We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hesperia bilbao” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hesperia Bilbao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hesperia Bilbao to your Saves list
Hesperia Bilbao
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Campo Volantin, 28 | Castanos, 48007 Bilbao, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Bilbao
Wroclaw, Poland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“hesperia bilbao”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

The hotel has a supurb location on the river side, only 5 minutes walk from the Guggenheim Museum and the old city of Bilbao. Where you can enjoy shopping, dining and you will find small bars with tapas and/or breakfast. Everything within walking distance. The set up of the rooms is unique and very comfortable. The rooms on the riverside have tinted windows in all sorts of colours which gives the hotel a very special 'cachet'. The hotel staff is extremely helpful and polite. If you travel by car, the hotel has it's own parking, so no problem and you'll easily find your way to the Autopista. All in all a great hotel where we will definately come back. It has been a pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    372
    104
    34
    14
See reviews for
104
391
55
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

The Hesperia in Bilbao hotel is well located, within walking distance from Guggenheim, old city center and the new city.
The welcome was not good, although checkin had long-started, we had to wait for our room for one hour! And still did not recieve the room that we booked.

The room was small but verycomfortable and nice. In the hallway the temperature was to high.
Very bad was the fact that we had breakfast inclusive. But both of ours days this was not known to the staff (you would think that after 1 mistake, the breakfastlist would be adapted, right?).

On the list of ammenments is bicycle rent, but no, this is not available in the hotel. You have to go in town.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We stayed here during our honeymoon through Spain and France and we couldn't have picked a better hotel. Located across the street from the incredible Guggenheim museum, and just a few blocks from the gorgeous architecture, shopping and restaurants in Old Town, this was the perfect place to kick off our honeymoon. The hotel was clean, food was good, bar/lounge was comfortable and modern and staff was very friendly. The price was the best we got for the level of hotel during our 3 wk honeymoon - we will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

My partner and I have just returned from Bilbao after a two night break with some friends.
We had a junior suite which exceeded our expectations. We particularly liked the lay out which enabled the bedroom to be closed off from the sitting area. There were plenty of windows and we had an excellent view of the river.The mini bar prices were very reasonable too. The reception staff who we encountered could not have been more pleasant and they recommended some excellent restaurants. We didn't bother with breakfast and instead went into the old town for a more authentic experience. The location of the hotel is also very good, being very close to the Guggenheim and within walking distance of the old town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Reception staff at Hesperia give a very warm welcome. Location on river is ideal - easy walk 1 way to The (amazing) Guggenheim and to the Casco Viejo in the other.
It is worth spending a little extra for the superior rooms with coloured glass balconies overlooking the river. They offer a very peaceful place to sit, put your feet up and watch the pedestrian traffic along the river. Bathroom layout is very practical, spacious and attractive. Really enjoyed our 2 night stay. Only negative was breakfast which wasn't especially good - go to cafe instead.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

This hotel is in the perfect location for a trip to Bilbao, right on the Nervion River and across from the Guggenheim museum. The facilities are modern and the rooms are fairly basic but stylish. A good surprise was the spacious and well-equipped bathroom. Be aware, though, a double bed is two twin beds next to one another. Free in-room wi-fi a big plus!

The reception could have been more helpful and friendly. There is a business center listed in amenities, but it was either not there or not available during my stay. It definitely felt like the hotel was missing ambiance. Though I saw people entering and leaving, the hotel felt cold and slightly leaving me feeling uncomfortable.

The restaurant is ok, but the food overpriced and service lacking. Don't eat at the hotel, and instead check out restaurants in the area or across the river or head down to the Casco Viejo. This hotel is a great place to stay for sight-seeing in Bilbao because of its location, but it's otherwise just a basic place to sleep at night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitzroy
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We had four nights at this hotel. We paid a bit extra and got one of the rooms looking out onto the river. It was a huge room and very comfortable and quiet. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful and recommended some great restaurants. If you booked breakfast the night before it was only 10euros and very good value.
The hotel was about a 10 minute walk from the Guggenheim in one direction and about 10 minutes in the other to the old town. It's right across the road from the beautiful pedestrian bridge and if you're feeling lazy there's a Euskotren stop at the bottom of the bridge.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hesperia Bilbao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Bilbao

Address: Campo Volantin, 28 | Castanos, 48007 Bilbao, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Basque Country > Vizcaya Province > Bilbao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bilbao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bilbao
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bilbao
#10 Family Hotel in Bilbao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hesperia Bilbao 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining avant-garde design with a superb location across from the Guggenheim, the newly-built Hesperia Bilbao is a luxury hotel just 200 meters from the main shopping area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hesperia Bilbao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Bilbao Hotel Bilbao
Hesperia Hotel Bilbao
Bilbao Hesperia Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hesperia Bilbao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.