhood with great pintxos bars, is right across the bridge from the Parte Vieja and La Concha [a 5 to 10 minute beautiful walk] and the closest beach, Zurriola, is much better in my opinion than La Concha), the rooms clean with clean and contemporary designs, the bed comfortable and the bathroom pretty good. We booked the superior room which I believe is a fair amount larger than the standard room. The hotel is right across the street from a little market where you can buy snacks and drinks (although the hotel stocked free water bottles in a hallway fridge which was a nice touch) and around the corner from a hip seafood restaurant. We really felt like this was our little apartment in San Sebastian. We chose this over the Hotel Londres y de Inglatara on the La Concha boardwalk (the Maria Cristina was still being renovated) and I'm so glad with our choice. I walked in the lobby of the Londres and it felt very tired -- in need of a serious renovation. This hotel, and Gros in general, was perfect for our stay. I'd like to give the Maria Cristina a try for some luxury one day, but for a laid back, hip stay, the Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo is your place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in this hotel. Didn't have any issues. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location good. Free Wifi and water bottles. It was well designed I really liked the framed artistic photography of San Sebastian in the hallways and rooms. It did seem much better than it's 2 star rating.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel was clean and modern. The room was on the small side, but we were comfortable the whole time, and the closets were nice and big. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the staff was great. We would definitely stay here again! Make sure to bring an umbrella for the beach!Beds were comfortable, breakfast was adequate enough to start the day (good coffee) and great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights and the location of the hotel is very good. We loved the Gros area of San Sebastian and we were really glad that we didn't stay in the old town as it was too noisy and too busy. The prices of food and drink were much better in the Gros area and it had a real neighbourhood feel-I would really recommend it for location. The room was large and clean and we had paid for a superior room which boasted terraces-yes there were terraces but not any that you could sit on -this was disappointing. The hotel was also on a very busy loud road which for us wasn't a problem but I can understand if you are light sleepers that this could be a real problem. The real downside of the hotel is the breakfast-it was very poor-it wasn't worth getting out of bed for. The other bonus of the hotel was that it was a short walk to the Zurriola beach which was Lovely and the wifi worked well. We felt that the hotel was expensive compared to other cities but that is probably just San Sebastian mid summer.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are much larger than the standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Rated as a 2 star hotel but not with the the price to match, having said that considering its San Sebastian cant really complain and I have stayed in much worse hotels rated higher and more expensive. The hotel in terms of quality, staff and location is definitely greater than 2 stars, everything is modern and spacious! We had a room facing the main road but absolutely no issues with sound, it was all well sound proofed. Breakfast is simple but that's just what you want considering the amazing pintxos are just a ten min walk away, so better not to fill up too much :) Also the main surf beach is a 5 min walk so really cant be beat. Definitely recommend Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo if visiting San Seb.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo

Address: Trueba, 1, 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gran Bahia Bernardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.