We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAT THIS! great choice of accomodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria 7

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria 7 to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria 7
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“BEAT THIS! great choice of accomodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

San Sebastien is very pretty and you think you will go for one day but then you want to stay longer. This place is just perfect. It costs about 120 euro for a suite and great idea to book the corner suites on each floor rather than the smaller other rooms. new, modern, great beds, great casual restaurant downstairs that lets you bring a pot of tea on a tray back to your room if you ask. easier to access from the highway coming from france, and to depart too but read your roadmap carefully in advance because san sebastion has many roads off the freeway and best to invest time on google tpo pick the right exit. We missed horribly but worked our way back with the help of google maps. Now its a wal back to the beach area where the nightlife and shppoing is but the hotels down there are older etc whereas Astoria 7 is ultra new and modern. helpful staff too. We will always go back here, it made our visit. 10 out of 10. air con good too.

Room Tip: get a suite particularly on the front corner seeing the street atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    412
    72
    12
    3
See reviews for
97
502
36
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Aust
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have just spent 8 nights staying at Hotel Astoria 7 . Our room was comfortable spacious and quiet. Enjoyed the breakfast - no need for lunch - and would often return to the Bar after a long day for hot chocolate or a glass of wine and chat to other guests or locals.. Being close to the Bus Terminal was a bonus as we used local buses to explore the nearby towns. All and all we enjoyed our stay and our time in Sans Sebastain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Each room is themed for an actor who has 'won' at the San Sebastian film festival. There is a handsome and life-like Alfred Hitchcock reading in the lobby. Location is the main drawback--next to the regional bus terminal (great if coming in from Bilbao), but a 15 minute local bus ride to the 'Viejo' where most action and yummy food is at. Also a shlep to the Kursall for a conference or the film festival. Rooms are small, very good utility, and chic, bathroom functional but bordering on microscopic. Staff we met sometimes indifferent. (If I try Spanish, please, you try English, and let's see if we can sort it out..)

Room Tip: Pick a couple of actors you really like and see if they have a 'room'--and ask to stay there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I echo the other comments about noise problems at this hotel. If your neighbour has to get up early one morning then you will be too!

The movie theme is fun for the first night but when you take that away the rooms are pretty basic with cheap furniture, a small window and not much character at all.

The breakfast was pretty average and the service was lacking. The solitary coffee machine is woefully inadequate for a room with 20-30 ish thirsty guests and you can expect to have to get in a queue for your caffeine fix.

Location wise, it's a 20 minute walk to the old town which was fine for us.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed with my wife for a long weekend and had a great time. If it would be nearer to the centre it would be perfect. However after you had a couple of Pintxos and some good red wine it's actually not too bad going for a 15 min. walk back to the Hotel..... All in all we had 3 great days in San Sebastian and the Astoria 7.

Room Tip: We had a room out to the back yard on the 4th floor which is not a nice view but it is quiet ! I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The prices are outrageous, given the quality of the rooms and the structural faults of the hotel (poor noise insulation, both from the traffic outside and from other rooms. Not to mention that if you are next to the lifts you will hear every single trip going up or down. No bath. We had an excellent breakfast in a nearby cafeteria with a nice local waitress for less than half the price of the hotel's Breakfast. Very poor value for your money. Will never be back. And I cannot recommend it at all. Waste of money.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to lifts at all costs. To the noise insulation problems you will add the noise of l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astori7, Director General at Hotel Astoria 7, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Customer,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time in writing your feeling about your stay at our hotel.

I am disappointed to read you felt you had wasted your money by staying with us. From the reviews that you may find in TripAdvisor, our customers are praising the quality of our service as well as the hotel facilities. All windows are equipped with double glasses in order to minimize street noises. I would also like to take this opportunity to inform you that fifty percent of the hotel is equipped with showers and the other fifty percent with bath tub. I would invite you next time to mention to our reception department your preference.
As for breakfast, we offer two different options :
1- a large buffet with selection of pastries, juices, fresh products, homemade cakes etc for 15 euros
2- or, at our café bar: hot drink, with fresh orange juice and a croissant for 3.50 euros


Please, do not hesitate to contact me for your next stay, I will be more than happy to assist you personally.

Regards,


Guillaume Fontagné
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We enjoyed great service in this uniquely themed hotel. Comfortable bed, clean room and very helpful informative staff. The hotel cafe which is accessible from outside the hotel serves great coffees and continental breakfasts and pintxos throughout the day at great value for money.
Location is superb, hop on the number 26 or 28 and you are on the grand boulevard at the old town edges in 15 minutes max.
Thanks to the hotel staff and management for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: HIgher floors have wi-fi access problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astoria 7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria 7

Address: Sagrada Familia, 1, 20010 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
#6 Family Hotel in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 7 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The symbolic Astoria Cinema in San Sebastián has been rebuilt to house the city's first contemporary styled hotel. The Astoria7 offers a unique decor. Each of the 102 rooms is individually dedicated to personalities, actors, actresses or directors, who have attended the San Sebastián International Film Festival ever since it first edition in 1953. The owners of the Astoria7 are renowned film experts that have chosen to pay tribute to this cultural event which has had such an important impact on the city of San Sebastián. Located on the corner of Avenida Sancho el Sabio, the Astoria7 is only a 15 minute walk from the main commercial and tourist sites of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Astoria 7 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria 7 Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria 7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.