We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath-taking view but nothing else” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Monte Igueldo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Monte Igueldo to your Saves list
Mercure Monte Igueldo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo del Faro 134, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Monte Igueldo Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Breath-taking view but nothing else”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the view from the terrace. The hotel itself has a sort of 'rundown' atmosphere and the room and other amenities are OK. Apparently it is a very popular place for locals to have a party. The hotel is located far from the main part of the city and beaches, and therefore, we had to take a cab whenever we wanted to go to restaurants or other attractions near the popular areas of the city. We had a dinner one night at their restaurant, and food was OK, nothing memorable.

Room Tip: Make sure to get a room with a terrace facing the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    301
    154
    64
    43
See reviews for
143
405
21
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The setting on top of the rock is unique ,the view it offers has not many equals.
To recommend to lovers of panoramic views out of a classic Spanish location ,heritage of the sixties.If someone would likes to enjoy the bask gastronomic quality and digest it looking out over sea and city ,this is the place to be!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was there last August with my family (wife + 3 daughters). I asked a room with 3 beds (we carried our own cot for the youngest). Mr Benat said ok; but when he finished to register my documents I realized he gave me 2 rooms, not connected also. I said I did not ask for 2 rooms but for a 3 beds room. Benat replied the third bed coud not fit into the room so the only way to set my family was pay 2 rooms or cancel the reservation without cancellation fees and leave. It was saturday night in August and almost 9 PM and we already tried to find a room in other 8 hotels, so we decided to accept Benat's conditions and pay 2 rooms (more than € 350,00). First room was normally (and big enough to fit the third bed) the second one was small and smelly. The only great thing of the hotel is the view.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Outdated hotel but absolutely beautiful views of the town and the sea. Pool was good for the kids. Nice staff. We stayed here with our sons and they loved the Amusement park and spent there hours. Depending on your expectations, this can be a nice stay. We knew the hotel was outdated so did not have lots of expectations but we needed swimming pool for our kids. We thought our choice was good. Clean rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We stayed here one night before a wedding in town. The night we chose fell at the time of a concert behind the hotel. All hopes of a relaxing afternoon by the large( if tired) pool were dashed by horrendously loud rehearsals. All hopes of a good nights rest were dashed by 2000 revellers outside our room. We attempted to talk to the manager on four occasions but each time were told she was unavaialble and unable to talk to us. The hotel has taken no responsibility for our experience despite four attempts at contacting them since our return. This hotel has a great view admittedly but our experience was so utterly disastrous in terms of customer service I would send a very strong "buyer beware" to all future guests

Room Tip: Ask if there are any events planned. If so, avoid like the plague
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

If I did not know better I would suggest that there is some kind of feud taking place between Mercure and the owners of the Amusement park immediately next door. And when I say immediately next door, I am not exaggerating, it is quite strange, parts of each seem to overlap in so many places, with the excellent hotel swimming pool being on an oasis with a roller coaster going around it on three sides. Whilst mentioning the pool, the associated “café” facility was very basic. These might be unnecessary details in the scheme of things, but the real downside is the arrival into the Mercure via the car park of the Amusement park, which appeared to have been left intentionally littered with month’s worth of rubbish. This after the gate-keeper of the Amusement park has raised the barrier to allow you through. Way beyond scruffy, I suspect it is a ruse to put off cold callers at the hotel, it certainly would me. The hotel .is perched atop Monte Igueldo (170 metres), and is without doubt one of the most desirable locations one could wish to place a hotel. Without the Amusement park I suspect this would be a 7* hotel for the more discerning and well healed hotel visitor. The outside of the hotel is ugly concrete, in keeping with the Amusement park. Meanwhile the view from our compact room was beyond breathtaking, for the vertiginous, which includes me; it was time to cling onto the rail. The bay around San Sebastian (Sansi) must be one of the most attractive in the world. The room and hotel are very well decorated and maintained throughout, which is more than you can say for the reception team, who were consistently ordinary in every thing we asked of them. Walking into Sansi is not practical, in fact just walking down Monte Igueldo on a very hot day is no simple task, so just as well that the taxi’s in Sansi are very reasonable priced, approx. €10.00 each way. The funicular railway and local buses make a fun day time alternative to taxis. .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels
1.0 mi away
Barcelo Costa Vasca
Barcelo Costa Vasca
#7 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
1.8 mi away
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
Silken Amara Plaza Hotel
#11 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 567 reviews
0.6 mi away
NH Collection San Sebastian Aranzazu
NH Collection San Sebastian Aran...
#3 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
Hotel Zenit San Sebastian
#16 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
Hotel de Londres y de Inglaterra
#4 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 1,520 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria 7
Hotel Astoria 7
#6 of 50 in San Sebastian - Donostia
4.5 of 5 stars 976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Monte Igueldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Monte Igueldo

Address: Paseo del Faro 134, 20008 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain (Formerly Monte Igueldo Hotel)
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#8 On the Beach Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Monte Igueldo 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 km from the city centre of San Sebastian and close to the historic monument Palacio Miramar and Naval Museum. Restaurant, bar, meeting rooms. Swimming pool and parking facilities. Stunning views over the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Otel, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Monte Igueldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure San Sebastian Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia
Mercure San Sebastián Donostia
Mercure Hotel San Sebastian

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Monte Igueldo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.