We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of bar nestor

bar nestor
Pescaderia 11, San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
+34 943 42 48 73
Website
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Weehawken, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Incredible Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Go here!!! The food is simple and absolutely incredible. Best tomatoes ever. Amazing cheese. Good service. We were planning on going to some other bars after but were so happy and satisfied, we just went back to our hotel afterward. This place can't be topped!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    211
    53
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing tomatoes!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We are regular visitors to San Sebastian, and over the years, have sampled most of the pintxo bars. We had, however, never been to Bar Nestor, but after reading Tripadvisor reviews, decided to give it a go. We were not disappointed! As other reviewers have said, there is a very limited choice, but what there is is superb - especially the tomatoes!! Also bear in mind that the tortilla is by reservation only!! They only make two each day, one at 1pm and the other at 8pm, and you have to have your name on the list. Make sure you do, as it is the best tortilla I have ever had, and I have tried many! The Chuletons are excellent. Very reasonable prices, and very friendly staff. Nestor even agreed to sell us some of their tomatoes (which they get from Almeria) to bring back to the UK, at the same price as the local shops were selling theirs!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best little restaurant in San Sebastian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were told about this restaurant by a local we met during our trip across Spain and he highly recommend it...So when we arrived in San Sebastian we looked for and found Bar Nestor and I must say it was the highlight of our trip. If you like meat this is the place to go. The food is just done perfectly with a touch of home cooking and the service from Nestor and his team is exceptional, friendly, fast, and courteous. Don’t forget to order tomatoes and pimientos with your meat and go for a bottle of wine as well. The place has only a couple of tables but to really experience the feeling of the place have your meal at the bar standing up and talking with the staff behind the counter. Make sure you take one of their special coffees; I had the Indio and Beso de Fuego. I would return to San Sebastian just to go to Bar Nestor. I can go on forever on how good this place is. I STRONGLY recommend this place if you are in San Sebastian or even make a detour if you are anywhere in Spain.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were told by a foodie friend to go to Bar Nestor while we were in Barcelona. What a super little place. Tiny with one table that seats six. My wife and I shared the table with two other couples, for a very fun evening. We started with incredible Iberian ham. The choices are very limited, but who cared. The reason to go is for the steak. Done perfectly rare with amazing flavor. Along with the steak, we ordered grilled tomatoes and peppers, and very decent Spanish red. One of our best meals on our trip. Just make sure you make a reservation. It's a bit difficult to eat that steak if you are not sitting!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Meat lover's dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We came across Bar Nestor during our Txikiteo (pintxos crawl) in San Sebastian - Donostia. We walked in and saw people eating the Chuleta (meat) so we went for it too. We also ordered 2 glasses of wine and a plate of Pimentos de Padron. It was all amazing, especially that meat, which was so fresh it tasted like the animal had been killed that morning. The staff were so friendly and laughed when we saw how big the meat was, but we finished it all anyway. They surprised us with 2 glasses of Patxaran to end the meal and help digest that meat. Altogether the total came to almost 60 euro.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed bar nestor also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 

Been to bar nestor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage bar nestor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.