We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria 7

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria 7 to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria 7
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel is a good choice for staying and exploring San Sebastian - I found the rooms a little expensive but in return you got a lovely clean room, fairly spacious and well equipped, free wifi, very helpful staff - they were exceptional - and a location that is only 15 mins away from the beach.
I would recommend it if you can get a room rate that you are comnfortable with.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    412
    72
    12
    4
See reviews for
97
503
36
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in June with friends. The rooms are all named after film stars/directors that have attanded the San Sebastian Film Festival. Contemporary rooms with comfortable beds, all ammenities, good shower. Approx 15 mins from the Old Town/sea front, very easy to get around. Quiet at night. Great breakfast, plenty of choice. Staff friendly, helpful. Hotel very clean and comfortable. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Astoria for a week, with the added challenge of her being in a wheelchair as she had recently broken a bone in her foot. The hotel is lovely, with a film star theme and is located about 20 mins walk from the centre of the town, which was fine, even with the wheelchair. The superior room we had was very nice, although would have been better if it had been equipped with tea/coffee making facilities. The staff we met were very attentive and nice and were keen to ensure that whatever help we needed, particularly for my wife, was provided. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel and generally ate out in the town, although one evening we had the tapas from the room service menu and it was superb and very good value too. The hotel car parking at €18 per day was as good as it gets in this town and was always accessible, with plenty of spaces available. All in all, a lovely hotel, away from the noise of the town but within easy walking distance of the centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This place is a walk to get to the main centre - about 20 minutes. No problem for Mrs luddite and I, although she was the one on this occasion with the sensible shoes. Not to say I had high heels on but my shoes slipped all over the place on the polished paving stones. The last time those fancy shoes come out for a while! The Hotel And particularly the staff are excellent. The walk was really quite nice and after being totally tapas'd (is there a word?), the walk did us good. Little bar next door - not the one attached to the hotel, does a rather large gin and tonic. Mrs luddite had one I can tell you she had a very good nights sleep. We were on the 7th floor and we had a really quiet stay. Overall good value I feel and I really liked the film theme. Quirky and a bit of fun. I found myself reading all sorts of film trivia plastered on the walls. If you need to be absolutely central then this may not be for you, otherwise excellent. Car parking pricey but this is a city and it is pricey everywhere so just leave it in the hotel underground park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Very much a theme hotel for those who love their Hollywood movies!

One of many many hotels we stayed at during a recent Basque Country food and wine holiday with TravellingMyWay.

Great hotel although in hindsight would have stayed closer to the old town. But if modern, clean and usable is what you want the. This hotel is very good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked two rooms for three nights, one for my husband and me and the other for my mother. Well, my mother certainly got the better room. Even reception mentioned the single rooms are better. She had a balcony and a nice, quiet room. Our double room had a window overlooking nothing with the sounds of the garage door opening and closing all night. Aside from that, the rooms and the themes are amazing. We loved looking at and reading about all of the celebrities. Each room has a DVD player and you can borrow movies featuring the celebrities highlighted in the rooms. The common areas were fun, with Alfred Hitchcock by reception just waiting to take a picture with you. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Reception was helpful and friendly. It was about a 20 minute walk to the main areas of town, but was certainly not an issue. One room for improvement is a need for coffee machines. Nothing was available until 8:15. Maybe Spain isn't as coffee-dependent as America, but we certainly could have used at least a coffee pot at reception a little earlier.

Room Tip: Single rooms are best. Perhaps request one away from the parking garage door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astoria 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria 7

Address: Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 7 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The symbolic Astoria Cinema in San Sebastián has been rebuilt to house the city's first contemporary styled hotel. The Astoria7 offers a unique decor. Each of the 102 rooms is individually dedicated to personalities, actors, actresses or directors, who have attended the San Sebastián International Film Festival ever since it first edition in 1953. The owners of the Astoria7 are renowned film experts that have chosen to pay tribute to this cultural event which has had such an important impact on the city of San Sebastián. Located on the corner of Avenida Sancho el Sabio, the Astoria7 is only a 15 minute walk from the main commercial and tourist sites of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Astoria 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria 7 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.