We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best. Steak. Ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Nestor

Bar Nestor
Pescaderia 11, San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
+34 943 42 48 73
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
dublin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best. Steak. Ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

If you like steak you HAVE to eat here. It is amazing. The staff were extremely helpful and took the time to explain the traditional methods of cooking meat to us.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    114
    21
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is great. Really delicious, very friendly service and a great atmosphere. The steak was amazing and big!!!
But be there early (around eight o'clock) for the tortilla. And try to come earlier and make a reservation, cause there are not so many places to sit.
Enjoy!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant steak and tortilla de patata”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We ate here as a party of 6 last night. Lucky we booked because there was really only enough seating for 10 people in the whole restaurant that I could see. There was no menu and the waiter told me there are only 4 dishes: tortilla de patata, pimientos de padron, tomatoe salad and the steak. Each dish was excellent, but the steak and tortilla were as good as I've ever had. The bill was a tiny bit hefty at the end (€26 per person), but it was definitely worth it. Cant wait to head back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best steak ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

In this place you have to order the famous "chuleta", a big steak very tasty. Make sure to get it together with tomatoes and green peppers!!
You most probably need to fight to get a table but I'm sure you will love it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Possibly the best steak in Europe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Let me start by saying, WOW! Nestor's is amazing! Our hotel recommended this place to us to visit for either lunch or dinner, we ended up staying and eating for both on two seperate days!
The place itself is quite small, so I'd recommend to get there as early as possible as spots do fill quite quickly. We got in nice and early and took a spot at the bar, enjoyed the tasty red wine and also the AMAZING and tasty tasty treats to follow! Green peppers, tomatoes and bread.. who would have thought heaven could arrive on a plate like this?! Simple yet probably one of the best meals we've ever eaten! We also had a steak to share which was mouth watering, and still makes my mouth water whenever I think about it!
My top tip - get there early and put your name on the 'list' for the tortilla.. It'll change your life!
The staff were amazing also, and Nestor and his crew are so welcoming and lovely, makes you really feel like a local or an old friend..
Although we couldn't speak hardly any Spanish and they spoke very little Engligh, with the help of google translotor and some crazy hand gestures, we had probably one of the best meals and experiences here while travelling in Europe. We drank and ate ourselves stupid, and the price was no more than 50euro for the both of us, which to us is very good value for money!

I couldn't recommend this place highly enough! We are back again in July next year and will be making quite a few trips to Nestors to get our fix!

thanks again, we can't wait to get back :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Nestor also viewed

San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
San Sebastian - Donostia, Guipuzcoa Province
 

Been to Bar Nestor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Nestor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.