We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, great hostel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Aia

Save Saved
You added Pension Aia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Aia
Zabaleta 40 | 1º D, 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Loughborough,UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hosts, great hostel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Wonderfully clean and well decorated hostel. Met by Paulo who was so friendly and helped us with anything we needed. Very well equipped kitchen/dining area and breakfast foods, tea, coffee, jam etc provided. Our room ( the purple one, room 10 I think) was overlooking the main street with a small balcony but it was quiet with double glazing and shutters. Easily adjusted radiators to suit the climate outside and very good en-suite.
Perfect location, 5 mins walk to one beach and 10 mins to the old town. Made the stay in a lovely city complete.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

When we looked at accomodation in San Sebastian we struggled to find anything with the wow factor, so we decided to go for a more budget option! Pension Aia is brilliant - it's is great value, rooms, small but nicely done, we had a terrace which was huge and so nice to have a cold beer on. The owner is so helpful and friendly and takes you through all the good places to go and good places to eat. It is clear that the business and high standards are very important to the owner.

I was a little nervous as we had to use a shared bathroom - but it was exceptionally clean, and there are plenty of facilities so we never had to wait.

The location is near to the surf beach - a bit of a walk to the main tourist beach - but as we preferred the surf beach - more relaxed, less touristy, great views - this worked for us.

This is a brilliant little place, we would stay here again! Give the big hotels a miss and stay here!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

In a nutshell: friendly, very clean, good location, good value. We recommend the place.

We stayed one night off season in January, I don't know how full the place was (there are a dozen rooms) but when it's busy, I should think it could get noisy as well as hot.
I don't know if this is the case for all rooms but we had a shower and small sink in the room, and there are shared toilets. There is a kitchen for common use, it's nice to be able to make yourself a cup of tea whenever you like.

Parking in the area is tricky and parking police is everywhere. Ask the pension for parking tips.

Special note for people traveling on budget with a child: the room next to ours (7?) had a funky bunk bed (double bed + single bed) which looked practical as well as fun.

Room Tip: Ask for details when booking (balcony, shared or private shower...)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Great clean hostel with very friendly and helpful owner. He gave us great recommendation and took the time to show us around and make sure we had all we needed. Rooms are small but clean and well presented and we had a nice en suite though the shared bathrooms were always spotless too. Good location allows you to walk to old town and see some of the town on the way. We loved our weekend there, recommend checking out as many pinxos bars as poss and the gin and tonics. Amazing. If you want a good review then I recommend reading a blog on a site called the boy who ate the world all his recommendations are spot on.
We will return!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sderot
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The staff were always helpful and friendly. This continue during our six nights stay. The hotel is about five minute walk to Metro (direct rail link to airport should you wish to that that way - but the hotel staff booked a cab for us for...)

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Could not believe our room was only €45. Its modern, private shower, balcony with a view and double glass, warm, flat screen tv with cables. The pension was recently renovated and resembled more like a self service apartment than a pension. The kitchen is well stocked and there was a good wifi connection. 2 minutes walk to the Surf beach, 10 to old town, 15 to train station. Best sleep we had. Highly recommended. Ask for Room 10 or 11 (for balcony).

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Extremely welcoming staff, and very helpful. Clean, new, recently built or renovated. It is close from the downtown in a great city. It makes you feel at home. We will be back for sure in this fantastic place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pension Aia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Aia

Address: Zabaleta 40 | 1º D, 20001 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Aia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Aia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.