We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but sharing with locals” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Apartamentos Arrizul

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Apartamentos Arrizul to your Saves list
Hotel Apartamentos Arrizul
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Iparraguirre 3, 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location but sharing with locals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were a group of friends sharing four apartments for a weekend. We arrived late and put all our bags in the first apartment, and then went out for dinner. Watch out for the 'switches' outside the doors - these are buzzers to apartments not light switches. We were trying to get in the room and ended up pressing whatever we could to shed some light - duly waking the family living next to the apartment, we didn't know this until they complained the next day! The apartments are in a block shared with families and other locals so when we came back in the small hours and cracked open some more beers to have a chat, there was a knock at the door to be quiet. Not really what we wanted seeing we were there to catch up and enjoy ourselves!!

However the apartments were great (although the cleaner managed to throw away a paper bag she thought was rubbish which contained my return boarding pass and oyster card - not impressed!) and a good location. The staff were really friendly and recommended some great restaurants.

If you are in a large group it may not be the best place to stay as you can't really let your hair down - we were a group of girls and noisy at that I'm afraid! Apart from that many of them said they'd be back with husbands and kids in tow to the apartments, but would keep the noise down!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    32
    15
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
24
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Nice staff, clean but impersonal rooms. A 10 min walk to bars and restaurants, very close to the "surf beach". The breakfast and the room it's served in is a joke.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Location in Gros very good for several very good tapas bars.
Good accomodation. Clean and tidy but cheap fittings - fridge door poorly fitting, blinds broken in places, no wardrobe (just rail) in single room. Also no bedside light in single room.
Receptionist made some great recommendations for food.
Parking was 300yards away in NCP (unexpected but ok).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvador, BA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Very nice hotel, friendly staff, a bit expensive considering the breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Location was great, apartment was modern and clean, check in was easy and the price was right. If i make it back to San Sebastian again I will definately stay there again. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Everything you need is near and in walking distance. I wish we had more time to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011 via mobile

Booked a room for 3 nights at 169 euro/night (no breakfast). Location was nice. Staff at times helpful, at times indifferent (like the time I asked for soap from the front desk and was told to go find the housekeepers on the second floor). Free wifi included. Room was tiny as was the bathroom. The toilet was weirdly positioned next to what was probably a big pipe running between floors, which made it nearly impossibly for me to sit on the toilet! And forget about dropping anything in the shower (not a jail reference, just a very small shower stall!) if you are in a bind and need something last minute, this hotel will do, mainly because it's in a good location. Otherwise, I don't think it's worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Some hotels charge a lot, but you come away satisfied, feeling that you managed to extract some value for your money. Unfortunately this was not one of those places. The location was really quite good (10 minute walk from the bustle of night bars, and yet quiet - genius!), the staff were very friendly, and the room was clean and modern (although small and basic). And yet, it simply didn't live up to the rate we were charged. And while other hotels in San Sebastian may be equally expensive, to say that we got a good deal would be very misleading, which is why I cannot bring myself to rate the hotel any higher. And also with the breakfast facilities so limited, it would have made a huge difference to have even the most basic kettle in the room (note to owner)!

Room Tip: One reviewer complained about the noise from the trains. We didn't have any problems, but the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Apartamentos Arrizul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Apartamentos Arrizul

Address: Calle Iparraguirre 3, 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Apartamentos Arrizul 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrizul Apartments inaugurated in January 2010, have 5 luxury apartments and 4 suites, with capacity for 2 and 4 people, located in the city centre near the Kursaal Congress Centre, the Old City and the Concha and Zurriola beaches.This location makes it ideal for people who come to San Sebastian for work, attendance at congress and those who do it for leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Apartamentos Arrizul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Apartamentos Arrizul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.