We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent find!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria 7

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria 7 to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria 7
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Clean modern hotel with excellent front of house staff-they were very inviting and helpful throughout our trip. Cute restaurant in addition to breakfast buffet. Watched the World Cup final within they streamed on the restaurant wall for guests to see-fantastic! Short incredible walk to city centre and breathtaking beach.....excellent pintxos bars just a hop further. Easily walked home after dinner both nights -can't wait to come back!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    426
    75
    13
    4
See reviews for
100
523
38
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We spent a week at the Astoria exploring San Sebastián. The location is a little from the centre but there's a frequent bus outside the door, 15 min walk and taxis v easy and about 7euro max. Few bars, patisserie, corner shops banks etc outside the door which was handy. The room was clean, comfortable a and had everything we needed. Probably our only criticism of the hotel was the noise insulation wasn't great. We we're next to the lift and as the floors are laminate you hear footsteps and cleaning in adjacent rooms. Having said that we still slept well.
The lounge/lobby, cafe etc all part of the hotel were v pleasant.
All in all a v good place to stay but next time we're going to try and rent an apartment for the real San Sebastián experience.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The bus station is not close to the central part of the city but the buses stop directly across the street from the hotel (bus 28, 21 and 26) and all will take you to the Boulevard that is directly between the city centere (shopping district) and the old part of the city, It is a nice quiet and well run hotel. We would have preferred being in he center of the city, but the costs duringJuly for the nice hotels either on the beach or in the center location were really, really expensive, This hotel works for us, Just take the bus! It literally was easier than calling a cab. Oh, and if you are using buses to get you to and from Bilboa the buses let you off within one block of the hotel, And,,, it is quiet!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We’ve spent three nights in Astoria. Modern hotel with rooms devoted to film stars. Room was fresh and quite spacious, not so bright though as it was only a tiny window with quite deplorable view on backstreet, but it wasn’t an issue for us as it is worthless to spend time indoors if you are in such a wonderful and romantic city. Continental breakfast with all standard offerings and hot meal choice is also quite nice. There is a walk indeed for about 15 mins until the city centre, but we enjoyed it as there are pleasant surroundings. There are plenty of pintxos bars around which are definitely worth trying! We also dined at La Perla restaurant on the seaside…well it was ok, nothing special as opposed to pintxos bars. Be aware car parking in hotel’s garage costs 20 euro per day, but if you are staying during weekend then parking outside is free from 8pm Sat till 8am Monday.
Overall the stay was great and just in addition, I think it costs less than seaside hotels, but the latter ones would definitely compromise on quality.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is a very modern and nice hotel that is a little ways away from the city center. It cost about 8-10 Euros to take a taxi into town or to the beach. The rooms are very nice and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was clean and modern but was a good 20 minute walk into the city centre. It is a nice walk but after 3 days it started to become tiresome. The good part about this hotel is that they have a large film library in multiple languages so if you feel like an arvo/night in you have many options to keep you entertained. Breakfast was average. Overall a bit overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It s very nice modern boutique hotel thought it is a walk from the Old Town it is also in a quitter location next to the bus route. Its not a bad walk as we always walked around Europe and the city is gorgeous. Take a break and have a cafe or a glass of wine on the way to Old Town. Very friendly staff, very clean room and good enough amenities. The smell is nice unlike some other hotels. The breakfast buffet is good enough to get you ready for your day and not overfill you.

The only problem in San Sebastian is that there are not enough money changers and the hotel does not do exchange nor where they knowledgeable to direct you where to go exactly to get change other than use an ATM. Oh well, lesson learned. The decor is cool with the various artists but I fell it the details wasn't that good.

We did not realized it rained a lot in Donostia and when we asked for umbrellas, they could only give one per room, not even 2 per couple. That's a first for me. They should never run out of umbrellas for their guest, never.

The free Wi-fi is fast and secure to your room account, that's a big plus for me.

I love the library, one of the best I have seen where one can just sit and chat. I prefer this than a large lobby. Won't mind staying here again when I return to glutton on the amazing gastronomic feast.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room with a view of the boulevard...its an upgrade and we were given that room. J...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Astoria 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria 7

Address: Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#5 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 7 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The symbolic Astoria Cinema in San Sebastián has been rebuilt to house the city's first contemporary styled hotel. The Astoria7 offers a unique decor. Each of the 102 rooms is individually dedicated to personalities, actors, actresses or directors, who have attended the San Sebastián International Film Festival ever since it first edition in 1953. The owners of the Astoria7 are renowned film experts that have chosen to pay tribute to this cultural event which has had such an important impact on the city of San Sebastián. Located on the corner of Avenida Sancho el Sabio, the Astoria7 is only a 15 minute walk from the main commercial and tourist sites of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Orbitz, Escapio, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Astoria 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria 7 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.