We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do a LOT better” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lolo Urban House

Save Saved
You added Lolo Urban House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lolo Urban House
Plaza Gipuzkoa 2, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Could do a LOT better”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed with Urban House as it was recommended by Busabout. We were first left and ignored because we weren't staying in a dorm room on our arrival but eventually were taken to the separate building we'd be staying in (after a short stop at a third building to get the key). The apartment itself was nice, but there were some problems while we were there. Initially we were told by others staying there, that there was no hot water for showers, altogether we stayed 3 nights and during that time (after someone complained) a plumber came in to fix the hot water problem... which he did (eventually, it took a full day - I think he went off for a siesta in the middle) but then the water was SO hot, and the handle of the shower kept flying off so we couldn't adjust the temperature, or switch the shower off completely, so it ran all night. We couldn't believe how little the staff seemed to care about how much water was being wasted.
The kitchen has breakfast food to help yourself with, but I saw a cockroach in amongst the bags of bread and cereal which put me off.
These problems weren't MAJOR but I think they could do a lot to improve the place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    13
    17
    27
See reviews for
4
10
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011 via mobile

The only positive about this hostel is the location. I stayed in a 4 bed dorm in a building away from the main reception. The room was absolutely filthy, I don't think the floors had been cleaned ever and there were 2 used condoms next to the bed. The bathrooms were disgusting and not nearly enough of them for a whole floor of people. The kitchen was poorly stocked with not enough bowls or cups. Staff unprofessional and generally unhelpful. Far too expensive for what it is. Would definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Sebastian - Donostia hotels

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at this hostel after seeing its website, however don't be fooled!

On our first night, we had a terrible nights sleep after having to listen to our roomate row with his girlfriend for over two hours, listening to him barging in and out and saying he was going to "kill everyone in this room"! Next morning, my girlfriend went to the reception to complain only to be greeted by a member of staff who just shrugged his sholders, hardly uttered a word apart from telling her to go and tell someone else about it. We felt that this was an appalling way to treat paying customers who had a valid complaint.

Our room seemed to be on an 'unfinished' floor with dated decor and in dire need of a coat of paint. There was a sort of double door to the room which didn't keep the faintest whisper out. The floors were really dirty and obviously hadn't been cleaned for weeks. On our last evening a new couple arrived at our room telling us that they had been moved to five different rooms in the space of a week.

The toilets and showers again were dirty. There were four toilet/showers on our floor - two had no locks and two had no lights.

The kitchen was also unclean, and could hardly justify the breakfast being called a breakfast.

The keys to our floor and room hadn't been cut properly which made gaining access really difficult, to the extent that some left their rooms unlocked - this problem seemed to be experienced by everyone.

The clientel wers mainly Australian backpackers. Apart from the first arguing couple we had, our roomates were friendly.

Good points are that rooms have a balcony overlooking the streets, the location is good and beer is available for 1euro a can. But, the negatives do outweigh the positives. We felt that the lack of cleanliness, lack of facilities, noisy rooms, hardly any security, and a few rude members of staff made the hostel a terrible 'value-for-money'.

If you are on holiday in Donostia and are looking for a comfortable and pleasant hostel/accomodation, then spend the extra 5euro to get a room that is value-for-money - we certainly regreted the decision to go for cheap before quality.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011 via mobile

Not a bad backpackers overall, staff friendly and helpful though a little disorganised. Wifi was extremely slow and often dropped out for long periods of time but there are laptops to use. Mattresses were terrible! Left with such a sore back and found myself trying to position my body between the springs. They were really creaky and noisy too so you felt like you were waking the dorm by turning over. Good sized rooms but none of the powerpoints in the room worked which was a real nuisance.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here 3 nights and on the first night got NO sleep as the walls here are so thin and we could hear everything coming from the party that some of the other guests decided to have in the kitchen down the hall. The hostel is set out in several buildings so you may not be in the same building as reception. We spent our first night in a room that had clearly only had the beds changed (the floor was filthy and unswept) and our door had no lock, you could only lock it on the outside which is useless and no lockers were provided. As a result nearly our entire floor got robbed in the early hours of the morning, as the culprit was able to move freely between rooms, we awoke to someone trying to get into my luggage!! We complained and were moved to another of the hostels buildings (they have a few scattered around the town) which was much nicer, cleaner and situated amongst the old town.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed at this hostel not by choice during running of the bulls festival in July 2010. My friends and I were part of the busabout tour.

Ok so...

Good: location and staffs are friends. The hostel is very closed to restaurants, the beach, the shops. In short, it is well located.

Bad: The shower, where do I even begin. There are two showers for the whole floor. It was kinds small, old and not the cleaness shower. You have to push a small button to get the water going which lasts only a few seconds. Then you have to push it again. And again. And again.(This goes on until you finish showering),

The common room, small, messy, dark. You can hear whatever going on in the common room from all of the rooms. Which means lack of sleep at night.

The bed, not comfy, not sure if the sheets are clean.

Next time I go to San Sebastian I would definetely pay more. San Sebastian itself is a very very beautiful town. Go crazy with the pinxtos!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed at this hostel during 2 nights at the beginning of August. Since I have read some reviews I expected messy check-in because they have more buildings where the accommodation is offered. But you can't complain because they explain it in arrival info. I stayed in the building on the corner of Elcano and Bengoetxea street, 2 minutes walking distance from the main building on Boulevard.

First of all, I was surprised by attitude of the staff. They were all helpful and answered my questions with smiles on their faces. The second positive is definitely the location. My house was approx. 2 minutes walking far away from Playa Concha Beach.

I stayed in 4-beds dorm, which was clean, with terrace and lockers. Wifi access was free in the lobby as well as in my room (but not sure if in each of them). Showers and toilets were OK, could have been cleaner...

They also offer free breakfast but I didn't try it. 50 metres from the hostel you can find very nice cafe which offers great breakfast (coffee, croissant, fresh juice...). Kitchen with amenities is possible to use as well.
I recommend you to buy food at the big shopping mall "La Bretxa" at Boulevard street, where you can find supermarket, laundry service etc. Only a few steps further you can find Information center for tourists where you'll get all the essential information about what to do there. They speak also English and French.

To sum it up, San Sebastian is amazing (but expensive) city and Urban House is a great place to stay during your visit. But if you prefer quiet place to have a rest and sleep well, choose the other one.

Room Tip: Write an e-mail in advance in order to get a building (room) which meets your expectations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lolo Urban House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lolo Urban House

Address: Plaza Gipuzkoa 2, 20004 San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Guipuzcoa Province > San Sebastian - Donostia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 59 Specialty lodging in San Sebastian - Donostia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most famous hostel in San Sebastian we are located in Plaza Gipuzkoa,2 in the very HEART of the city; a stones throw from the beach and old town.We now offer a large chill out area, access to kitchen. FREE: BREAKFAST, TEA&COFFEE, PASTA, INTERNET. We also have a honesty bar and board and bike hire.Great knowledgeable staff and lots of recommendations on places to go and things to do - don´t hesitate to ask us for anything you need! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Lolo Urban House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lolo Urban House Hotel San Sebastian - Donostia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lolo Urban House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.