We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and access to major transportation to/from other cities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Larrea

Save Saved
You added Pension Larrea to your Saves list
Pension Larrea
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Larrea
Calle de Narrica, 21 | 20003, San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Taipei, Taiwan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Location and access to major transportation to/from other cities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Best of all, it's strategically located to achieve the following objectives, which helps us to reserve budgets for other purposes.

1). From or to Bus station, take the city bus as suggested, as city bus has a lot of spaces to take luggages. If bus is not available, cab is charging reasonable price, or just walk following the map. It will take about 30-35 min.
2). For the best tapas one may get from Spain, find them on the Aldámar, a 3-5min walk.
3). Easy-to-organize sight seeing tour, from San Vincente church, San Telmo museum, Constitution square, ... Playa de la Concha, ... then back thru the Centro. It was a good 3 hours and did not exhaust us at all, and we may save our energy for the next destination.

Room may be a little packed for two people. Wifi is not on when we stayed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

I stayed at this hostel for three nights with four other friends. We paid 17 euros a night each and were overjoyed with how excellent our stay was. The woman in charge made our beds every day and the bathrooms were very clean, with hot showers. It was very safe and located right in the center of San Sebastian. It's definitely the best hostel I've stayed in so far.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

You can't get any better than this place.

Wonderful host, clean rooms, good TV, great beds, right in the centre of town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I returned to Pensione Larrea in San Sebastian with my wife in May 2008 when we were traveling southern Europe. I had stayed there with a couple of buddies back in June 2003 when we were backpacking Europe for a month after graduating college.

Pensione Larrea was just as memorable this last time around as it was back then because of the welcoming, genuine, and warm hospitality of "Mama," the owner and caretaker of the pensione. We brought her pictures from 2003 and she remembered me. She even gave me and my wife snacks every day. Sweet! Although we can speak some Spanish and she pretty much only speaks Spanish, she still makes every effort to try to understand and accomodate us and other guests.

The pensione was impeccably clean and it is centrally located in the "Parte Vieja" central part of San Sebastian, between the two major beaches. There are markets, restaurants, and bars all over so no problem with getting groceries, tapas, and wine. Also, the central square is a block away and sometimes they have Basque cultural shows with music and kids dancing, which is a lot of fun. Mama gives lots of tips on what to do and where to get around. The only reason that I wouldn't give Pensione Larrea 5 stars is because the walls are thin and we could hear people having sex in the next room every night. Otherwise, I'd definitely stay in this pensione again!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pension Larrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Larrea

Address: Calle de Narrica, 21 | 20003, San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Pension Larrea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Larrea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.