We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, well located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria 7

Save Saved
You added Hotel Astoria 7 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Astoria 7
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
West Yorks
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Great hotel, well located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We spent 4 nights here as part of a tour of the basque lands of Spain. We arrived at bilbao airport and took the bus direct from the airport to San Sebastián. Superb service, takes about an hour and drops you right next door to the hotel.

Location wise obviously for the bus it is excellent, from the old town it is a 15 minute walk down the river. Very pleasant and actually helps you explore other parts of the city rather than the main sights in the old town. We found a lovely street just near the cathedral that was great for drinks.

The hotel is themed on the movies and it is a odeon very well equipped hotel. The rooms were of a high standard withe everything you could want or expect of a four star hotel.

Five minutes downhe road is one of the two train stations in SS. This one will take you along the coast to Bilbao, the "Renfe" station across the river will take you to Vitoria-Gastiez and Madrid and beyond. We took the bilbao train and visited Garautz along the coast which is famous fortis surfing. Lovely place well worth a visit.

San Sebastián is all about its food, with the highest Michelin star restaurant numbers in Spain located here. We did not partake in the €200 gastronomy adventures, but we did enjoy some amazing pintxo's in the old town. We went on a tour which was expensive but I would recommend.

Three or four nights here is enough, we caught the train to Vitoria-Gastiez after for three nights. Another cracking place just 90 mins down the train line which takes you through some stunning countryside.

Happy to answer and questions. Loved it!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    333
    60
    7
    2
See reviews for
80
400
28
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

WOW!! If arriving by bus it is an excellent location. A lovely 20 minute walk into town or access the frequent buses right outside. Quiet, modern room and extremely comfortable beds with nice linen. Bathroom to die for - wonderful shower (the hairdryer is really heavy so bring your own if you need to). Spotlessly clean. Didn't have breakfast but the Astoria Cafe was very nice. Selected movies from the library-free of charge. What a nice touch. The staff were exceptional - very helpful. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and polite. The young men at reception actually stood up when they spoke to us - very polite and respectful. By far the best hotel I have stayed in on 3 trips through Europe!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights last w/e with our 3 teenage children - was our first visit to San Sebastian. Worked really well for all of us & was within an agreeable walk to the beach & old town. Fab food (pinxtos) all over this city & some of the best gin & tonics you will enjoy anywhere in the world! Try them. No breakfast included at hotel but very easy to grab quick coffee & pastry or sandwich at a nearby cafe or bar. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed in the Astoria for four nights during the festival of san Sebastian. We were traveling with 2 children so selected adjoining rooms. This all worked well. Rooms were to expected standard - boutique feel and very comfortable beds. Only disappointment was the standard of the bathroom in our bedroom which was a little dated compared to the rest of the room. Staff were helpful and attentive. Made good use of the cafeteria rather than the restaurant for breakfast which provided a more authentic feel. Would recommend also visiting the nearby Don Serapio food store for great wine, cheese, meat, etc.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We chose the Astoria 7 as we needed somewhere to park our car during our stay in San Sebastián as we'd travelled down through France as part of a longer holiday and this seemed like the most reasonably priced accommodation with parking (particularly as we were staying during the Grande Semane - a busy week in SS due to this festival). We knew the hotel was about 20min walk from the old town and were happy to meander each day to the beach or old town and felt perfectly safe doing so.

The hotel is famous in SS due to it being an old cinema so it's an easy landmark to get directions back to, should you get lost or decide on a taxi back from a day or night out.

The hotel met all our needs being clean and up to the standard we would expect from such a hotel. The only downside (and not a fault of the hotel) was the lack of outdoor space and only a very small window in our room. Given we spent most of the time out and about this wasn't an issue.

If you want to be closer to the action in the old town and favour somewhere to relax in the day and enjoy the sun, then this isn't perhaps the hotel for you. However, if you want somewhere with easy parking (although not free) and a good and consistent standard of accommodation then this place is perfect.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Every room in this hotel is named after a movie star! Affordable compared to the more traditional grand hotels in the centre of town. The hotel is not located in the centre of town, about 10 minutes by car. Taxis are easy to call (just ask reception) and there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel on a direct line that ends in the centre of town.
Room are clean and quiet. Housekeeping responded within 10 minutes to our requests. Concierge is knowledgeable about restaurants, and we had a couple of very good recommendations from him.
Bonus: there is a very good deli down the street selling very good spanish charcuterie.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for two nights. We couldn't fault the room, they even supplied us with free Cava and some lovely biscuits which we thought was a nice touch. The room was really modern and just the right size to sleep in as quite frankly in San Sebastian that is all you would want to do.

We loved the city and this hotel was perfectly situated to get anywhere. It was a 20 minute walk to get the the Old town which is where all the amazing Pintxo places were.

We would stay there again. We had the breakfast in the cafe as opposed to the restaurant, and the prices were very reasonable and the coffee was far better than a Starbucks.

Room Tip: Think of a director that you like and try and get a room that is themed after them. We would have c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astoria 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria 7

Address: Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 7 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The symbolic Astoria Cinema in San Sebastián has been rebuilt to house the city's first contemporary styled hotel. The Astoria7 offers a unique decor. Each of the 102 rooms is individually dedicated to personalities, actors, actresses or directors, who have attended the San Sebastián International Film Festival ever since it first edition in 1953. The owners of the Astoria7 are renowned film experts that have chosen to pay tribute to this cultural event which has had such an important impact on the city of San Sebastián. Located on the corner of Avenida Sancho el Sabio, the Astoria7 is only a 15 minute walk from the main commercial and tourist sites of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de, Escapio, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Astoria 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria 7 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;