We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location and very comfortable bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Bahia Bernardo

Save Saved
You added Gran Bahia Bernardo to your Saves list
Gran Bahia Bernardo
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gran Bahia Bernardo
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Embeltran, 16 1-D, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A great location and very comfortable bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place took us awhile to find it as it is located on pedastrian only street, in the old city. The traffic in San Sebastian didn't help and ack of nearby parking makes it triple trouble.
However, once we checked in, the room is comfortable, staff is friendly, free botted water in the cooler.
Breakfast at nearby affilliated restaurant is simple and enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location- right at edge of old town and minutes from la concha.

Staff were very helpful and frienldy.

Accomdation was clean and comfortable with air con.

Only negative was that shower head needs to have new bracket fitted so it sits into it properly and shower door doesnt close properly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We walked from the train station which took 20 mins- i would recomend taking a cab. The hotel/ private residence is located in a fantastic location within the old town surrounded by hundreds of Pintox bars, just one small street away from the boulevard and far enough from the loud bars. We stayed in room 4 and could hear all the goings on at reception in the morning and the loud american neighbour next door, very annoying and only setback about the room. Breakfast was at another hotel about 200 mts away, and was very basic with expresso and a danish. La Conch beach is a 7 min walk and Zurriola beach is about 15 mins walk. The woman at reception was very helpful with recomendations and clear english, while the older gentleman really struggled with the english language but tried. There is free Wifi in the room and a small fridge at reception so you can help your self to bottles of water, there is a safe in the room. Very good stay for 4 days, would come back .

Room Tip: Dont stay in a room anywhere near reception. not no. 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile


Firstly I think you should rate based on the principle of 'am I getting what I paid for?' & 'does this meet reasonable expectations?'

So with that in mind I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms had character in a good way, the staff were lovely and helpful, it was clean & it was close to the good spots in San Seb.. Those being the beach & the old town.

Things to take note of which may not suit everyone Are..Limited front desk hours, located in a residential building & the rooms had no bar fridge.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

In the heart of Old Town in amongst all the tapas bars- best location for tapas bars!

We were in a deluxe room and I would definitely recommend upgrading to deluxe - spacious room and recently renovated. Shower was awesome with six side jets!

Family who owned the hotel were lovely and very friendly. Breakfast is at a nearby restaurant and is simple and effective (tea/coffee, fresh juice and crossiant / toast). There is also free bottled water at the hotel and a welcome drink at the restaurant.

Really good value for money for a boutique hotel / B&B. If you are after the luxuries of a 5 star hotel this probably isn't for you, but I highly recommend as a boutique hotel where they know you by name!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights. Good location in centre of old town. Rooms Clean but small and a bit noisy due to indequate sound proofing and our one had a small window therefore not much natural light. Staff friendly and helpful. Continential Breakfast served in the restuarant owned by same business around the block. A nice touch was that we were given a voucher for some pinxto & drinks in the restaurant on the first night - food was excellent. On reflection if returning we would stay in accomodation outside of the old town (along the beach) where hopefully we would get more room. The town is very compact and easy to get around

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

First beware if you are staying here, that it is not really what most people would call a hotel. It is a room in a building where there is no room service and no-one at reception after 10pm. They did provide a continental breakfast and the room was smart and clean but there was little in the way of facilities - nothing for making tea or coffee and a plain ordinary TV. Worst thing was that I woke up early because I was cold, even after I asked for the heating to be turned up (I suspect the air-conditioning wasn't working properly since it claimed to be 24 degrees and it wasn't), and there were only sheets on the bed and no blankets or duvet. I didn't have the noise problems that others have reported even though it was apparently full. And it was a great location for the conference centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gran Bahia Bernardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Bahia Bernardo

Address: Embeltran, 16 1-D, 20003 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gran Bahia Bernardo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lovely place is located in La Parte Vieja of San Sebastian. Renewed in June 2009, the 8 rooms are full equipped with TV, air conditioning, free wifi connection, private bathroom and breakfast included. We are extremely good located, restaurants and bars around where you will taste the delicious "pintxos", taxi and bus stops, public parking, 5 minutes walking to the beach, shopping area, business center and Central train & bus station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Gran Bahia Bernardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Bahia Bernardo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.